JD Sports Fashion Plc Employee Reviews

Found 1,380 reviews matching the search See all 1,523 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at & Friendly staff/colleagues
JD Sports Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 December 2018
My Job here was pretty much self-explanatory as I was doing Work experience as a cashier. my typical day at work would include me coming in with my JD hoodie, then going straight behind the desk and assisting customers with any questions and selling the products (clothes/shoes/accessories) etc

like I said, pretty much self-explanatory as there's nothing much to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shambles
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Stansted Airport7 December 2018
No work life balance, dreadful shifts, no shift pattern.

Management can be nice but have no clue what they're doing and are sometimes unreliable, insufficient training for all members of staff.

HR are useless and never get anything sorted.

I would only apply here if you're desperate for a job.
Pros
25% Discount, Weekly pay
Cons
HR useless, Shift times, Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment but very low pay
DELIVERY ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London5 December 2018
It is a good working environment. All staff seem to be friendly but they provide very low pay especially for night shifts!!! I hope that they sort this out soon!
Pros
Friendly enviroment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Trafford, Greater Manchester4 December 2018
Managers talk down to you, always think they are better than you as they are a higher rank than you and your colleagues. Don't give essential training or basic training.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours, short dinner
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst retail I’ve worked for
Súpervisor (Current Employee) –  Glasgow4 December 2018
Very catty environment.
Senior management speak to staff like dogs.
Horrible pay - supervisors only make 15p more an hour than sales assistants.
You are constantly treated like a criminal. You need to sign what shoes you wear before, during and after each shift.
JD do not trust their staff.
This job would suit someone st school or part time but not a full time career. As an experienced 25 year old I find this workplace too patronising and immature. Very cliquey environment.
It simply is not worth all of the stress, harassment and constant negativity.
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
Treating loyal staff like criminals. Young and immature management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Admin/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 December 2018
management are disrespectful they don't care about you just themselves as they get a bonus. they treat like slaves over xmas don't care about your health if your ill force you to work
Pros
staff discount
Cons
donr care about you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment To Work At
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dalston, UK3 December 2018
Working at JD will allow you to boost your customer service skills. You meet different types of people from a day to day basis and have fun while working.
Pros
Getting Paid Weekly
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make loads of friends but pay is rubbish
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, UK3 December 2018
This job allows you to make loads of friends if you are a student as the majority of the employees are students between 16 to 22. this is possibly because they are a lot cheaper as minimum wage can be paid. Everything about the job is pretty ok but the pay is poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Sales/Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 December 2018
- Not even worth the pay (under 18s: £4.27)
- didnt even get my 25% discount and i worked for 4 months (meant to get it after 3 months)
- too many hours: management never lowered my hours even though i asked multiple times
- expected of way too much: absolutely spotless store floor at all times as (strip standards: take everything off and redo it all) as well as making sure customers are fine
- basically worked as a security guard: had to stop theft yourself & run after them: if something was taken from your allocated section its your fault
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good, inconvenient, Bad management
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Teesside, North Yorkshire1 December 2018
JD was a bad workplace, the management were always against eachother, you never knew if you were coming or going.
Badly organised rotes, did not know what hours you would be working until very very last minute.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
management, hours, organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about JD Sports Fashion Plc?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful environment to work in
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Liverpool29 November 2018
money is minimum wage and no where near enough for the amount of hard work you have to put in.
managers will not consider you have a life outside of work and only create rotas to suit their own needs and not yours.
the staff hate to give you breaks and therefore try their best not to give them unless you remind them to.
Pros
nice people to work with
Cons
not enough money, no breaks when should have
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management are WOW!
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire29 November 2018
Being spoken to like a piece of rubbish day in day out..
certain members of the manager team thinking they are a lot higher up than they are..
Being kept hours past your shift because they feel like they can do that.
Being scolded because your poorly.

Terrible place to work.

Sales assistants are lovely tho.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Sales Advisor (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham27 November 2018
I personally felt like the manager hated the staff members who worked for him. There was no respect or care for values it was strictly sales, sales, sales. Sales are definitely important and I am a very hard worker, but being made to feel that blatantly the company do not care who you are is not a pleasure to work for them. Pay is bad too considering the hardwork you do.
Cons
Vile management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management but job was okay
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire27 November 2018
I started off this job because I wanted something temporary till I could move to a different career. The job itself wasn’t too bad however it became repetitive. The management was poor and they seemed useless majority of the time. The pay wasn’t great either but it kept me going. I however found the shifts irritating with the late nights full 10. It took over my life and I felt like I lost my social life
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid, but good first job experience
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London25 November 2018
Pros
>Discount
>Some managers see potential and help you to achieve more in your career
>The atmosphere tends to be friendly, you meet a lot of great people there
>Keep up with trends
>Some events were open to staff which was nice


Cons
>Hours are extremely long
>Overtime not paid most of the time
>Pay is not enough for the amount you do
>Some managers treat others less than human (Superiority complex)
>No acknowledgement of hard work
>Favouritism is obvious
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repetitive and long hours
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  london24 November 2018
a typical day at work consists of dealing with customers and ensuring sales targets are met. the most enjoyable part of the job is the people you meet .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford21 November 2018
As a company i feel they expect too much of their employees, and the higher you are within the company the less you actually have to do. Lots of product knowledge to be learnt
Pros
discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in JD
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  london19 November 2018
My role was to operate a cash register for cash, cheque and credit card transactions with 100% accuracy. Put price tags on items, restocked the stockroom when we had deliveries and took inventory of supplies, especially those on sales. Cleaned and organised the shop, including the checkout desk and displays. Alerted customers to upcoming sales events and promotions. Welcomed customers into the shop and helped them locate items that was either in the clothing section or on footwear. I it was a very busy working environment, but I had it all under control with the help from my team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Junior Manager (Current Employee) –  Luton Airport19 November 2018
within 4 months i am training to be a suopervisor, they give young the a chance to devlop within the company. plus they give a 25~% disocunt, mayvbe thyere bumping it to 30.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Delivery Operator and stock organiser (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 November 2018
The pay isn’t amazing but it’s a good place to gain some experience to put on your CV and most of the employees are young so it’s easy to get along with people
Pros
Job roles aren’t too challenging
Cons
Not much progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JD Sports Fashion Plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,523 reviews
5314
4422
3441
2190
1156

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture