Kier Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Sandy, Bedfordshire18 May 2018
You're expected to lug lots of rubbish along way. Given way more work than you can physically carry out in the time allocated. Supervisors are lazy and skive off for a cigarette at every opportunity. Poor pay for lots of work and no help or support given from management.
Pros
No weekends
Cons
Way more work than can be done! Lazy management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work place
Recycling Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brompton-on-Swale and Scorton4 May 2018
A typical day at work was just really enjoyable, I got to work and was excited to start every morning as the group of workers I had made the job a lot more fun and enjoyable, I got to meet and speak to a lot of new people, customers were often polite with us and very thankful for our help! The best part of the job for me was meeting and working with new people and getting to work with machines I have never worked with before.
Pros
The experience and a confidence boost in talking and meeting new people
Cons
Customers could often be rude at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly run
bin man (Current Employee) –  Hastings1 May 2018
dont care if over worked constant wage problem managers dont look after or out for the employees
hardest part of the job is going to work as you dont look forward to working but its an easy day most days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job I've ever quit.
Site Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bridgwater, Somerset30 April 2018
Appalling treatment of staff and it was such a haste to claim overtime and expenses. No contact avenues to discuss issues. The promised development was non existent and other graduates were greatly displeased.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire14 April 2018
Violent abrupt senior management the way they conduct themselves on a daily basis is detrimental to anybodies development.

Very high turn over of staff of course it's always there fault... about time someone looks into the state of your management teams and then they will realise why people keep leaving and they are struggling to fulfill positions.

Avoid them
Pros
Average salary
Cons
Bullies, blame culture, poor organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are very nice that i work with.
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Meadowhead school22 March 2018
Kier is ok to work for but I think they expect to much out of you especially in the hours that you have only to get your work done. The pay is poor for the work you have to do.
Pros
Pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it trust me
Loader (Former Employee) –  Evercreech16 March 2018
The management team are two faced and usless with little to no experience apart from one. If you don't do over time you will not last long as you will be sacked or forsed out. No respect or thanks what so ever. The main manager has little man syndrome and is the worst thing to happen to that place. So if you like being treated like utter rubbish with verry little job security then step right up. A staff member leaves every week or so so there is allways a job going. Good luck your going to need it.
Pros
Sweet F A
Cons
management, forced overtime, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the worst my weekly hours were 123
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon28 February 2018
Very very long hours
I am happy to work long hours and unlocable hours but 123 hrs was exhausting
I also feel their staff are just a number and not well looked after
Alot of corners cut on health and safety
Pros
Good rates of pay for stand by
Cons
Generalpay not very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
Residential Telecommunication Technician (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh Waverley Station, City of Edinburgh22 February 2018
12-14 hour days , 5 days a week , no meal breaks for £240 a week
Unmanageable workloads and dont get paid overtime .
When you mention your pay or get in touch with payroll yourself boss is straight on phone . Just terrible , stay clear .
Made myself ill through workload due to stress .
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, poor pay, poor management list is endless
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Subcontract Ledger Administrator (Current Employee) –  Manchester19 February 2018
Due to being made redundant from Mitie I had the opportunity to come back to Kier. I enjoy working for the company and working along side a great team. The hardest part of the job was learning the new system Oracle which I have now managed to crack!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Loader (Current Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset13 February 2018
Long hours
Hard part about the job don’t get help
They expect to much out of you 2 days work they try make you do it in one day
Never got waterproof clothes
I learnt how to be safe on the roads when loading bins
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Basingastoke6 February 2018
I have worked for this company for over 3 years, having got off to a bad start when i first started, with HR forgetting to process my permanent role for over 6 months, it was fine until recently. Where they have made experienced staff redundant. They have implemented changes without training staff and bought in new managers who either don't care or lack experience.
HR are less then useless and give no support when the excessive workload is questioned.
the salary is fair for the individual roles but it does come with a lot of stress.
IF/when the issues are addressed by directors/management then maybe the moral will lift but the management to not take on board concerns raised by staff.
Pros
fair salary
Cons
low moral, no support, useless HR, stressful job. excessive workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, productive safe place to work.
LOGISTICS, STORES & PLANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  South East3 February 2018
A great place to work with very excellent work and life balance. Very nice people, management quite helpful and understanding. Very effective systems in place to safeguard employees safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking
Approved Electrician (Former Employee) –  Lincolnshire18 January 2018
Company morale at an all time low due to poor management.
Low pay compared to other firms
Management clueless about industry (obviously sent over from the councils)
On a call out rota where you can travel up to 50 miles one way for £30 !!
Company will go bust in a couple of years at most
Pros
Good holiday entitlement (26 + bank holidays)
Cons
Multiple as above
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Painter (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire9 January 2018
I learned what is was like to be in an working environment with friendly people as they wasn't hard on you. Everyone was well organised and knew what they had to do next on their jobs, It was never stressfull.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not go there
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kent3 December 2017
Terrible company, HR support non existent - management support - non existent - experience and knowledge at management level - very poor, work place advancement - very hard for Joe blogs easy if your face fits. Pay - very poor. hours can be long and unappreciated. no one ever sees the job through to the end, too many chiefs.
Pros
none
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away: employees mean nothing for them
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire30 November 2017
great if you like being treated like trash. rude management and no hr to look for support. I witnessed a head of a department throwing his rubbish - the paper in which his sandwich was wrapped - into a girl in his team. he genuinely thought it was fine because if you are a boss you can do anything. still like to give it a try? well, you cannot say you have not been warned!
Pros
none
Cons
lack of respect to employees, lack of basic ethos and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 29NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but poorer management
Plasterer (Former Employee) –  Sheffield20 November 2017
I worked for kier as a Plasterer and earned good money but than poorer management got jealous and pass good work to sub contractors and brown noses people that’s why I lift job but I loved working there
Pros
Good money if you trade man
Cons
Tooooo many brown noses and poorer management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no importance
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Kent17 November 2017
making sure the clean is done at the standards they should be management wasn't very nice school cleaning not really hard lots of hovering and mopping involved.
Pros
no pros
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Telehandler Operator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City2 November 2017
ok company

abit picky on paperwork you don't really need

quite laid back on the job as long as you are used to working on a site.

overall good company
Pros
good finish times
Cons
getting you to pay for stuff you dont need
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kier Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 87 reviews
517
424
319
211
116

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture