Kingswood - Inspiring Learning Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Activity Leader (Former Employee) –  Isle of Wight14 March 2019
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and active
Camp Coach (Former Employee) –  Norfolk11 February 2019
Activities and environment can be fun especially when close to the people you work with. Active, never boring although can be difficult/tiring workdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends
Activity Instructor (Current Employee) –  Overstrand, Norfolk8 December 2018
Kingswood isn't all bad. The working hours can be long, and some of the visitors difficult. It really depends where you get placed. Some of the bigger centres have horror stories from other employees I've spoken to, but the smaller centres like overstated are second to none. I've struggled at times but I don't regret working here. The senior staff at overstated are brilliant and the chief instructor is fantastic. They've made it so !ugh easier for me. You get an nvq and other qualifications just for one year. I've definitely grown as a person, and made some incredible friends.
Pros
The people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job is good but long hours
Activity Leader (Current Employee) –  Mold30 October 2018
Long days but can be fun at the same time. Good apprenticeship scheme, ensures that you get trained and can go onto external qualifications in some outdoor activities.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Dearne Valley12 October 2018
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 stars
Apprentice Activity Instructor (Former Employee) –  Mold, Flintshire1 October 2018
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire16 August 2018
I love working for Kingswood! Every day is different which keeps the job interesting and exciting. There are a few difficulties to face like in every job, but staff always pull together and over come challenges, I’d definitly recommend working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Apprentice Activity Leader (Current Employee) –  Staffordshire9 August 2018
The most rewarding job I've ever done. even though its an apprentice wage you end up getting NVQs and some NGBs, an you dont have to pay for these so it balances out. The best part is seeing the childrens faces when you run a fun activity with them. the food is basic but is nice, I'm a vegetarian and there are a lot of options for me which is rare. as your living with your team you all have a close bond and I've definitely made friends for life here
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and great staff team
Housekeeping Manager (Current Employee) –  Overstrand, Norfolk7 August 2018
It can be hard work at times but very rewarding. We have a great staff team at Overstrand who support each other. Everyday is different with new challenges. It is also a lovely place to live.
Pros
staff, location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 stars
Activity Leader (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent7 August 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
instructor (Former Employee) –  Flint, Flintshire2 August 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Activity Leader (Current Employee) –  Kent31 July 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Outdoor Activity Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hexham, Northumberland29 July 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Boss (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire24 July 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible people. Horrible to work.
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cromer, Norfolk23 July 2018
Having worked as a kitchen assistant in West Runton last year. Was bullied by staff member nothing was done about it. Food was awful to it. No good things to say to be honest.
Pros
Nothing!
Cons
Long hours, awful pay, awful management .
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Outdoor Activity Instructor (Former Employee) –  Isle of Wight17 July 2018
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fab place to work
Employee (Current Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire11 June 2018
I started working as an apprentice nearly 7 years ago and my first year was amazing, working with young people from all over the world and leading tours of London, being trained in virtually everything.
It's allowed me to work and live all over the country and i've visited and/or worked at all of our centres.
I've worked in the activities team in 3 difference roles and customer services for 4 years. The hours are long and they're absolutely worth it. So much fun.
Pros
An experience that i'll never forget
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 15Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst experience in my life
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Isle of Wight17 April 2018
when i worked for the kingswood centre I was treated so poorly by the manager and supervisor I was bullied and had no one i could go talk to about it I ended up with really bad anxiety I would throw up every morning before going into work it got to a point I had to quit I busted my knee up doing this job and still suffer with knee pain to this day .
the food was disgusting i only ate if i felt like i was going to pass out and only then it was the veggy pasta .

atmosphere was all round horrible if you didn't smoke or drink you would have the p*ss taken out of you by most of the activity instructors witch only talked about who's sleeping with who at the park .

basically no money is worth working there unless you like being treated like a worthless person .
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely awful do not apply
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Duke's27 March 2018
Would give 0 stars if possible.
modern day slave labour.
Worked to the bone.
The food is horrendous. no cooking facilities
No overtime pay
60hr+ week
Pros
People you meet. Working with kids
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and team
Activity Instructor and Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Kent18 March 2018
Hard work but great fun! Kids have a blast when visiting! Loads of new skills learnt, friends made and op printers
To develop! Would highly recommend Kingswood to anyone!
Pros
Great fun environment
Cons
Can be cold outside!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 19Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kingswood - Inspiring Learning. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 38 reviews
511
45
31
24
117

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture

Kingswood - Inspiring Learning Reviews by Location