John Lewis Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring place to work
sales assistant and barman (Former Employee) –  Cambridge18 June 2018
Great place to work and begin life in the retail sector. The subject at the heart of the business is the highest level of customer services on the high street, so learning in that environment is a good place to start.
Pros
Free lunches/Discounts in store and with waitrose
Cons
Working most weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheadle18 June 2018
A typical day of work would consist of a quick team meeting in the morning to discuss sales targets and then moving onto the shop floor to meet customers.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best In Retail
Selling partner (Current Employee) –  Sheffield14 June 2018
I have worked here for a long time therefore, I see changes that feel worse than when I began but as a retail job, it's the best that you can ask for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Quality Control Checker (Former Employee) –  Northampton13 June 2018
Very calm, and at the same time fast moving environment. I learn a lot about fashion trends, especially why people dislike products and send them back, I also learn the overall process of how clothes resealing works, and what company does to save money. The workplace was very calm and friendly. The job wasn't hard for me, because I was enjoying manually researching about people preferences, by reading the reasons for the item return, and I also love, to learn new skills at the beginning.
Pros
Calm environment
Cons
Not permanent job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here its ok
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norwich12 June 2018
This is a very ok place to work. If you are looking for an exciting fulfilling and advance your life goals maybe try somewhere else. Though it is nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Bosh Expert - Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Reading12 June 2018
Nice place to work there people know what they are talking about, but I only was working there as representative of another company.
I recommened the staff canteen to everyone... cheap and good food
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bright, clean and fun environment to work in.
WAREHOUSE SECTION MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire11 June 2018
Section Managers are allowed to work on projects and develop areas of the distribution centre.
They are not valued enough and used as supervisors not managers.

Pay does not reflect experience and performance.
Pros
Subserdised food.
Cons
Weekend and bank holiday working . Bonus scheme low reward.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Temporary Christmas Job (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire10 June 2018
Long hours, one short break, can be enjoyable when around others, meet new people. Most enjoyable when with others, hardest part of the job would be when there isn't anything to do.
Hours were okay, personally prefer the morning shift as it is a better atmosphere and social able hours.
Pros
good pay
Cons
can become boring when there isnt anything to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear9 June 2018
John Lewis is a great place to work. Well managed and run and staff treated well. You are a Partner in the business, therefore it is your business and for this you are expected to take responsibility and look after the customer well.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Late evening working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management , amazing salary and benefits
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cheadle, Cheshire6 June 2018
Very tiring and hard job but the benefits are exceptional with a great salary and good discounts. 2/3 of the managers failed to work well with the fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
John lewis awful place
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh5 June 2018
Where do i start,

the myth that your a co owner, is just that a myth

the place is run by bafoons,

over the years, i rarely worked with fellow colleague,instead we go random agency, these varied from convicited paedophiles, drug addicts and alcoholics,to people who have stabbed several people.

horrible place, and horrible culture of awarding the bad people and punishing the goods workers.


only good thing is the wages
Pros
wages
Cons
long hours, forced overtime, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and caring workspace
Selling Assistant (Former Employee) –  London5 June 2018
Each day in the morning the staff meet at their space on the shop floor and have a discussion on their goals for that day. All staff at John Lewis at Brent Cross were very friendly and were happy to help me get started. I was given a tour of my department and met all the staff of the specific department.
Pros
Staff Canteen
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Watford5 June 2018
Best part of working for John Lewis is the culture at the company. They have an almost government set up within the branches with branch councils etc that speak directly to the bosses on behalf of the workers. This allows for great communication and means that most changes to company have to voted on by the workers themselves. This creates a great working atmosphere.
Pros
Great Staff Culture
Cons
Pay is quite low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Selling Assistant (Former Employee) –  London5 June 2018
Usually quite busy, management was great; the managers were very understanding and helpful. The staff were great fun, bubbly and really dependable.

The only downside of working there was the condescending, pretentious, patronizing customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Temporary Beauty Assistant (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City4 June 2018
- lively and energetic atmosphere
- customer focused environment
- friendly staff
- rewarding job
- help always at hand with colleagues
- there's always tasks to do
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
can be very busy at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting experience for first full time job
Selling Assistant (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City3 June 2018
Working as a shop floor selling assistant you experience working in a team with other partners supporting various departments. I found it stimulating interacting with customers and learning about new and exiting products on the job. This was my first proper full time job. I am looking for a new challenge in my career.
Pros
developing my interpersonal skills
Cons
working most weekends and all bank holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work within Retail in the UK
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  York3 June 2018
John Lewis is a company which is renowned for Trust, Quality and Service to its customers.

Staff, or Partners, are treated exceptionally well by the company, which owns a number of holiday locations around the UK - just one of the benefits working for a co-owned business. The other benefit does not need too much of an introduction, but the qualification of a yearly bonus depending on business performance is also high up on the list of benefits.

John Lewis has not stayed still - it is continuously developing and aiming to move forward to meet current market conditions. Commercially it challenges you to think differently, putting customers at the heart of Service decisions, whilst also balancing the impact on Partners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  London/Bracknell2 June 2018
A fun loving diverse environment that people can blend very easily but the salaries are not so great!.....................................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Supermarket Assistant (Current Employee) –  Finchley Road1 June 2018
Waitrose is a fairly good place to work. Job culture is very good. There's a lot of flexibility in regards to your working hours. The salary is also great for a retailer assuming you can perform reasonably well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding employee development and benefits.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire29 May 2018
Offers an exceptional array of benefits to the employee ensuring the work is always rewarded appropriately. Makes efforts to develop you as an employee with good training and clear development plans.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at John Lewis. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,264 reviews
5575
4420
3185
245
139

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture