Lidl Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend1 April 2018
The moment you join "Team Lidl" is the moment your life gets forced to take a back seat. They "pay well" only if they give you the hours you are contracted for (which is rare). After a certain time, YOU OWE THEM money for them not giving you your contracted hours. You are expected to work all hours of the day, and are treated like a pariah if you dare form an opinion of your own. If it's a quick quid in your pocket you want, join Lidl. If it's job satisfaction, avoid like the plague. And if you have a family to consider, Lidl is definitely not for you.
Pros
decent hourly rate
Cons
treated like second rate beings, rarely given contracted hours, expected to work all hours of day and night
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ilford, Greater London3 February 2018
time keeping and management is rubbish your doing a two persons job. very unorganised. wouldn't want to work for lidl again. you need to remember codes for things you sell and if your unable to learn those codes you get a warning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Inverness-shire, Highland29 January 2018
Lovely staff and lovely environment and a great place to work yourself up to manger position they give you so much encouragement and help all in all a great company
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t bother applying its donkey work!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighouse, West Yorkshire15 January 2018
I lasted 6 hours I hated every second of it too many managers and not enough store assistants. I was suppose to be getting trained but left to do things I couldn’t totally appalled by this Lidl managers swearing like troopers. Don’t work for Lidl it’s rubbish.
Pros
None
Cons
No training, Managers language appalling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wiltshire18 December 2017
Very well organised company to work with. would definable recommend them to anyone looking for a job. excellent management team at all time. friendly work environment at all times
Pros
great work environment
Cons
none 1
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent15 December 2017
the first thing we did for the day was put away all deliveries. then it would be stock replenishment, and cleaning of the store after we would be given our roles for the day. i mostly worked on the tills, serving customers for a variety of backgrounds. handling cash, using tills and credit card payments. if it was quiet we would help tidy the store. fill shelves. the management was fair. i dont believe there was a hard part to the job. it was physical with the lifting. the most enjoyable was seeing different faces everyday. no 2 days were the same
Pros
good wages
Cons
physical
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackheath8 December 2017
just evertime you go up or down a pound on your till, you feel like your job is at stake. other than that it is a fantastic company to work for and i hope i can be kept on a permanent basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not something i would do again thats for sure
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Luton4 December 2017
Typical day at work during training you'd be sat in front of a computer screen for your full days work, worse place ever as new starter, constant rushing around and you get many members of staff telling you to do different things
Pros
Pay rate is good
Cons
Ridiculous training scheme, Small lunch break, lack of care from staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morden Station29 November 2017
Job Roles:
Assist the Assistant Store Manager and Store Manager with all areas of store operations.
Operate the checkout and handle cash and carry out regular freshness checks to ensure we offer the freshest
produce.
To enjoy working in fast-paced, varied environment, hitting targets and meeting deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Midlands8 October 2017
Fun and productive place to work. Great if you are looking for a hard working and busy environment. Great teams with a verity of ages and great customers. Most have good customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Sales Assistant (Part-time whilst at College) (Former Employee) –  Coleraine28 September 2017
They have a very small workforce so there is always jobs to be done from serving to deliveries and cleaning.
Challenging and demanding but pays is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Port Talbot11 September 2017
@the and the surrounding area and the surrounding areas that are available in your area and the other side effects of mobile phones in the UK and Ireland
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 August 2017
Stay away!
Treated like dirt
Never get breaks
Never get contracted hours
Always on closes with only two staff
Time limits for everything and impossible goals to achive
Pros
Lovely staff
Cons
No breaks never getting contracted hours used and abused!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort William, Highland1 August 2017
I was very lucky to have amazing in store managers and a great team of colleagues. The work is very physically demanding and the shifts can be long. If your looking to just sit on a till all day this is not the job for you.
Overall good company to work for pay well but biggest issue is as they are trying to keep costs down they are seriously under staffed.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fullflling
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Motherwell30 July 2017
Good job learning lots of different skills from serving customers to putting delieveries out on the shelves. counting our own stock for our stock takes.
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rate of pay, work hard, no fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Highland7 July 2017
Great Pay but you certainly work for it, Management are unhelpful and unapproachable and nothing is confidential that you tell them, you are spoken to badly, no people skills at all!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk23 June 2017
Was only here a month because i got signed off with severe chorns disease. Duties ware cash handling, serving customers, date checking, dealing with fresh food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the good wage
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  East Northamptonshire23 April 2017
Typical day depending on shift early start putting out stock wheeling incredibly heavy loads start at 5AM don't expect a break of only half hour till at least 12! In between doing that constantly being called to serve on a till. If you are late shift expect to be sat on a till for over 6 hours without a break. you are expected to do all the cleaning in between serving a constant stream of customers. Then cleaning bakery and store before you get to go home.
Don't expect to be promoted unless you are a young male, very sexist ageist environment. Since working at Lidl it has become apparent that it is thought ok that you finish at 11pm and be back in at 5AM the following morning !? Isn't that illegal !?
Rotas are constantly changed without your knowledge, to the point where you must check for changes every time you are on shift. The best shifts i.e 8-6, 9-5 are given to management favorites or young males.
Colleegues are nice but you don't get to know anyone properly to become friends because you are constantly busy over worked. Customers are lovely but talking to them apart from saying hello and how would you like to pay is frowned upon.
Hardly any staff on late shifts often just female staff left to deal with shoplifters and drunks ! A very unsafe environment no security guard.
I am actively looking for alternative employment.
Management have no life experience or people skills. From day one i witnessed a member of staff being spoken to badly, i thought it might of been a one off but no.
I have worked in retail many years and the attitude to staff at Lidl is abismal.
  more...
Don't do it ! The money is good but not worth it.
  less
Pros
Discount from day one
Cons
No work life balance, constant shift changes, bad management, no focus on customer service, long wait for breaks to the point where you feel shaky from lack of food and drink.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high turnover of staff
Lidl sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberystwyth27 March 2017
long hours. rude management. lovely co workers. long hour left on tills with no stimulation. open and mid day shifts are best as not kep 6 hours late.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary, not the best working environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  England16 March 2017
Worked at Lidl part time while at University. The salary is good and I generally worked on the till, which I enjoyed as there was no heavy lifting. However, some people may have found this repetitive. Managers not quick to sort out problems (with pay, holidays, etc.) and rotas went up very last minute (sometimes a day or so before) which made it very hard to plan and have social life. These probles may have only existed in my store though.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Managers slow to fix problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport