Kumon Employee Reviews for Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrogate, North Yorkshire3 September 2017
taught me basic things for my first job. taught me communication and teaching skills. Did on average 2 hrs after school on either Monday or Wednesday or both days.
Pros
straight after school, constant
Cons
small hrs and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good but sometimes wage doesn't feel enough
Kumon Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands26 August 2017
Good work ethic and atmosphere but very busy sometimes and wage doesn't reflect work.
Sometimes work is passed onto the newer employees and can be stressful
Management is very good and friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience and good communication and confidence boost
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlton, Greater London9 August 2017
I have enjoyed working at Kumon study centre and truly believe it has enhanced and equipped me to take on more opportunities that I may face.
Kumon has allowed me to become an efficient and patient worker whilst developing my communication skills.
Pros
Pick Up on key skills needed for a working environment
Cons
Limited level of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and productive workplace
Kumon Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chadwell Heath, Greater London7 August 2017
Kumon assistants may dedicate attention towards students whilst aiding them with worksheets, it is a rewarding job however requires focus and a sense of responsibility towards working with children of primary ages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Kumon Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tooting Broadway Station16 July 2017
The balance of time management and as well as communication skills would be enhanced due to being involved with children and aiding them towards their education. The hardest part of the job is keeping everything on time such as the markings and enterings of the work that was done by the students. However, having rapport towards the students makes the job enjoyable.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Walkden, Greater Manchester10 July 2017
Very enjoyable working here because it was easy hours and never went slow. good if you enjoy working with young children and is a very enjoyable role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good job for someone that is starting
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grays, Essex7 July 2017
worked at kimono from when I was 12 at first volunteering and now 17 and I bought my first phone with the money I earn. Very good boss, it has good hours and good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, highly enjoyable and rewarding job.
Class Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands4 July 2017
Working at Kumon was a pleasure. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know each student and their abilities to help them further their potential and education. Kumon gave me the opportunity to maintain a professional relationship with the parents of the students which is lacked in other organisations, in my opinion. Kumon have developed a sound routine that we all follow to maintain class discipline and organisation. The staff are all extremely supportive.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Limited Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice boss/bad pay and benefits
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex1 June 2017
My overall experience has been positive, the manager in nice to work with and very helpful, as were my colleagues. Bad pay though and often casual work rather than contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bracknell10 October 2016
good, boss was lovely and always had employees best interest at heart. not many hours per week though, holiday pay. got on well with co workers
Pros
holiday bonus
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good.
Class Assistant (Former Employee) –  manchester8 August 2016
i get paid very low. its ridiculous. we have to stand and get low pay.
we stand up we cant sit down to help the early learners.

the hour and pay is very short.
Pros
nothing to be honest
Cons
short hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Engaging
Kumon Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frimley22 June 2016
Working at Kumon enabled me to develop my team working and communication skills. My job role was to guide students in their maths and english studies and provide feedback to the head regarding the students progress. I enjoyed working at Kumon due to the calm, friendly, warm atmosphere amongst great co workers. At the start it was tough to cope with the pressure, however overtime I developed my time management, which enabled me to keep up with the workload.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and hardworking
Kumon Helping Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodford Green6 June 2016
I believe that a positive environment, with you and your colleagues working together to achieve the best results of the day, for example achieving weekly targets, and overcoming all of the struggles and making sure you all work cooperatively.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Loughborough3 May 2016
working with the team has increased my sociability and communicating skills. the most enjoyable part is meeting new children at the centre every week and seeing my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working place with minimal flaws
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry, ENG3 February 2016
Typical day at work usually starts with setting up the class and then going to the marking table to do administrative work. I learned how to set a situation to live up to expected health and safety standards. co-workers are friendly and willing to teach new assistants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Maths/English Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bedford17 January 2016
This is a good place to work as a first job and will learn a lot of skills. The co-workers are hard workers. You learn to work with children and adults so that is a positive and it is not that busy so you can do your job well.
Pros
short hours
Cons
smal business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Hard working place
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hereford, ENG14 October 2015
I've learnt how to be part of a team and have gained communication skills. Not only by working with the other assistants and instructor but with working with the kids and sometimes their parents. Great Management and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Maths Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redditch, ENG24 September 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed working here. it gave me the opportunity to work in a similar environment to my career goal of becoming a teacher
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and comfortable workplace
Maths and English Assistant (Former Employee) –  United Reformed Church8 September 2015
A typical day at work would be engaging and busy but not too much pressure, all assistants were helpful and sociable and the management and organisation was very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and productive
Class assistant (Former Employee) –  London25 August 2015
Teaching children of all ages is fun and rewarding.
Organisation skills are greatly improved as well as admin and communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kumon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,337 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0