Lancashire County Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a varied and exciting work place
Grants Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire5 April 2018
Good to work for, flexible and understanding. Challenging and exciting, supportive and helpful. Excellent training opportunities. Flexible working times is a real benefit to fitting in appointments which enables you to get your working hours done more effectively.
Pros
flexi-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for brilliant company
Office Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Leyland27 March 2018
day to day work was good i worked on my own as well as part of a team i learn how to use cleaning products and learned how to worked fast paced really enjoyed working for this company i would defiantly go back i cleaned many bulidings and all with this company friendly people
Cons
over time offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Primary School Assistant (Former Employee) –  Helmshore21 March 2018
Working in sectors which are run by Lancashire county coucil is brilliant, so organised. I loved going on my work placements knowing i had enjoyable work to get on with. Management was fabulous, very helpful and always there if you need help with anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Community Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lancashire20 March 2018
i thoroughly enjoyed my time working for the council. i would have loved to continue had i not relocated to another country. it was both challenging yet rewarding at the same time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place overall
Unit Catering Manager (Current Employee) –  Bacup10 March 2018
Good job security and nice people to work with. Managers are very supportive. The salary is enough for the work that you do, good for people with young children to fit around holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, challeging and good career
Executive Assistant to Director (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire18 February 2018
I have been at LCC 18 years, in that time I have enjoyed working for the Cabinet Members and senior officials, they have a great workplace culture and allow people to develop their personnel careers. The most enjoyable part of the job has been working with the Leadership team and how they empower you to do your best.
Pros
Salary / Holidays
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice to work for fun productive and the staff and management are very helpful and a joy to work alongside.
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnley8 February 2018
I started work at 11am - 1.30pm a typical day would be helping wash up after food preperation and then getting the hatch ready to serve the school children there lunches.The workplace was easy going and the staff and management very kind and helpfull you were never just thrown into a job you wasn't sure about it was always explained and shown to you completely before hand. The hardest part of the job was cleaning up the kitchen and hall after lunch as you had to complete all duties in fourty minites. The most enjoyable part of the job was having a laugh with the rest of the staff and making the children have a happy care free lunch.
Pros
Good rate of pay and pension scheme.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work experience
Human Resources/Recruitment Assistant (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire27 January 2018
I enjoyed having contact with members of the public, providing advice in relation to general HR matters as well as information and updates relating to job applications and the recruitment process. I enjoyed working to tight timescales alongside other team members in order to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and Rewarding
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rossendale22 January 2018
Great opportunity to become part of a close working team.
Keeps you fit and no two days are the same.
Opportunities to move around within your department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cover Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ashton-on-Ribble, Lancashire22 January 2018
Worked as a Cover Supervisor, arriving each day to see what lessons needed to be covering. This brought its own pressures but equally its own rewards.I thoroughly enjoyed my tenure in this capacity.
Pros
Great hours and lengthy holidays to boot.
Cons
Recently, looking to cut back due to loss of funds, creating a little dismay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Preston14 January 2018
Loved working here past a few exams in cleaning and with the buffer machine nice staff who already work in the offices and friendly staff who i worked with very help full and welcoming
Pros
Hoildays and extra hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of Professional Support
Primary School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Burnley, Lancashire11 January 2018
Plenty of courses on offer. To be honest did not have that many dealings as council mainly doesn't communicate directly to teachers. The assessment and planning support is top notch if your school has paid into it.
Pros
Good resources and courses.
Cons
Work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and enjoyable office
Unpaid Work experience (Former Employee) –  Whalley11 December 2017
basic clerical duties such as creating a winter maintenance rota on spreadsheet, visiting sites where work is taking place. Used a program called mapzone to locate future jobs and mark out any houses/businesses that could potentially be affected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction, good team.
Home Care Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Rossendale28 September 2017
Good team, enables training for new skills. Regular team meetings.

Arranged to work towards NVQ Level2. Kept me within my living area, so didn't have to travel too far.
Pros
Job satisfaction. Traing toward Nvq level 2
Cons
Long hours, weekend work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my time there
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire26 September 2017
The organisation was forward looking allowing me to develop innovative services in an emerging field of Waste Minimisation. Unfortunately as budgets across the public sector grew more scarce this was withdrawn and services reduced
Pros
Progressive
Cons
Lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and conscientious local authority
Learning Mentor (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire26 September 2017
Intense training with a relaxed atmosphere providing a diverse range of training at the individuals pace. Management were human and fun but discerning when necessary providing a well balanced workplace with the emphasis on succeeding.Hardest part was case study assessments which were destroyed during feedback but only to show with a clear understanding of how we understood and what could be done better and why.
Completing the course and putting into practice what we had learned during that intense period of training
Pros
Excellent training
Cons
Intense and high goals
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Classroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire22 September 2017
having the chance to work with young children was a really enjoyable experience. Working with children was fun and rewarding. Would loved to have spent more time here
Pros
Children
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly colleagues, interesting work
Library Manager (Former Employee) –  Coal Clough Library, Burnley16 August 2017
The library was a great place to work if you enjoy lots of contact with the public and can provide great customer service. A love of books and reading and some IT skills are essential.
A typical day would include issue and discharge of books, shelving books and keeping the library tidy and in order, helping customers on the public PCs.
You will learn how to deal with many types of customers, including the difficult ones.
You will also learn how to shelve books in order and create displays.
Management is usually fine although there are the odd difficult ones.
Workplace culture is friendly and helpful on the whole.
The hardest part of the job is dealing effectively with difficult customers.
The most enjoyable part is dealing with a wide variety of pleasant customers (the majority) and making new friends.
Pros
A clean and safe environment, friendly and helpful colleagues.
Cons
Unsociable hours including late nights and weekends, Some libraries have problems with unruly teenagers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied and sometimes challenging
Peripatetic/mobile manager (Former Employee) –  Wyre District, Lancashire10 August 2017
Enjoyed the work always different but found you had to be a certain type of person to 'fit' and advance
Working in different school and environments. Always something to challenge a person.
I found it to be rather 'clicky'
Also found that as in many organisations the more you were willing to do the more you were taken for granted and given no credit for the work. You would be used for the management gain and then tossed aside
Pros
Variation
Cons
Too many chiefs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not brilliant - but may have been where I worked
Business Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Preston2 August 2017
In the beginning it was good, but the pay wasn't brilliant, employee benefits weren't brilliant either. My last manager was a qualified primary school teacher which often showed. The head of service was incompetent, and later wasn't successful when interviewing for her job and the grade below!! Too many restructures and relocation. But it may have just been the department I worked in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lancashire County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 127 reviews
560
437
319
27
14

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture