Kier Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Binman (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port31 July 2018
Working on the bins is a good fun job it will get you into shape in no time if you like to get down and dirty then it sound like the jobs for you so don't miss out
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company to work with
Housing Maintenance Services - Q. S. (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire26 July 2018
One of the best main contractor company to work with. All the Kier's employees are very supportive, provide good working assistance throughout the projects. Will return to work with them if there are any job opportunities in due course.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demoralizing place to work ...!
Ganger (Current Employee) –  Lincolnshire8 July 2018
One of the worst companies I’ve ever worked for
The management doesn’t have any skills in man management They are demoralizing they have taken away the work as a team ethics but as long as the boxes are ticked on the daily paper work then that’s all they are interested in. a big company but big is not always better.
Trying to get matters sorted whether it’s pay or other issues it’s a absolute disgrace all you are is the number at the top of your pay slip
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
PCV Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Booth Meadow House, Northampton.22 June 2018
DON'T BOTHER!!!!!
This is the worst company ever.
HEALTH AND SAFETY NUTTERS.
Incompetent management
They took over the NCC transport on the back of Highways, wanting to get rid of the CASH COW, but we're refused.
Now.
Unable to get professionally qualified drivers. They are resulting to non English language speaking individuals, from agencies. To full fill there contractual obligations.
They have got rid of the previously loyal knowledgeable staff who had worked for NCC.
By there own hands.
It's called DISPLINARYY!!!!!!

You won't like the attitude of the supervisors,
So called management.

Do yourselves a favour.
DO NOT APPLY FOR ANYTHING.
Pros
Going home
Cons
CR4P managememt, poor wages, too many rules and regulations
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Mobile Engineer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London21 June 2018
Well, Kier is a big company giving a lot of possibilities to take a experience. Worth to work with. I rather not to write to much than write negative feedback, probably our contract was not so important for them so I decided change the company.
Pros
Good and bad: no managers support
Cons
same: no trainings, no progress in your carieer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, motivational and friendly
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Rushden, Northamptonshire5 June 2018
Good management with great interpersonal relationships between employees. the organisation works as a team and help in promoting opportunities and knowledge among eachother.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A growing firm
Manager (Former Employee) –  UK4 June 2018
Kier have a long history within the civil engineering and construction sectors, unfortunately they have grown to large and there is no longer a personal touch for the long serving staff members.
Pros
job security
Cons
lost the personal touch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent4 June 2018
was ok until different management took over and a lot of people left the company. I left as the new management were not good and they changed a lot of stuff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Sandy, Bedfordshire18 May 2018
You're expected to lug lots of rubbish along way. Given way more work than you can physically carry out in the time allocated. Supervisors are lazy and skive off for a cigarette at every opportunity. Poor pay for lots of work and no help or support given from management.
Pros
No weekends
Cons
Way more work than can be done! Lazy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work place
Recycling Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brompton-on-Swale and Scorton4 May 2018
A typical day at work was just really enjoyable, I got to work and was excited to start every morning as the group of workers I had made the job a lot more fun and enjoyable, I got to meet and speak to a lot of new people, customers were often polite with us and very thankful for our help! The best part of the job for me was meeting and working with new people and getting to work with machines I have never worked with before.
Pros
The experience and a confidence boost in talking and meeting new people
Cons
Customers could often be rude at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly run
bin man (Current Employee) –  Hastings1 May 2018
dont care if over worked constant wage problem managers dont look after or out for the employees
hardest part of the job is going to work as you dont look forward to working but its an easy day most days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job I've ever quit.
Site Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bridgwater, Somerset30 April 2018
Appalling treatment of staff and it was such a haste to claim overtime and expenses. No contact avenues to discuss issues. The promised development was non existent and other graduates were greatly displeased.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire14 April 2018
Violent abrupt senior management the way they conduct themselves on a daily basis is detrimental to anybodies development.

Very high turn over of staff of course it's always there fault... about time someone looks into the state of your management teams and then they will realise why people keep leaving and they are struggling to fulfill positions.

Avoid them
Pros
Average salary
Cons
Bullies, blame culture, poor organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy workforce on my site.
Shift Engineer (Former Employee) –  London9 April 2018
good managers make all the difference,
worked on a large site [office maintenance] good friendly colleagues.

some long hours [nature of the work]
enjoyed the camaraderie.
Pros
share save scheme
Cons
some long out of hours working
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are very nice that i work with.
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Meadowhead school22 March 2018
Kier is ok to work for but I think they expect to much out of you especially in the hours that you have only to get your work done. The pay is poor for the work you have to do.
Pros
Pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it trust me
Loader (Former Employee) –  Evercreech16 March 2018
The management team are two faced and usless with little to no experience apart from one. If you don't do over time you will not last long as you will be sacked or forsed out. No respect or thanks what so ever. The main manager has little man syndrome and is the worst thing to happen to that place. So if you like being treated like utter rubbish with verry little job security then step right up. A staff member leaves every week or so so there is allways a job going. Good luck your going to need it.
Pros
Sweet F A
Cons
management, forced overtime, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 30NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the worst my weekly hours were 123
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon28 February 2018
Very very long hours
I am happy to work long hours and unlocable hours but 123 hrs was exhausting
I also feel their staff are just a number and not well looked after
Alot of corners cut on health and safety
Pros
Good rates of pay for stand by
Cons
Generalpay not very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
Residential Telecommunication Technician (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh Waverley Station, City of Edinburgh22 February 2018
12-14 hour days , 5 days a week , no meal breaks for £240 a week
Unmanageable workloads and dont get paid overtime .
When you mention your pay or get in touch with payroll yourself boss is straight on phone . Just terrible , stay clear .
Made myself ill through workload due to stress .
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, poor pay, poor management list is endless
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Subcontract Ledger Administrator (Current Employee) –  Manchester19 February 2018
Due to being made redundant from Mitie I had the opportunity to come back to Kier. I enjoy working for the company and working along side a great team. The hardest part of the job was learning the new system Oracle which I have now managed to crack!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Loader (Current Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset13 February 2018
Long hours
Hard part about the job don’t get help
They expect to much out of you 2 days work they try make you do it in one day
Never got waterproof clothes
I learnt how to be safe on the roads when loading bins
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kier Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 97 reviews
521
425
319
213
119

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture