James Hall Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company to work for
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire29 June 2018
Worked as agency driver for them
Load your own vehicles
Very heavy manual work, no training, awful management, bonus system in place to encourage productivity which is against industry guidelines
Long hours, very poor planning,
Poor sick pay even when you have hurt yourself doing the job
Not a good firm to work
Most of the good drivers I know won’t work for them
If you have to use it for the experience do so and move on quick
Pros
You learn how to look after yourself
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire29 June 2018
I have worked here for over 5yrs, it is my longest employment to date. I started on a temporary contract but was so happy at work I was pleased to be offered a permanent contract.

There is a real feeling that you are valued and your ideas, suggestions and contributions are appreciated.

It is an excellent working environment at Preston, beautiful building, staff canteen and a walking track.
Pros
Security
Cons
Honestly don’t have any!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clayton Park.
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Huncoat, Lancashire20 June 2018
I had worked at the Huncoat site at Clayton park for two years. My time there was the best! I loved the job I did. It’s very busy and there’s always something to do.
I was put through a huge amount of courses and encouraged to progress up to the position im currently in.
Pros
Lots of opportunities to progress.
Cons
Unplanned overtime because of production.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Placement
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huncoat, Lancashire20 June 2018
Staff and management at the huncoat site are hands on and approachable. The working hours and pay are both good, and management always adhere to request for extra work where possible. Full in-house training is available and job enrichment opportunities are offered. Staff are well looked after. An overall great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huncoat, Lancashire20 June 2018
All the staff are lovely and helpful. Always work as a team to complete workload. Management offer support whenever needed. Training provided. Pay and hours are good for all.
Pros
As stated in review
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excessive workload
Customer Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire24 April 2018
Ridiculous amount of work for minimum wages. Bad management. Poor training. Treated very poorly with short break for lunch of 30 minutes. Lucky if you get that!
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Says 16 hrs but they want more
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnoldswick, Lancashire15 April 2018
They dont ask you if you want overtime they just put you down for it and say its in your contract.

The pay is bad for the work load the shop i worked in was always short staffed the staff turn over is unbeleivable.

The best option is to go for the day shift . The evening shift drags on and your worked like a donkey.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and underpaid
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear6 February 2018
Management are lazy and expect staff to pick up the work load. Your are just a number not a person. If your face doesn’t fit they want you out.
Everything’s your fault, even when you’re not around. A very two faced environment that I never wish to work in again.
Most staff don’t get their full holiday entitlement and if your till is down it comes out your wage.
Cowboy company with no respect for anyone or anything and they are constantly trying to cover up something dodgy!
Pros
Some staff are nice
Cons
Long hours, bad pay, no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse assembler
assembler (Former Employee) –  james hall3 February 2018
Bad job and badly managed, have no career prospects. Get worked till you drop then get chucked on scrap heap. On the plus side decent wage if you can hit the impossible targets.
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
bad work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much to fault
Production Operative/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  sandwich department8 January 2018
well managed, friendly staff, job security is always there, easy to learn and job comes with many benefits. including cheap healthcare and legal advice. canteen is bang on as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire15 November 2017
The only good thing is the wage , the management treat you as a number rather that a person the area manager of the York area , you dont see him , he cant answer any questions . The head office side is a shambles and not run very well at all , they muck you about with work life balance. They expect the world.
Pros
£8ph
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly environment
day - Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire31 August 2017
Very friendly feel, great working environment, standard hours of work with early finishes on a Friday (depending what department your in). I worked in the canteen, the staff there are brilliant and serving the staff from other departments is fun too.
Pros
Staff Canteen, Christmas bonus', free parking, easy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working
warehouseman (Former Employee) –  fresh foods18 June 2013
poor managment team, goodpay if your prepared to mis out on life.
Pros
good member of staff
Cons
hard work no repay
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Gross assembler (Former Employee) –  Preston9 September 2012
I enjoyed my time at James hall good opportunity to earn money with as much over time as you wish
Pros
discount at spar outlets
Cons
compulsory hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 24Report

See more James Hall reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at James Hall. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 17 reviews
58
40
33
21
15

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture