Jamie Oliver Employee Reviews

Found 154 reviews matching the search See all 187 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start of a career
Head Chef of Deli (Former Employee) –  Victoria4 October 2019
For me was a very good place to start my career as a chef. Jamie was working only with fresh ingredients and offered a good training for the chefs at all levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Sue chef (Former Employee) –  Greenhithe23 September 2019
the place of uncle where I learned to cook, I received very good preparation. good and friendly menegement, flexibility in the work schedule. they also paid maternity leave. they understood that I couldn't work during motherhood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work bu fun and rewarding
Bartender (Former Employee) –  York13 July 2019
'Worked here for nearly 2 years and wouldn't fault it always having a laugh and each day was a challenge.. Met some great friends and management were great..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organised and friendly
Sales and Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester8 July 2019
Support you a great opportunity for self-growth and potential for progression within the company if you work hard
Pros
acknowledging your hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Piccadilly, Greater London2 July 2019
all in all, good workplace. you can develop if you want. free meal when you are on shift. Piccadilly is a busy restaurant, so you need self-control. Nice team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be amazing
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cardiff14 June 2019
We were all suddenly made redundant, without any notice. Very poo.r Left a bitter taste in everybody's mouth. Difficult to leave a positive review when this has happened
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Waiter/Barman (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands23 May 2019
doesnt exist anymore place shut down as all you know

was a great place to work.

great team great ambiance and great management

now its time to start looking for something else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best Company to be in
Gestione manutenzione e ristrutturazioni (Current Employee) –  Greater London2 May 2019
All over the venues the mindset of the company makes you feel looked after and not just a number.

A place where you can learn and exchange knowledge an grow up in this field.

Ethically it's definitely the best company I have ever worked for in London
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ever
Hostess (Former Employee) –  London1 May 2019
Possibilità di crescita molto ampia management professionale ed impeccabile
Pros
Staff food management
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and great people
Senior waitress (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire1 May 2019
This was a fun job due to the people and the great food that I was given was always good quality. Long hours but most restaurants have been closed down.
Pros
Free lunches good discount.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented friendly environment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes9 March 2019
Jamie Olivers Italian is a very family orientated place to work and to ensure that we are delivering world class quality of food and service to all our guest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire28 January 2019
extremely unorganised,no direction but at least that made me work on my own initiative.no consistency in management which led to confusion.their tiping system was unacceptable as i would have to pay a percentage of my credit card tips even though i had not made cash tips!
Cons
no breaks in 10 hr shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff24 January 2019
the best company where you can start work , every people in there it is amazing, because all people aid you too be more easy work in a team and also if you have any problem the manager try do it any possible for aidd for
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Orientated
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Cardiff9 January 2019
Jamie Olivers Italian is a very family orientated place to work and to ensure that we are delivering world class quality of food and service to all our guest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with principles, people focused.
DEPUTY GENERAL MANAGER (Current Employee) –  London8 January 2019
Almost 7 years in the company proves it is a good company to work for. Vey people focused, always willing to promote, teach and support people who are willing to achieve something in their lives. It is not the perfect company and I am sure that there is a lot that could be improved but the overall experience after working here for 7 years and is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work very very busy
Grill Chef (Former Employee) –  Liverpool4 January 2019
Started off a really good pl ace to work. Learnt alot with very good training really enjoyed working with fresh food at a fast pace environment very nice place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant workplace, yet restricted opportunity.
Production Secretary (Former Employee) –  London7 November 2018
Jamie Oliver Ltd comes with plenty of staff benefits: free cooking classes, 4pm finish on Fridays in the summer, free cookbooks, occasionally free food, generous summer parties and christmas celebrations.
Nice, friendly atmosphere, that does to keep the staff updated and informed on the company's performance and development as much as possible.

Puts their staff on temporary contracts, meaning they can be dropped very suddenly. Also very restricted opportunities to develop your skills, move up in the career ranks and move across departments.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Restricted Opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Jamie Oliver
12 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. This page is monitored by the Jamie Oliver Restaurant Group, although we take your feedback very seriously and have passed this onto the Jamie Oliver Ltd.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bar staff
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh2 November 2018
Was really looking forward to working at Jamie's but ended up completely disappointed. I had my interview with the bar manager who was lovely and great at her job but she left a couple of days after I started due to being treated badly by the floor managers. The floor managers didn't have a clue about the bar and constantly made fun of new bar staff like myself to the waiters because we didn't have any training so didn't have full knowledge of all the cocktails, wines and how they made different hot drinks. They didn't even offer to help train us or ask what we where struggling with, if you weren't in there little click then you weren't worth their time. They constantly didn't order enough stock so half the time there was no beer, cider, certain soft drinks, some wine (especially the house wine), popular spirits and on a few occasions we even ran out of tonic. For a restaurant that's well known and in a very popular town / continually busy especially throughout summer and Christmas, the managers didn't have a clue. If it hadn't been for the amazing guys that continued to help me on bar and a few waiters that took the time to help me with the coffee machine I would have left a lot sooner.
Pros
50% of food
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Jamie Oliver
5 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we very much appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed working with your colleagues and we are sorry to hear that you did not experience good leadership from your management team. We take this feedback very seriously and if you would like to discuss this further please contact restaurantjobs@jamieoliver.com.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good experience
Waitress (Former Employee) –  York25 October 2018
have to say it was a good experience, hard work and good opportunity. it was a place i was happy go to work but after almost 4 years i have decided to change a job because there is no chance for me to grow
Pros
free lunch
Cons
more and more responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Jamie Oliver
5 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate every feedback we get and we are very pleased that you find Jamie's a great place to work. We wish you the best of luck in your career. Big love x

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life in jamies italian
BARISTA (Former Employee) –  London5 October 2018
really nice place when you improve too many things, really friendly staff and management. you learn how to make cocktail and other drinks with company standard
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Jamie Oliver
5 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate every feedback we get and we are very pleased that you find Jamie's a great place to work & learn! Big love x

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jamie Oliver. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 187 reviews
558
466
333
218
112

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture