Kumon Employee Reviews for Assistant

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 1,706 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy and flexible
Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London14 July 2018
I worked for two hours a week which was great. I helped children with English and maths. I learnt how to communicate effectively and how to work well within a given time frame.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first part time job
assistant (Current Employee) –  Harold Wood, Greater London2 February 2018
Liaising with parents and dealing with children of various abilities. Gave me good inter-personal skills and understanding of a work place. However communications between manager and co- workers in this instance needed much improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London19 January 2018
The owners of the branch I worked at were very unprofessional. They talked behind the backs of some employees to other employees and would shout aggressively often.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working environment
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham11 November 2017
I currently work at a Kumon centre where I have the responsibility of sorting out children's work and marking it. It is a lovely working environment and would recommend it to any young people who are looking for a part time job. I found this job very convenient during my A levels as it never clashed with exam season and management was always lenient if had to take a day off for an exam.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrogate, North Yorkshire3 September 2017
taught me basic things for my first job. taught me communication and teaching skills. Did on average 2 hrs after school on either Monday or Wednesday or both days.
Pros
straight after school, constant
Cons
small hrs and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham29 August 2017
I did work experience at Kumon Tuition centre for 2 weeks
I marked the worksheets and booklets of the younger children
I also helped certain individuals with their work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience and good communication and confidence boost
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlton, Greater London9 August 2017
I have enjoyed working at Kumon study centre and truly believe it has enhanced and equipped me to take on more opportunities that I may face.
Kumon has allowed me to become an efficient and patient worker whilst developing my communication skills.
Pros
Pick Up on key skills needed for a working environment
Cons
Limited level of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Walkden, Greater Manchester10 July 2017
Very enjoyable working here because it was easy hours and never went slow. good if you enjoy working with young children and is a very enjoyable role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good job for someone that is starting
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grays, Essex7 July 2017
worked at kimono from when I was 12 at first volunteering and now 17 and I bought my first phone with the money I earn. Very good boss, it has good hours and good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice boss/bad pay and benefits
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex1 June 2017
My overall experience has been positive, the manager in nice to work with and very helpful, as were my colleagues. Bad pay though and often casual work rather than contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Abergavenny, Blaenau Gwent24 April 2017
Good working environment, at a fast working pace. I would mark children's maths and english work, and I learnt how to do this at a fast pace. It was pressuring at the beginning but it got easier as I became more experienced.
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bracknell10 October 2016
good, boss was lovely and always had employees best interest at heart. not many hours per week though, holiday pay. got on well with co workers
Pros
holiday bonus
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Loughborough3 May 2016
working with the team has increased my sociability and communicating skills. the most enjoyable part is meeting new children at the centre every week and seeing my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working place with minimal flaws
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry, ENG3 February 2016
Typical day at work usually starts with setting up the class and then going to the marking table to do administrative work. I learned how to set a situation to live up to expected health and safety standards. co-workers are friendly and willing to teach new assistants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Hard working place
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hereford, ENG14 October 2015
I've learnt how to be part of a team and have gained communication skills. Not only by working with the other assistants and instructor but with working with the kids and sometimes their parents. Great Management and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Sussex28 August 2014
I enjoy working here and have learned a lot. My manager is brilliant and my co-workers are also a joy to work with.
Pros
Productive
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stevenage8 April 2014
a typical day at my work will differ from day to day. On a monday i will sit on a table with around 5/6 children between the ages of 4-10 helping them with their English and Maths work. This is under timed conditions ensuring each child is happy, safe and comfortable.
On Tuesdays I sit with another assistant and mark work given in from children and then grade it in folders. Once it has been graded I organise it into folders, put it in alphabetical order and file it.
On Saturdays I also mark and grade work whilst managing 'number-boards' which I am also in charge of. This has taught me how to manage between responsibilities.
Pros
Improved social skills
Cons
distance and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Kumon reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kumon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,711 reviews
5727
4531
3323
293
137

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture