kate spade Employee Reviews

Showing all 374 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associatec in Carlsbad, California
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Carlsbad, CA17 January 2019
-The micromanaging from managers/ store leaders.
- The only reward I got from these months of hard work was a $5 starbucks gift card. Yes... No commission, zero store bouns, and 0 incentive.
- I applied for a full time position, but I ended up work in 14 hours....and most of the time 10 hours a week, and now is even worse-----6 hours on call....
- The schedule is changing every week. They reduce your hours every week. I just check the store employee weekly schedule yesterday, and I find out some of my collegue have 0 shriff, not a joke.... Hope them stay strong.
- I feel useless when it comes to this situation, what I can do is leave.
- By the way, I am alway the top seller, and I gained so many new rotal customers for the store. But sadly, store managers don't care at all, and the company don't even know how the store leaders treat their own emplyees.
Pros
Awesome coworkers, nice and friendly customers
Cons
Micro-management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente de trabajo
General (Former Employee) –  Florida17 January 2019
Buen ambiente laboral , es agradable trabajar hay , buen compañerismo
Cons
Hay descansos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind employees, great place to work.
Sales Associate (seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Chestnut Hill, MA8 January 2019
Kind employees, great place to work. Amazing discounts. I loved that I could buy many different things for great prices. However, at least in my location, there was not sufficient training: I learned through experience only. There were too many training videos of seemingly useless information.
Pros
Great discounts!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
垃圾公司/特別高層同hr做野令人討厭
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Cwb28 December 2018
做左半年終於忍唔住要辭職...
因為唯一好在係人手少...鋪頭又遇著好同事...
但其他野實在難以接受...
特別hr做野隨便...請左講既人工同簽約時人工唔同
但因為無電話綠音而無奈地簽約...
搞到每個月少$500...
長期請唔夠人...最大間鋪一更得果兩個人睇鋪
成日搞到要ot返12個鐘...去廁所都要忍...
底薪又好唔公平...
愈做得耐既同事底薪就會少過新請既一至三千...
到決定辭職講番自己底薪唔同件事...
寫字樓垃圾hr打尼推三推四...
所以做左半年終於頂唔順走人...
Pros
無...只係甘岩鋪頭遇著好同事
Cons
人工低...工作量大...公司高層hr不知所謂
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cool workplace
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HI26 December 2018
I was at Kate Spade for a short time but I enjoyed every moment. The environment made it easy for you to go in, learn what was needed to be learned, and do a successful job. The managers had no problem with showing you what was needed to be done.
Pros
Hour lunch breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place I've ever worked!!!
Conveyor Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  West Chester, OH18 December 2018
They really take care of there facility and employees. They offer a great wage and great benefits. they supplied all your tools and uniforms boots included, paid training and a healthy atmosphere.
Pros
great pay, environment, great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tiring, unappreciative place to work
CASH LEAD (Current Employee) –  York, ON3 December 2018
Love the company's aesthetic, but working as a sales associate, cashier or stock position in the outlet location is NOT worth it. Management is focused on making money, treated like robots when busy (which is all the time), cliques are formed, favouritism is clear. A typical shift is 9 hours with 1 hour break - not thanked for work done, not allowed to drink from a water bottle in front of customers. Only way to advance is if you have open availability
Cons
Long, 9 hour shifts, impossible to get days off, discount is the same that customers recieve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work at the warehouse
Warehouse Associate /Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Chester, NY30 November 2018
working for the kate spade warehouse was horrible. there was no direction yet you could get introuble for almost anything. the best part of my day was leaving
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience but no work/life balance
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mebane, NC28 November 2018
The staffing is a majority of part-time associates. Management are the only ones offered full time. Staffing issues occur constantly.
no control over hours, leaders do not want to help you , they judge your attire but do not offer wardrobe for the company. Expect you to buy their products but do not provide a clothing voucher outside of a ONE TIME ONLY $25 item
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
엣지있고 트랜디한 패션컴패니
Visual merchandise manager (Former Employee) –  서울16 November 2018
사랑스럽고 크리에이티브한 사람이라면 즐겁게 일할수있는 회사.
매 시즌 멋진 컨셉과 프러덕을 만나면 너무 기분좋고 고객에게 자신있게 판매할수있어서 스토어 직원들이 브랜드를 사랑함.
리전관리가 타이트하지 못해 원래 브랜딩 플랜 및 방향이 본사와 다르게 진행되어 안타까울때가 많음.
Pros
직원할인
Cons
없음
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FL9 November 2018
It's a fun place to work and the atmosphere is lively and you make guests feel like they are at a party and you are the host. The environment matches the products being sold which are cute purses and wallets and other accessories. It's also a good place for people seeking work that have little to no experience. There is a good chance for attaining a higher position but you must prove yourself because they do tend to hire from within. Leaders work closely with sales associates to keep them on track for completing company goals as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managerial
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Naples, FL6 November 2018
When I started the DM's were very helpful and informative. The training was excellent the work days were fast pace With the last DM everything changed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Showroom Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NY31 October 2018
If you love fashion, then this is a great fit. You get to see the day to day behind the scenes, non-glamorous parts of fashion designers. From the way they sketch a design for a line to seeing it to fruition. Meeting buyers from all over the world and best of all, sample sales!
Pros
Free breakfast with meetings / Sample sales
Cons
Fast paced environment with many different attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp job
TEMP RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  New York, NY31 October 2018
It was great for the week I was there, However I must say it was a much slower paced job than I'm use to. Staff seems to be really happy and everyone was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun But Competitive
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX15 October 2018
It was a fun atmosphere, but at my store, there was constant competition between management. They would rather bring someone down, than see the store succeed. Other than that, it was a fun, fast paced place to work. They should pay attention to employee's sales numbers more than make it a popularity contest.
Pros
amazing discount, good benefits
Cons
Too Competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every Location is different
Associate (Current Employee) –  WA7 October 2018
The management has always been the worst part about the job. The product quality has been going down hill over the past year. Employs mostly students, who all have unreliable availability for coverage. You're either bored at work or dying trying to keep up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PA4 October 2018
Working at Kate Spade was a fun and fast paced environment. They initially hired too many employees when the store first opened, and I left because I would sometimes get only one shift a month.
Pros
interaction with customers, good product
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ótima empresa para se trabalhar.
Analista de Logística (Former Employee) –  São Paulo, SP1 October 2018
Empresa propicia comunicação direta com os diretores, na explanação de ideias e possíveis melhoras na operação.
Pros
Ajuda de custo alimentação, combustível, ótimo plano de saúde.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kate Spade was a good job but the hours were inconsistent
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Sunrise, FL30 September 2018
When working in retail, the hours are going to be inconsistent for a while since they will be high moments and low. The pay was good but it was definitely not the kind of work environment I would see myself doing for a long time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday Job Only
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CA28 September 2018
Just like with every retail job, Kate Spade will be no different whatsoever, at times even worse. Management only looks out for themselves and prefer promoting external applicants over their more than competent workers.
Hours are spread out very poorly with some employees not having hours for weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at kate spade. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 374 reviews
5134
4115
375
228
122

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture