Kelly Group Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Kellys
Safety & Technical Trainer (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire11 June 2019
Kellys is a great place to learn your craft but thats it. money is awful, management are awful. I cant keep writing more about them as nothing good to say...........................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave labour
Cable Engineer (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire26 May 2019
The worst company I have ever worked for by a long way.
Very long hours;no break for lunch - rolling down food while in transit - pathetic or what !physically demanding work,managers where arrogant and disrespectful to workers.bullying culture with some fellow workers on one big ego trip.i could go on.
A huge mistake,me stopping for as long as I did.14 weeks approximately - yes,that's far too long.wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy (If I had such a thing).
Don't want to waste any more time on this company - truly appalling in every way !!
Pros
Non
Cons
Pratically everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeeeeep well away
Reinstater (Former Employee) –  Yorkshire21 May 2019
U have beeeeen warned .company policy.is the blame game.sly underhand maniplative manegers.if uuuur tounge is long n greasy u have a job for life.if your a decent worker whith a small dry tounge wont last long.keeeeeep away keeeeeep away.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough patch4 March 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont fall for it
Installation Engineer (Former Employee) –  West Midlands21 September 2018
Currently an apprentice under the virgin media contract, with my contracted hours 8 am till 4 30pm.
Often find myself working way past my contracted time due to an overloaded work schedule, we as a group of apprentices voice our concerns and get no where. Site managers don't want to know if you need help when struggling, but expect immediate contact if a job simply cannot get done. No one wants to listen to any concerns. Just stay well clear no matter what the job advertisements say as they are tight with paying overtime too.
Pros
Colleagues on the same level with you, with the same struggle, are the ones who give you a helping hand.
Cons
Its a complete disaster top to bottom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insecure job
Network surveyor (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire8 July 2018
Worked as network surveyor West Yorkshire though immediate manager was fine,no managers above cared very much about workers .Umbrella wage payers rip you off , sometimes great delays in payment.Given 1 days notice as self employed contractors.Promise of salaried position never happened.Advice? Don’t go there
Pros
Van and tools
Cons
Uncaring upper management.Only of losing Contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run and friendly work environment
Database Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wembley, Greater London3 June 2018
I have worked at Kelly group twice as a summer job. the first time in 2016 and the second in 2017. both times they were brilliant employers who gave clear and concise training, without having the fear of misunderstanding or messing up a task looming over your head. Overall, a very good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Puller (Current Employee) –  Midlands17 January 2018
What is there to say apart from avoid.

Work is very underpaid if you get paid at all.

Self employed but have to request a holiday that often gets refused even with 6 months notice.

Career progression- yes if you are related to management or you are willing to bend over for them.

They think it's acceptable to be at work for 10 hours and earn £25 even though you try the impossible to earn more.

Management think they own your life (if you can call it a life whilst working for these).

Self employed but forced to work extra days.

Wages only ever get lower, never rise.

You honestly can earn more money working anywhere. Typical take home pay per fortnight for working 100 hours or more is around £500 if you are lucky.
It used to be a great place to work but now i
Can't wait to find a new job
Pros
None
Cons
No life..no money..no holidays..
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company with bad work ethics
Cable Puller (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, Greater London30 November 2017
Worked indirectly for kellys on 4lm rail project. They pay everyone a flat rate regardless of the how qualified you are. Except of course if your related to management than you will be getting paid more and given a chance to climb the ladder. They sack people for the smallest reason sometimes just because the spc does not like you, You simply recieve a text saying that your services are no longer required. They also like to make people come to the yard at 10pm even though everyone works engineering hours 12-4. Constantly reminding you that you are paid from 10-6. The storeroom is a so unorganised very lazy people working there on nights always on there laptops watching star wars cant get nothing right .modt of the time they just say “we havnt got it”. The workers are great and tge atmosphere use to be great when some of the ealier spc were there. Kellys is the worst company to work for snd thats putting it nocely
Pros
Good workers
Cons
Management and spc are terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teammates
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester13 September 2017
Worked for kellys on bt contract for 8 months good pay but need to stay out late nights to earn decent money, great to have your own van and all tools provided
Pros
Van, Tools, Fuel card, Uniform
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked under paid
Installation engineer (Current Employee) –  West Midlands13 September 2017
Been working for this company for a few months and the work is enjoyable but being paid per job is rubbish you are not paid for your travel which takes up half the day, also if the customer is not in you don't get paid for that job, the tools they give you to use are rubbish/damaged and you are asked to harass the customer for a refer a friend lead so the company gets sales I am there to install not sell but management start having ago if you don't get leads. You don't get a break you are told to eat your lunch while driving and if you take a break you get a phone call asking when are you going to start your next job. Currently looking for new job I would advise people stay away from this company you are better off on benefits.
Pros
Some good work teammates
Cons
Pay, managers, the way company is run
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't work for this company
Pre-pull engineer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham22 June 2017
when i applied for this job and carryed out my training week i got told i could earn this and earn that and basically im doing pre pull and it is impossible to earn a good living wage im doing over 65 hours a week with nothing to show for it would not recommend this company to anyone and if i knew what i do now before i started here i would have gotten a different job and also i got told i would work local and basically im travelling over 50 miles to pick my partner up then do a route then take him home then do another 50 miles to get home myself and the jobs on your route can be 15 20 45 mins away from each other and you dont get payed for driving which is an absolute joke!!!!!!!
Pros
none
Cons
long hours and not good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Residential Installation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol27 May 2017
One of the worst jobs i had ever done due to the lack of support from managers and other colleagues. Certain engineers with the aspects of the job you need them for only choose the ones they like to help and overall i wish i never entertained the oppourtunity
Cons
no guarantee to be paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Installation Engineer/pre puller (Former Employee) –  Merseyside24 February 2017
STAY CLEAR! Well where do I start? I will keep this a short as possible, if you think you are going to earn good wages here then look else where Kelly`s communications has got to be up there with one of the worst companies in the world for paying wages, wages are constantly wrong always underpaid and the management simply does nothing about it, they promise you this that the other and it never gets sorted out and then before you know it your next wages come along and there also down so your basically trying to chase unpaid wages, also the working hours are ridiculous you will be out all hours you can even be out till 10 at night YES! 10. Also it 6 days a week you have to work Saturday no choice, although your some how self employed you have no flexibility on working hours, stay clear you will spend most of your time trying to get unpaid wages,you would earn more working in McDonald's and work less hours that's the gods honest truth how any can say this company is good to work for is either paid to do a review or has only just finished their training and doesn't know what is to come.

I would give minus stars if possible.
Pros
Absolutely none
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
three man team
communications installer van driver (Former Employee) –  Preston12 February 2017
We was a three man team, going around to appointed addresses installing satellite television and telephone services. A normal day involved fueling van cleaning of the van picking up workmates and picking up job-sheets for the day i enjoyed all aspects of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 15Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working here
virgin media installer (Current Employee) –  east manchester + bolton24 January 2017
in my experience i have learned lots on how to complete the work.
the days are long and are not easy.
like any company the management has good and in this case mainly bad points.
there is an really good team which will help when need.
the hardiest part to this jobs is the management.
working with great team of installers
Pros
team work
Cons
long hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
encouraging engineers
Lead Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tipton, West Midlands22 January 2017
engineers in the majority are hard working and trained to high level but in the other half new engineers are pourly trained and management is left wanting on many levels as managers spend more time reaching for best position at the table than to care or help engineers struggling, kelly boasts every engineer could earn £500 per week but what they really get from pour management is roughly about £250 a week no matter how much work you do, whether its taking out two routes by yourself worth 500 pound for that day you still only get about 300 and theres way too many excuses to where the money has gone and never gets resolved. And although Tipton is a rough example i have been in this industry 20 years and its the worst site i have ever had the misfortune to work for as all the TM's never tell site manager what their doing so the site manager is in complete blindness most of the time
Pros
none
Cons
over worked under paid and not paid right or on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst company i have ever worked for
Engineer (Former Employee) –  South London5 August 2016
I worked here for two years. Self employed with none of the benefits. No-one cares about you they will just find another mug to fill your place. Its all about getting the job in, on a dated network. They don't give you sufficient training and the BT engineers hate you because of it. If you leave in the first 6 months they will charge you for the poor training and the privilege.
Stay clear of this company, you will regret it!
Pros
None
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only one training
Residential Installation Engineer (Former Employee) –  London15 May 2016
The main was a two-week training. Very well organized and familiarize people with the basics in telecommunications, in exactly the work of telephone technicians.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 21Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job but not enough work = rubbish pay
telephone engineer (Former Employee) –  Lancashire16 February 2016
Dispatch can be annoying and difficult to work with. They can make feel so cheap. Everyone from my training school has left either because of too much driving, poor management or for the lack of jobs.
Pros
get your own van
Cons
too much driving, not enough jobs, poor mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kelly Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.1
Based on 28 reviews
52
41
36
27
112

Ratings by category

2.1Work/Life Balance
2.0Salary/Benefits
1.9Job Security/Advancement
1.8Management
2.1Culture

Kelly Group Reviews by Location