Leeds City Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
ADMIN ASSISTANT / OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 April 2018
i worked for a small european funded project under the umbrella of LCC

the whole team had our objectives at the heart of everything we did and we acheived national acclaim. unfortunately the funded finished and the work was absorbed by the youth service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been years since I worked here
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire28 March 2018
It has been years since I worked here so I cant really review this fairly, but i had a part time job while at uni and sixth form, it was decent enough earning about £400 a month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working
HR (Former Employee) –  Civic Hall, Leeds27 March 2018
A workplace offering flexible working conditions. The culture of 'doing more for less' without clear management and leadership has led to many people leaving.
Pros
flexible working
Cons
poor leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Nursery Nurse Level 3 (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire19 March 2018
Good atmosphere friendly good work life balance . I have a good job, people are friendly work is accommodating to my needs and they take into account personal issues that may arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer- empathetic
Personal Assistant for Social Activities (Former Employee) –  Leeds13 March 2018
I helped a blind lady get out and about in the community- walks in the park, shopping, pub quizzes etc. It was very enjoyable. Management were very helpful. Hardest part- too much fun (I had to try to remember that I was there as a guide to ensure my client's safety and wellbeing). Most enjoyable part- almost all of it!
Pros
Lots of fun
Cons
Unsociable/ unexpected hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taxi Driver
taxi driver (Current Employee) –  Leeds Station, West Yorkshire31 January 2018
Amazing clients . Very happy some times, very abusive sometimes and very sick in the car sometimes Nice !
Keep running off without paying money for the fare.
Pros
meeting nice people
Cons
fare dodgers and runners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Gardener (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire30 January 2018
Care of the gardens.

Knowledge of plants and grass areas. Planting up designs, designing new areas and drawings to use as guides and evidence.

Hard and soft landscaping.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds30 January 2018
The kitchens are a disgrace the staff are to faced and very slow and lazy people are over looked you are not rewarded for hard work or effort and are constantly been messed about to many staff take time off sick because you are treat like rubbish just another number and nothing more
Pros
Term time only
Cons
Unprofessional dirty kitchens lots of bickering between area managers and staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
LEEDS (Current Employee) –  LEEDS26 January 2018
good really enjoyed working here. fully flexible working hours, pay rise every april. own pension scheme. council tax and rent can be taken off wages which is handy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a happy workplace
mason / hgv driver (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire22 January 2018
this used to a be a job I enjoyed until they brought new management in who,s whole mission was to be to run it down make the workforce leave so they can privatise it
Pros
holidays, sick pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Leeds City Council?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good c.p.d. reliable work
Lunchtime Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire22 January 2018
I have worked for Leeds city council for 19 years now and been quite happy in my job.I have been on many training courses including team teach, safe handling, safe guarding, level 1 makaton and training in pecs.
I have worked in primary and secondary schools in special needs.
I have worked for the NW silc and the West silc.
Mainly with primary level with children on the autistic spectrum. I have also trained in intensive interaction. I have worked in the west silc, Milestones as a lunchtime assistant for the last 2 years. I have worked in a primary class with pupils of mixed ability. This includes helping developing independent feeding skulls. Also supervision in the playground.
Pros
school hours
Cons
pro rata wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worse place to work
Senior Safer Leeds Officer (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire4 January 2018
Enjoyable job which is ruined by constant changes by management. Great pension and holiday benefits however the shift pattern means I may have to work 3-4 Christmases in a row while someone else might get them off.
Pros
Work benefits, sickness pay and a good pension.
Cons
Top heavy management structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pension.
Safer Leeds Officer (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire4 January 2018
Top heavy management. Un organised.
Good pension.
Opportunities to move within the council.
Pay structure uneven. Some jobs are paid equal when one job clearly requires more and deserves a higher pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire4 January 2018
Been a care provider for over 10 years, very rewarding though challenging at times, I've found the local care team to be very helpful. Extremely good work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Class Teacher at Leeds City Council
Class Teacher (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire31 December 2017
Day to day duties - planning, marking and assessing. Building solid relationships with all stakeholders - children, parents, colleagues, senior leaders, governors and outside agencies.
Pros
Term time
Cons
Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
CUSTOMER SERVICE OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire28 December 2017
Monday to Friday on 37.5 contract. I have learned a lot on customer excellence but have also under gone a lot of training to be able to perform my job to a high standard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Driver and additional duties (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire27 November 2017
I found the driving side challenging and enjoyed working with the ederly as my job entailed taking OAPS to lunch clubs and delivering meals on wheels and delivering a mail service
Pros
good pensiom
Cons
Didnt like HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Lunchtime Supervisor (Current Employee) –  LEEDS14 November 2017
Only leaving due to the school not the actual company overall the company is fantastic with great benefits. Such as school holidays still get paid which is a bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff to work with and good work area
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire1 November 2017
Great place to work and the other team members were great. My job was mostly just cleaning schools so it was an overall easy job. I would work here again but im looking for something new
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely school
Teaching Assistant / HLTA (Current Employee) –  Morley, West Yorkshire30 October 2017
The teaching staff are brilliant and very committed to their jobs. We all have a good relationship with each other, the children are very nice to teach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Leeds City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 169 reviews
559
462
334
28
16

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Leeds City Council Reviews by Location