Leicester City Council Employee Reviews

Found 141 reviews matching the search See all 144 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
School Crossing Patrol (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire28 August 2019
With the job I do you can have a laugh with all the people and its good money and benefits and good pensions and you can say who. Gets the money and who dont
Pros
Free uniform
Cons
Sociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management bullying, harassment & intimidation is rife
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Leicester28 July 2019
high levels of work related stress/mental health/depression/anxiety due to excessive workloads, excessive working hours & lack of management support

high staff turnover & problems with recruitment & retention & low staff morale

hostile, toxic & oppressive working environment

no advancement, promotion or career/professional development

workplace culture is very cliquey/incestuous where manager's give their friends/colleagues manager's jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with children
Preschool assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire5 July 2019
Enjoy the different children we work with, including the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Painter (Former Employee) –  Leicester16 June 2019
spent 22 and a half years at Leicester city council 18 of them was good times the last 5 years was awful would I go back no.
I miss my colleagues and work friends I think we kept each other going in the years we was together.
Pros
none
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, where I feel I am making a difference
Corporate Resourcing Manager (Current Employee) –  Leicester City Centre, Leicestershire17 May 2019
Working for the council provides me with the work life balance I have craved in other jobs. There is a great culture of people who work so hard for the good of Leicester City residents and visitors all sharing a common purpose.

The are lots of opportunities for progression and development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
HR Advisor (Current Employee) –  Leicester City Centre, Leicestershire15 May 2019
I work with a great team and I feel we make a difference in the workplace. The work is extremely interesting and I have developed so much in the time I have been there. I have a great boss!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place in housing
INCOME OFFICER (Former Employee) –  LEICESTER8 May 2019
I worked there as a temp... income the place is run by morons who cant stand the site of each other - loads of back stabbing. Never accepted as an equal, but yet... expected more from me than perm staff. Team leaders walk around like they own the place and gods gifts to men . discrimination was invented here... stay away from this dump! inc B- leys
Pros
I left
Cons
Your website would crash
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Multi Skilled Tradesman (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire27 February 2019
awful treat you like a criminal no trust no support at least 3 managers per 3 staff with further supervision all telling you different things avoid leicester city council
Pros
none
Cons
all above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being lucky to have Experienced a job that I have been able to work in different levals of the work in housing
Housing officer (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire5 January 2019
Log on look at the work that has come in prioritise for the day ie visit that need doing telephone call back who have left messages arrange meatings with other agencies update work queues.
The hard part of the job is when you have got families that have serious issues and the decision needs to be made to how in the best way we deal with it decisions can be really difficult. The most enjoyable is meeting people and being able to help them in some way.
Pros
Flexi hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but fun
Hostel Worker (Former Employee) –  various locations in Leicester6 November 2018
LCC hostels for the homeless was once spread across several projects throughout the city. These were condensed into just two units that operate now. I`ve worked in one of those units.
Pros
Interesting and challenging
Cons
anti social hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Care assistant (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth House Leicester17 October 2018
Some good management Good staff hard work but good fun With lovely people and lots of good memories
Lots of moving and handling we had loads of training
Pros
training
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kitchen assistant
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leicester12 October 2018
Usually my days are good and productive at work, I get along with my colleagues and we work easily together as a team. We have to work within a strict and routinely deadline in order to provide for other schools and for the children with in our school, which I have no issue in doing and often meet before the deadline. My work is always neat and organised and I also listen attentively, following rules too. I always try to give my best within my work.
Pros
lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging environment
Leicester (Former Employee) –  Leicester City Centre, Leicestershire11 October 2018
The environment is very calm and casual and managers and team members are very nice and engaging. There are many benefits such as holidays and other perks such as discounts and free health checks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Admin & Business Support (Former Employee) –  City of Leicester, Leicestershire27 September 2018
Hard working, professional teams, but can be hard to advance, especialy in support roles. Flexible working, reasonably diverse over all aspects of protected charecteristics, but still some work to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Support worker (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire6 September 2018
quality time whilst working here, I got great job satisfaction from here and I met some great staff and students, it was a pleasure to be part of such a great team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kinship fostering
Kinship foster carer (Current Employee) –  Leicester5 September 2018
Really well organised. course to go on. loads of meetings and support..We are providing a safe loving family home for my neice.The best part of the job is being able to watch her grow from a child into a young women. My neice does have learning disabilities, we have been trying to get her diagnosed for a while now,
Pros
Being part of her life
Cons
need to get my neice diagnosed before she is 18. or she wont get the help she needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pressure, stress and bad management
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Leicester City Centre, Leicestershire3 September 2018
too much work not enough staff. Management always on your back, telling you to do other jobs other than the ones planned. You feel as soon as your employed they are trying their hardest to get you out. i feel the mafia would be a synch after dealing with council management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Work at Leicester City Council
Admin & Business Support Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Leicester City Centre, Leicestershire14 August 2018
I really enjoyed working at Leicester City Council, I met some really nice people, I gained lots of skills and experience which I can use on my future jobs. The hardest part of my job was ringing the customers because I didn't know how they would come across to me. The most enjoyable part of my job was sorting out the incoming and outgoing posts because I get a chance to read about any letters and I get a brief understanding of how my work colleagues deal with the letters.
Pros
Short Hours
Cons
Not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, shame about the cut backs
DOMESTIC ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Leicester City Centre, Leicestershire1 August 2018
Not a bad place to work. It's a shame that there is so much in the way of the cut backs. A llthe care homes have closed down. Whenthey are so badly needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut backs !
Excercise Referral Instructor (Current Employee) –  Leicester24 July 2018
due to public sector cuts frontline staff are expected to do a lot more . Was a great place to work and help lots of diffrent people. learning and improving health of the public.
Pros
busy, fun people
Cons
unsocialable hours / cut backs /
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Leicester City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 144 reviews
552
444
330
28
110

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Leicester City Council Reviews by Location