J D Wetherspoon PLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work difficult to manage
Kitchen Associate (Current Employee) –  Cardiff17 March 2018
mostly joyful environment with little time for training new staff inside a busy establishment , most new employed are ranged from college and university student so only available part time making difficult to manage there training.
Pros
50% off food and non alcohol drinks
Cons
depending on service working hours range 8 - 12+
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team based work
BAR ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Gatwick Airport, West Sussex15 March 2018
Important to have people skills and patients
Hours can be tough in an airport
Pay is good and opportunities to better yourself are numerous
Busy workplace so it is important to stay focused
Pros
Discounts on food are huge
Cons
Airport security is a pain and a pass takes a few weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable place to work.
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne14 March 2018
The particular spoons that I worked for was terrible. Incredibly stressful, strained and frankly dangerous. Unsupportive management and a high employee turnover.
Pros
discounted food though still more expensive than any deli.
Cons
dangerous and strained work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Environment
Floor Associate (Current Employee) –  Hertford10 March 2018
Staff and managers are understanding and will help you to learn and perform all the roles when starting the job. However, not a lot of further help is provided
Pros
Good shift times
Cons
Booking shifts on days that have been said as unavailable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Abergavenny, Blaenau Gwent4 March 2018
good place to work. lots of friendly staff. good to see you hard work pay off when you see how clean the pub is. management are good. pay is good. hours could be longer.
Pros
good pay
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Harrow3 March 2018
Good place to gain experience. Allows good progression if good at the role. Good benefits including shares and free mood also discounts for all staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un ambiente bueno entre trabajadores.
ayudante de cocina (Former Employee) –  Ilford, Londres1 March 2018
Muy buen ambiente.
Aprendes muchas cosas y es facil trabajar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally good, fun team butolder staff a bit 'stuffy'
Kitchen Team Member (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow28 February 2018
Enjoyed the job and met some really nice folk. Minimum contract was 8 hours - I was working crazy 30+ some weeks, with every weekend working. Worked New Year Eve and Day. Worked on the late shift, supposedly finishing at 11 or 12. Most of the time I'd get home just before 3am. Am full time student who cannot afford to work so many hours and so many crazy closing shifts. Management need to recognise this in their part time staff, and try to be more accomodating.
Pros
Pretty nice team, ok food, decent pay
Cons
extra long shifts, too many late shifts, work/life balance is non existent
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere in the workplace
kitchen associate (Former Employee) –  Abergavenny, Blaenau Gwent26 February 2018
I enjoyed working in the kitchen at Wetherspoons, no matter if the day was busy or quiet the kitchen team on the whole were a great group of people and we all got along well and did our jobs to the best of our abilities. I learned many useful skills such unpacking deliveries, doing defrost, prepping food and more. The management was decent if not perfect, sometimes communication was not used when it should've been, sometimes people laid responsibilities onto others, but on the whole it was kept to a decent standard. The hardest part of the job was probably getting up for the early mornings, or when it was a busy night and you came into a messy kitchen with no prep done for you. The most enjoyable part for me was working and interacting with my fellow employee's who were all lovely people.
Pros
Break's are always tried to be given, easy to work your way up, great team, good in-company incentives
Cons
Some people relying on others, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too bad
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lichfield, Staffordshire26 February 2018
management was alright, shifts were ok but the hours were ridiculous, and where i worked in the kitchen you never got a break. was a laugh with other staff members
Pros
good people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every Day is Different
Bar Associate (Current Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire25 February 2018
Overall it is a fun place to work, you meet new people every day at the bar, you get to know your regulars and its a good atmosphere. People go in pubs to enjoy themselves and thats what i like to provide for them a good atmosphere where the beers cold and the food it hot.
Pros
Staff Discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London19 February 2018
A typical day at work is very fast paced and fun. I have learnt a lot from JD Wetherspoon and they have taught me many of my management skills and customer skills communication skills. The management are good and they listen to your needs. They also offer good management course of which I have been on most of them. The hardest art of the job is dealing with drunk and aggressive customers on occasions. The most enjoyable part of the job is the friendship groups you make, they get you through the day.
Pros
Free Food when working and Monthly bonus if your pub is doing well
Cons
Long and Late Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Ramsgate, Kent19 February 2018
Nice and friendly place to work with good overall atmosphere. Started part time and liked working here so moved on to a full position with the help of the management staff.
Pros
Staff discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unenjoyable
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester14 February 2018
Enjoyed my job due to the amount of time I spent in the kitchen, as it was a small establishment, I was alone most of the time, however some people who I worked with were awkward and made the job less enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt advise
Bar/Waiting Staff (Former Employee) –  Stalybridge, Greater Manchester14 February 2018
Management teams have absolutr lack of communication and all work against eachother. The hours will not work around you, i gave my availability and was always given hours on days i was not available. Was promised training which was never given, was not given contracted hours and was overall a poor place to work. Most of the staff complained about working conditions and it showed with several members of staff leaving all in a small period of time. The staff were great in sticking together and supported eachother in ways that you would expect the managers to do.
Pros
Good team
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louth13 February 2018
Difficult company to work for. Will not work for this company again. Staff rude and motivation low. Hygiene and training seem non existent. Not helpful nor understanding.
Pros
None
Cons
Plenty
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun But At Some Cost
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Neath, Neath Port Talbot12 February 2018
A great place to begin your employment story. You will build friendships and really get the sense that you working together as a team. The drinks you will share with your fellow staff members after a busy shift will be treasured. With that being said, be prepared to miss most of the great times out. Christmas, Boxing Days, Bank Holidays, Halloween, Big sporting events, you'll understandingly be working them all.
Pros
Great work atmosphere.
Cons
Very unsociable hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training, fast progression potential. Low wage and unsociable hours
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire12 February 2018
Fun place to work, great for meeting people. Excellent training and career progression potential and very flexable, however unsociable hours and pay could be better given the workload and requirements of the job.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good 7 years.
Shift/kitchen manager (Former Employee) –  Devon12 February 2018
Lots of experience gained from JDW in management, training, stock and cash control, customer service and business analysis.

Pub team was awesome. Hard working, happy staff.

CQSMA scheme flawed with poor calls from head office and senior management. Targets can be unfair and unattainable.

Generally had a very positive experience but had to leave due to poor area management and unable to create a work life balance to suit me and the business.
Pros
Lots of employee benefits. Good progression opportunities. Good training programmes
Cons
Lots of stress. Unrealistic targets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the staff are hep and understand
Bar staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrogate9 February 2018
it good place to work with and have a good laugh the staff are ready help and work at a team together it vey hard job to work with sometime and not all time
Pros
it very hard work job
Cons
i do not like doing some body job on top my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J D Wetherspoon PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 1,630 reviews
5312
4459
3437
2166
1256

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture