KNOWSLEY COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun
Refuse Collector (Current Employee) –  Knowsley, Merseyside25 October 2018
typical day at work is emptying loads of bins. in different areas and sometimes days don't run as smooth as you would like them to with a lot of residents not happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal work day
Waste Operative (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside22 June 2018
Getting up at 5am to get into work for 6, then starting work after knowing which tesm i will be working with for that day, different area can be difficult but some are easy enough to where you will be finished at 2 and going home to enjoy the rest or the day but id rather put the hard work in knowing i was able to go home early it was an easy enough job until it rained and then getting wet pushing heavy bins around but it was easy enough to keep you head down and crack on.
Pros
Early days
Cons
Bad weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Teaching assistant (Current Employee) –  Whiston14 April 2018
I enjoy my job although it is getting harder due to budget cuts more is expected. A lot of change in recent years due to new legislation. Very challenging and rewarding.
Pros
discount of council run gyms
Cons
budget cuts means more work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better work ethic
loader on the bins (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside31 January 2018
gd company no respect for there agency workers tho a day her and there last min calls to come in at 6 in morning to be on stand by general stuff thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coucil worker
Council Worker (Former Employee) –  Knowsley, Merseyside13 November 2017
working for the council was a good job
salary was good
was doing different job each day
only down side was the weather
hours was days
learn new skils
Pros
being out side
Cons
getting wet
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kirkby, Merseyside1 November 2017
only worked ruffwod school in kirkby for 6 months, but it really was a nice place to work, staff were really nice and friendly and it was so relaxed despite it being a high school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Environmental Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Huyton, Merseyside4 October 2017
Varied work, good set of colleagues, overtime available, good rate of pay, good management to work for. Enjoyed working with members of the public and working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Environmental Health Officer (Former Employee) –  Kirkby, Merseyside14 September 2017
I went on work experience An visited restaurants and food eating places to check whether their health and hygiene standards were up to scale and if not we would give them a warning and drop down their food hygiene score
Pros
go to different food places and experience more
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sports specialist (Current Employee) –  Knowsley, Merseyside1 September 2017
Most enjoyable part of the job is teaching children new things everyday, and watching them grow and flourish in new environments. The stuff I have learnt on the job
Pros
13 weeks holiday
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Teacher primary (Current Employee) –  Prescot29 July 2017
I have had a very good experience working with Knowsley Council. I have had no issues with working for Knowsley Council and would recommend it to someone looking to apply.
Pros
good organisation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Liverpool1 March 2017
Worked here as work experience for high school for 2 weeks. i spend a couple of days around the council in different areas/departs. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours didnt suit
Dinner Lady (Former Employee) –  dishes, UK25 February 2017
hours didnt suit and no garente of work but on a whole not bad as i learn about food and cleaning solutions not much to say about it really it was what it was.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Street Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside18 January 2017
They pay is good also the working hours but the management are not very great they talk down to you and do not treate there staff with any respect and also are made to do jobs higher than there pay grade when there is people that get paid for that job a refuse to do it
Pros
Poor management also spoken to poorly by management
Cons
Good pay good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Technical ASB Officer (Former Employee) –  Huyton, Merseyside8 December 2016
Knowsley Council is a great place to work. The management at Knowsley are second to none in that they lead by example. Excellent culture and very supportive staff, peers and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
multi skilled operative (Current Employee) –  Merseyside19 October 2016
I am usually very shy when it comes to meeting new people. but when i started working for the council I felt as if I was part of something.
I enjoyed weekends off and half term when the students were on a holiday from school.
Pros
good company to work for
Cons
the way some of the students and teachers spoke to you
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career advancement encouraged
Contract Manager (Current Employee) –  Liverpool18 October 2016
My day starts when I switch on my phone and listen to messages and read texts. I prioritise and respond appropriatly to ensure services run smoothly. Attend team meeting sharing knowledge, discussing sickness/absence and projects for now and the future.
Liaise with headteachers, business managers, HR, H&S, training and development teams discussing future needs and current issues, solving problems on the way.
check stock levels, machine inventory, ISOQR kitchen and cleaning inspection.
The hardest part of the job is recruiting staff. staff retention is excellent.
I enjoy the diversity of the working day. Meeting people, parents and pupils discussing dietary needs.
Pros
essential car mileage
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and absorbing role
Planning enforcement officer (Former Employee) –  Knowsley7 March 2016
The duties of the Planning Enforcement officer is to visit site approved for planning and development and ensure that what was agreed upon is carried out. I conducted site visits checking plans against structures and liaising with planners, developers and builders to ensure the work was carried out properly and within the limits set.
Pros
Investigation and interviewing
Cons
Short contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Kitchen Staff/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, ENG25 October 2015
Knowsley council was a good place to work. They was alot of staff that worked together for a long period of time therefore the team all got on well which made the job enyoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable at work
schoolcleaner (Current Employee) –  Prescot, ENG24 May 2015
enjoyable where ever ive been,get on well with staff/pupils i just go in and do my job to the best of my ability i can turn my hand to most things can use most machinery
Pros
want more hours
Cons
cant get full time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Finance Assistant (Trainee Scheme) (Current Employee) –  Liverpool29 April 2015
Excellent place to work, full of friendly and hardworking staff.

Flexi-time is a bonus and is useful for people with kids etc.

Management are very supportive to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KNOWSLEY COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 24 reviews
59
411
34
20
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

KNOWSLEY COUNCIL Reviews by Location