John Lewis Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for working
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes18 October 2017
John Lewis is a good workplace.The jobs in their NDC are easy to do for everyone.Mangers supervising their teams very well.John Lewis is a place where you can be happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company for uni grads
Chef in multiple operation department store (Former Employee) –  chef17 October 2017
Overall a good company who offer benefits such as a yearly bonus, staff discount, pensions, good holiday leave and various clubs and subsidised events.
Pros
good work/life balance, bonus, discount
Cons
redundancy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good family oriented team
Selling Partner - Full time (Current Employee) –  Poole17 October 2017
As part of smaller format branch you get to know your colleagues really well and you feel like part of a family away from home. Working together to achieve a common goal in a close environment also helps keep moral within the team high which in turn keeps productivity at optimum level too.
Pros
company benefits are amazing, getaways, clubs and societies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive and fun
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London17 October 2017
A great company to work for. Here you can learn a lot about yourself, which helps you when looking to move forward with any career. I would recommend this to anyone who hasn't decided their next career path.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff13 October 2017
A very fast paced and caring company to work for. Great discount too, The staff are very supportive of each other. Hardest part of the job would be the expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if your face fits
Stock Management Partner (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon13 October 2017
they cl;aim to be a fantastic employer, that you are a co-owner of the business, but it is very much a business of if your face fits. too much politics and new ideas and not enough implementation. the benefits are amazing, how ever you are not paid enough to actually shop there.
Pros
amazing benefits
Cons
seriously unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressed out management
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Darwen, Lancashire11 October 2017
John Lewis is OK but this place is not! Managers shout at people, pay is rubbish, benefits are great but it's the John Lewis shops that are great NOT this manufacturing site.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Stressed management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a career
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Oxford Street, Greater London8 October 2017
After spending a year within this industry, I quickly came to realize that it not a career to build on. For me there needs to be more challenges and a serious approach on how to better the sales of the company.
Pros
a loose environment
Cons
a loose environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ever
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London7 October 2017
Worked there during a hectic time (holidays) which got me really worried but turned out to be a lovely place with good people always there to help you out and that gives you respect. If someone has a job there never let it go as the places where I went afterwards were really awful.
Pros
Amazing canteen with really cheap meals, Fair and lovely staff
Cons
None as far as I worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and great benefits
Section Manager (Former Employee) –  Crossways6 October 2017
John Lewis was a great place to work, for it's location, benefits and the interesting people that you met along the way. John Lewis have good customer service policies and that meant it was a pleasant place to work.
Pros
Benefits, job security and opportunities
Cons
Retail hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring company.
Furnishing Fabrics Administration (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire5 October 2017
I've thoroughly enjoyed my time with John Lewis and would gladly have stayed with the Partnership for the rest of my career but sadly my role is being centralised to Manchester.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a partnership
driver (Former Employee) –  Avonmouth, Bristol4 October 2017
a management that bends all the rules to suit their family members or live in partners , transport admin that doesn't have a clue or doesn't care, vehicles sent out in an unroadworthy condition, a routing system which is non achievable, and a change of hours which has put drivers at risk.
Pros
none
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part of a great team
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham New Street Station, West Midlands4 October 2017
At John Lewis you are valued as a partner of the company and so your work is meaningful and you are part of a great team. There is a lot to do and you are always busy, appearance is key and work rate is vital.
Pros
Ethical company, good atmosphere, annual bonus, usually busy. At Christmas, fun, magical. Co-ownership, prestigious name in retail. Good training and support.
Cons
Can be busy, weekend and bank holidays working, Some late nights, Pressure to deliver good service with a smile at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money if you don't mind completetly selling out
Customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Oundle3 October 2017
you get an annual bonus every year which used to be nice but since the company is in so much debt the bonus has been dramatically decreasing to the point where now its better to work for another supermarket without a bonus but with a higher hourly rate. I had nothing but bad experiences there with the management and while i was there 2 managers where hospitalized for stress related illnesses. this store caters to those who want to feel like they are royalty and the staff are slaves when they buy their carrots. ts easy work but everyone there is miserable. in summary, you better have a thick skin
Pros
annual bonus
Cons
being treated like you're literally a slave by customers and managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwich3 October 2017
Very professional and fair management, a nice place to work and friendly staff. Slightly repetitive jobs but nice atmosphere to work in. Not much over time.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Repetitive jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day at work
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire3 October 2017
it was good to work for John Lewis but i am looking for a job related to my studies. John Lewis did support me with my studies e-g when i needed time off for my exams or for family.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
lower pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company founded on great beliefs
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester3 October 2017
John Lewis is an excellent company to work for being founded on 150 year old beliefs of the advantages of an employee owned business and the culture is what drives the business forward to this day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest as possible
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  North England30 September 2017
As a sales person, it is the teams role to manage the department. Department Managers (Section Managers) tend to be Uni Grads or long term JL partners, have little to do with shop floor activities and concentrate on meetings and ensuring that floor standards are good. There are a few SMs that will help and assist with customers, but don't be surprised if they come to find you if a customer asks them anything.

The lack of support can be tricky, and there is little recognition given by managers. This is due to the integral everyone is a Partner, and it is all of our responsibility. Most of your training will be from partners you work with, so you'll learn the things you need quickly, but beware of picking up bad habits.

The people you work with make the job enjoyable, the work load is as minimal or complex as you want to make it.

Beware, when you join it will be at the minimal amount, pay rises are yearly, and you'll be looking at between 1%-2.5%. For sales assistant this puts you at just above Minimum Wage. Annual bonus is minimal for Level 9-10 Partners.
Pros
You can learn to manage departments, people. You don't get a title, but you'll gain experience.
Cons
Basic salary, lack of progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Progression
Full Time Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 September 2017
The partnership as a whole is incredibly good at looking after partners in every aspect other than work. The working hours are relentless and allow for a very unfair work/ life balance.
Pros
benefits
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas Temp Job - Still here 15 years later
Selling Coach (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol27 September 2017
I started as a Christmas Temporary Partner back in October 2001. I have had a long and varied career at John Lewis working my way up to Section Manager I have been able to cover many roles and departments and this has allowed me to gain a in depth knowledge of the business.
Pros
Wide range of benefits from discount, holiday homes, support
Cons
Just the usual retail of working long hours at Christmas
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at John Lewis. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,021 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0