Lidl Employee Reviews for Duty Manager

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, stressful demands
Customer Assistant/Cashier & Trainee Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodley12 April 2018
At first it was a job like any other, however, 10-hour shifts with possible overtime are exhausting. I was encouraged to be a duty in March 2018 manager (supervisor), I was informed they would be a training programme into the summer after applying. I was given disjointed crash-courses from different members of staff and thrown into the metaphorical deep end of being a duty manager over 2 weeks before the application was even available. I still don't know what I am doing after nearly a month of having things hurriedly explained to me and the interview for the job is next week!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult company to work for in the end
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Dereham, Norfolk10 April 2018
when I first started the job was enjoyable, but then the criteria for each member of staff changed, less time to work delivery, having to scan more items per minute. it became stressful working there
Pros
good rates of pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duty Manager
Duty Manager and Training Mentor (Former Employee) –  Coventry22 March 2018
Really hard work
Long hours
Sometimes working for free because we did not hit the sales target
Bad personal life
Sometimes had shifts ending at midnight and the following day starting at 5 in the morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work home life babance
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  West Wickham13 March 2018
I was increasingly finding that I was spending way too much time working and sleep was becoming near non existent. Duty managers expected to carry out role of manager but without the benefits. Apart from this a very enjoyable role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The confirmed route to depression.
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk12 February 2018
A typical day at work would start with being patronised into working numerous 7 foot chiller euro pallets in 20 minutes each by the store manager and then getting thrown on till all day to reach a target of 32 items a minute for 8-10 hours a day.
Then when the Store and Assistant Managers leave after a day of drinking coffee in the office, you have to run around with all responsibilities of senior managers on their mega-bucks i.e all fresh orders and fix all errors or face receiving a warning in the morning for not leaving the store in a presentable fashion for a measly £1 added to your wage per hour. The hardest part of the job is trying not to hang yourself from the company signage in the car park after the shift. The easiest part of the job is expecting condescending remarks.

That's it, you've got it.
Now go and make your own decision.
Pros
Free mental health problems.
Cons
Having to live with the mental health problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow7 February 2018
Lidl is a job were you have to be doing 101 at the one time, that's why I don't have have a job role as I'm a duty manager, cashier, cleaner, stock working, and a baker
Pros
Good wages
Cons
A lot of running about
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace, with lots of enjoyment
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Leyland, Lancashire6 February 2018
A typical day at Lidl starts fast paced and the foot never comes off the pedal. It is notoriously a fast paced demanding envioronment for which I thrive in, working well under pressure. Each member of management pushes myself into achieving more out of each day, for the strive for perfection. No day is the same, with delieveries differing, staff on each shift varied and the overall placement of each person during the shift. I personally have grown from store assistant to a top end duty manager, pushing for the next management step, although it is a tiring job. The hardest part of the job is the fact there is always the drive for what is next to be done and at times you stand back and think wow, there is so much to get done in such a short space of time. The most enjoyable part of the job would be staff interaction and success of the shift, to look at the staff with a beaming smile and to see the store looking sharp makes myself feel proud of each shift I complete when in charge.
Pros
Company discount and staff interaction
Cons
Relentless
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Trainee duty Manager/Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newtown, Powys6 February 2018
it was a fun and friendly place to work. the staff were good to work with in a busy environment.i learned every duty of the duty managers and wished to learn more.
Pros
holidays
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Leatherhead21 January 2018
Lidl was a very busy place as the store was a flag ship one you had sales management coming and going whenever they liked and was very fussy on the slightest thing out of place
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace
Duty Manager/cashier (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare12 January 2018
Working for Lidl is a great job if you like to be on the go all the time. The fun never stops, it is not a typical cashier job where you only serve customers, when not serving there is always something else to do. Great employers, always treated me well.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Very physcal job
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Inverurie, Aberdeenshire18 November 2017
Fast paced and everything is worked around being productive within the store. Stores are run by a store manager and then an assistant store manager. You can have as many duty managers within your store as you like .All staff is part time and you have to be flexible with your work hours as its open 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Crowborough, East Sussex2 November 2017
Company focuses on productivity. To make targets and force staff to work long hours. No balance. Early starts. And late nights. Customer service is no longer a priority. Till speeds are always checked and have long queues.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely working place
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London24 October 2017
Working at lidl is one of the best as i enjoy woinking in a busy place and the management is also very good. Staff get 10% discount. It is a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Duty& Night Manager (Current Employee) –  London23 October 2017
You have to be on point and you need to pay attention to details. Flexibility is a must. Fast paced and a day is not like other. Good money. And long holiday
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 October 2017
I, had an amazing time working for this company would do it again if im in the job market. i would recommend anyone to work for this company if you are trying to achieve the best within you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire1 October 2017
such a fun diverse group of people to work with and there is never a dull day there. cheap products and decent discount giving the employees. long hours for managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place of work
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Burgess Hill27 September 2017
Key Role:
• Working on the Tills
• Maintaining shop floor
• Performed the role of freshness coordinator
• Maintaining safe
maintaingng quality
a very fun place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Duty Manager and Training Mentor (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire7 September 2017
lot of work to do
not enough people
management is ok
friendly
have to be ready for over time
the payment I think is ok
nice team but if can be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and great company
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Torquay, Devon28 August 2017
Learnt an awful lot within Lidl, Started at the bottom and made my way up. Learnt Ordering, dealing with deliveries, customer service, money management, working under pressure, communication with staff and customers.
The most rewarding part of the job was to satisfy other people.
Pros
Pension scheme, Always something to work towards within company
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slightly above average pay but long hours
duty manager (Current Employee) –  Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire22 August 2017
Good company to work for part time as they are very flexible however full time employment will lead to a poor work life balance. Job satisfaction is very often dependent upon the management at the time. The company offer very little in the way of benefits.
Pros
flexible if part time
Cons
long hours and poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport