J Sainsbury Plc. Employee Reviews

Found 6,591 reviews matching the search See all 6,700 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pfs
Service assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastmayne18 October 2018
Petrol filling station some colleagues are horrible made me feel stupid i left after 3weeks lady who trained me was lovely really helped me understand my job role
Pros
Discount
Cons
Colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont care
Cashier - while (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 October 2018
they don't care how long you work they slave you out and make you work ALL the time while only giving you 20 minute break for a 8 hour shift, bosses were horrible as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Apsley, Hertfordshire15 October 2018
job can vary day to day, you can plan ahead with good communication but problems do arise often which can change your plans slightly, good work place culture with a friendly atmosphere.
Pros
Great team work and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
miserable and unhappy
Customer Service Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Richmond upon Thames, Greater London15 October 2018
Store management wasn't the best and sometimes made decisions that didn't help colleague or customers. extremely stressful as you had no support. the shifts always varied and changed and sometimes you had no notice at all extremely difficult to plan your life around the company.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, schedules not done in advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and easy going
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnersh15 October 2018
I was a customer assistant so in basic terms a shelf stacker and it was easy to get a hang of and the pay is great considering how easy the job actually is.
Pros
good pay, working between managment and employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you would Expect
Night Shift Employee (Current Employee) –  Romford15 October 2018
You are rewarded adequately for the time and work you put in the company, but after working for 5+ years, the any job in this company can start to feel unfulfilling.
Pros
A safe and steady income
Cons
Boring and unfulfilling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norwich City Centre, Norfolk14 October 2018
Great team, lovely people, enjoy the fast pace, plenty to do, not enough time in the day to do it!

stress is possible, its just how you deal with it.


great place to, start 1st employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work
Sales Assistant (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire14 October 2018
My job was relatively simple, unloading deliveries of clothing, unpacking then distributing these throughout the clothing department outside of opening hours.
Pros
Competitive wage
Cons
Poor working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay, fantastic team and great atmosphere.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear14 October 2018
During my time working for Sainsburys, I truly learned to love my job and the team I was part of. Granted, some work takes some effort to master but the team are very patient and will balance the customer experience with that of the staff, ensuring all members are happy and confident whilst customers can have a smooth and effective service.
Recommend anyone who likes retail work try working with these guys, they're awesome ^.^
Pros
Great pay, supportive team.
Cons
Certain roles can be tough at first to master, but the team will support you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to have
Customer Service Adviser (Former Employee) –  Falmouth14 October 2018
Really flourished in Sainsburys and wasn't to difficult to get to grips with ,long hours though and can be a bit repetitivee at times but great if you just want a job that you can go home and not worry about
Pros
good pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about J Sainsbury Plc.?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun workplace filled with great management and staff
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlow, Essex12 October 2018
I really enjoyed working at sainsburys, it was a fun and productive environment. Most time I would be restocking the shelves or I would be helping customers find their shopping. The management were really fun to work with and they made my short time there enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financially focused
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Barnstaple, Devon12 October 2018
Currently have become highly financially focused business driving a be their anytime for the customer program with a clear focus on being future fit and ready for the ever changing market
Pros
Freedom to be you as a leader
Cons
Forgotten about the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanwell11 October 2018
Good communication between the store manager, shift manager and the colleagues
Any issues that came up were solved there and then so no further problems occurred
Pros
Paid lunch hours, colleagues discount card
Cons
Long hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environement, multiple jobs learned
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent11 October 2018
Worked in a lot of areas in this store, managed to take away great knowledge and skills from here, worked on tills and kiosk and online shopping and stock refilling, also did some supervisor/runner rolls
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Shelf Filler (Former Employee) –  Morecambe, Lancashire11 October 2018
I learnt to stack frozen food and also shelves at work experience and me and one of staff member made a team name called Team A for fun and we flat some cardboard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Job
Shop (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire11 October 2018
Did the job for nearly two years, and really enjoyed at the start and enjoyed the working environment. After a year of working part time their and witnessing all the changes that Sainsbury's were making my opinion changed greatly. The managers treated you like you were below them and wouldn't even acknowledge us, unless they wanted something, even then they seemed to have lost any kind of manners of saying please of thank you. The working environment was then just very negative because of this, and many people left at the same time as myself. Although the money was good, I went home from most shifts in the end feeling angry at the way I had been treated and just very negative towards the end.
Pros
Good Money
Cons
Management and Working Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soul destroying
Online shopper (Former Employee) –  Essex10 October 2018
Going round picking people’s shopping but the manager is always on you to improve your pick rate. Don’t even have time to go to the toilet. No appreciation at all. No thanks
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Clapham North Station10 October 2018
I do enjoy working with the team at my store. We are one big happy family. We share a good times and sad times together, supporting one another. It's good that we work well under pressure when it comes around.
Pros
Extra Staff Benefits
Cons
Not enough flexibility with hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if i know then what i know now i would have never worked there sorry
Store Operative (Current Employee) –  Arnold10 October 2018
sainsbury are an ok place to start work if you've just left school and looking for a job for the first time!. i have worked at sainsbury's for nearly four years and i have gone from night's to day's and i'm still on a rubbish wage! and my hour's are all over the place
Pros
there are no pro's
Cons
they like to rule your life and the pay is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
worker (Current Employee) –  Dawlish, Devon10 October 2018
Typical day can be stressful depending on the situation but it's one you must embrace.

Not the hardest job in the world, or the most glamorous but it can be rewarding if done well.

Relaxed work environment with achievable targets and goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J Sainsbury Plc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 6,701 reviews
51.9K
42.4K
31.6K
2414
1357

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture