Lidl Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lidl area manager
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire12 January 2018
Simply unbearable in every way. Senior managers micro-manage to the degree us area managers are purely working hours beyond belief to try to make up for the company's inadequacy
Pros
Company car, salary
Cons
Work life balance, unreasonable pressure, unreasonable targeting, weak training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands8 January 2018
Lovely staff to work with. Good hours and they pay a good salary. Very happy place to work and always feel motivated. Nice customers. Good staff incentives and discounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Felixstowe, Suffolk3 January 2018
Nice workplace
Friendly team
10% discount throughout the year and 20% at Christmas
Nice customers
Not boring
Strenuous
Good management
Friendly customers
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Checkouts and Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sidmouth11 December 2017
Good company to work for, if have an issue they will help, good company prospects. Good company benefits and they have a flexible working relationship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harpurhey10 December 2017
It's hard work and the days are long, a lot of variety of tasks to do. It does get busy and stressful at times but great colleagues and good management at shop level make this a fun place to work
Pros
Pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Belvedere, Greater London19 November 2017
It's very close to home and good place to work. people here are great to work with and well managed. The hours of work is good. The discount for staff helps with the family shopping
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Training mentor (Current Employee) –  Middlesbrough's16 November 2017
Very hard working culture targets to be hit work on your own initiative.company going through a change in direction for the good.good pay get paid for every minute worked
Pros
Good discount
Cons
Long shift's
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent.
On site project manager (Current Employee) –  Scotland16 November 2017
Lidl is a company you'd really need to think about joining. Your work life balance will be put in jeopardy. The salary is good yeah but the work is brutal
Pros
Money
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive and hard working
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset3 November 2017
it was a very good place to work , where you had pick rates , , each employee had their own pick rate , but we some times competed with each other, The management were very helpful and easy approachable,
Pros
free use of canteen, free fruit on tuesday, biscuit friday and 10% discount card
Cons
some times work ran out
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd work there again
Store Assistant/Non Food coordinator Manager (Former Employee) –  Caerphilly30 October 2017
Long hours and lots of overtime was available. Couldn't really take my breaks because it was so busy and management didn't really let me take my breaks. Apart from that it was hard work, allot of grafting and I enjoyed it! I love working hard, makes the day go quicker.
Pros
good wage
Cons
Long hours, never get your break, allot of grafting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Duty& Night Manager (Current Employee) –  London23 October 2017
You have to be on point and you need to pay attention to details. Flexibility is a must. Fast paced and a day is not like other. Good money. And long holiday
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked to the bone, always understaffed - better than average pay
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Launceston, Cornwall22 October 2017
Worked like a slave.
Always under staffed
The pay is better than average.
Could finish work at midnight and start again at 5am
High turn over of staff, and many require sick on a regular basis.
Pros
Pay is better than most supermarkets
Cons
Worked like a dog
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plain Mayhem
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hawkinge20 October 2017
Having worked at Lidl's I have seen it getting better for the staff, the pay is reasonable but you're expected to work darn hard for what you get!
The hours can be unsociable as you're on part-time contracts expected to have full time availability (what store doesn't these days?) and you're pretty much told, those are your shifts, needs of the business, be here, even if you requested that day off months in advance.
Much like anything shop related, it is highly dependent of the management and in my time there I had chalk and cheese so it's not all bad and it was improving constantly right up until I left and as far as I can tell, still is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy super market that attract many customers due to its costs and promotions.
customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester/Gipsy Lane16 October 2017
I have spent 10 years of working at this company, where i have learnt a lot of skills to deal with the customers' queries either on the tills or on the shop floor. I'm grateful to the benefits i earned from LIDL.
Pros
I know how to handle differents tasks from this fast paced company.
Cons
Low pay and poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work home life
Chef Manager (Current Employee) –  Kent14 October 2017
Great working relaxed environment, well looked after, you feel a valued member of the team, great benefits, The senior management treat everybody as equal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Stevenston14 October 2017
Great company overall great pay and hours always there, trained in all aspect of supermarket retail although in store management very poor. Loved the job although unsociable hours at times.
Pros
Pay and discount
Cons
Very hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire1 October 2017
such a fun diverse group of people to work with and there is never a dull day there. cheap products and decent discount giving the employees. long hours for managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Sales Assistant (Part-time whilst at College) (Former Employee) –  Coleraine28 September 2017
They have a very small workforce so there is always jobs to be done from serving to deliveries and cleaning.
Challenging and demanding but pays is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you to the bone then spit you out
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 September 2017
Do not even work here if you want to have a life.

Pays well, good benefits YES!

No work life balance, don't expect to have a moment to breath, have unrealistic targets, embrace being dead to the world and being called at 4am when you only finished at 12 to come in because something has gone wrong......also don't expect to see your company car mine never came in 2 years!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did enjoy working for lidl
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire26 September 2017
I enjoyed working for lidl ,working with my peers and meeting people, I worked replenish ing stock ,they were very good to work for,just the hours were long
Pros
Good work colleagues
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lidl. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,027 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2