J D Wetherspoon PLC Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive pay yet not worth it
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Keswick, Cumbria9 January 2018
They attempted on several occasions to work me illegally, not give me a break during a 10/11 hour shift and call me in for ridiculous hours. Though it's under new management now the management at the time was not good. I would often get sent several edited rotas because we were badly, badly understaffed meaning I worked multiple shifts as long as 16 hours. The staff turnover is ridiculous and I never received any kind of formal training, despite being left as the only person in my role very often towards the end of my time working there. Good for competitive pay, but prepare to do three people's jobs at once.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
Bad hours, understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Welling, Greater London4 January 2018
I think Weatherspoons provided a perfectly friendly and united work environment and that suited my personality very well. I think the benefits and flexibility of the stores really suited me.
Also I was looking for a pace faster than the pace of clothing retail.
Pros
flexibility, hours, location, progression within the company
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much help
Front house staff (Current Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire3 January 2018
It was my first job as I am 16 years old and could only do front house staff. The pay wasn’t more than minimum wage for my age which isn’t a bones but only ever get 4 hours at a time. They also need more staff for front house as I am always asked to come in and left to struggle on my own drinking food out and cleaning it all when I am busy and the manger would just stand there watching me.
Pros
Good pay for my age.
Cons
Need more staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Kitchen Associate (Current Employee) –  Derby3 January 2018
It is a very good place to work, there are excellent benefits, bonuses, discounts they have a provide a good salary after completing training it rises up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An OK job to tide you over
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire29 December 2017
An alright job to have through Uni, when you needed the pay and weren't too bothered with having to work all hours of the day.

After that, the hours aren't enough to sustain you and are usually at night so unless you live nearby was tricky to get places.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor hours
Bar associate (Former Employee) –  South Yorkshire28 December 2017
As expected with bar work you'll be working odd hours. but forget having a social life you'd be lucky if you got 1 weekend day off every 6 months. Managers are very favoritest.
Pros
good discounts
Cons
poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I've worked for
Maintenance Administrator (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire18 December 2017
The property maintenance head office culture was fantastic. This is a company that is willing to adapt in order to ensure the pubs were fully supported in maintenance and repair.
A real chance to show your skills and learn new talents in the office world.
Pros
benifits, young(ish) fun office culture
Cons
as it is everywhere, you can work twice as hard and well as some colleagues, but yet get paid the same - some coasters within the teams, but overall alot of passion for the roles
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse compnay
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire7 December 2017
the worse company i have ever worked for. treated like rubbish by managers long hours never finish shifts on time expect you to work at their demand regardless if you are a single parent then expect to have hours reduced if you are needed at home
Cons
long hours min wage undervalued
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disgusting
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Arbroath, Angus5 December 2017
Honestly please dont even consider it.

The managers treat you like junk, people phone in sick all the time and nothing gets done about it. short staffed all the time.
managers rarely leave the office and come help when its busy.

no tips are allowed!

hourly wage is shocking!
Pros
cheap food on shift
Cons
being shouted at by scambag drunks who want cheap booze
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make your own
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, North Yorkshire28 November 2017
Difficult to really write something.
Guess what i am getting at is, you really have to give it a go before writing down if it is good or bad.

Im my case - bad.

Long hours
Exploited (good will taken advantage of)
Abusive boss
Rate of pay a lot less than shift manager - yet the responsibilites are EXACTLY the same.

Good bits
Discounted food
Occasiinal rewards for hitting targets
Charity fundraising
Some regulars only came in because "of you" which was kind of nice i guess.
Decent pension scheme
Progression oportunities always available
Pros
Listed in description
Cons
Listed in description
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware!
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire28 November 2017
Beware! You will be turfed out if you have any other commitments other than this job.

As expected the hours are unsociable and will likely change week to week.

You are expendable to management and pubs van be very cliquey.

The only plus is that should your pub be hitting its targets you end up getting pretty much a free weeks wage as a bonus.
Pros
Potential big bonuses
Cons
Unsociable hours, Managerment don't care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheap food and drink at what cost
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ilkeston, Derbyshire22 November 2017
I started as kitchen supervisor worked my way up to bar manager but 60 hours a week for 18000 is not what u want in a career staff turn over was always a issue as min wage who wants to stay for that and there asked to do a heck of a job for such pay however staff progression is good to better roles and u got discount on food and a good uniform
Pros
discount food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Bar team leader (Former Employee) –  Durham City Centre, Durham17 November 2017
Great staff with easy to get to location. Great company benefits and an amazing team of staff. 50% off food on shift and 33% off food and drink at all JD Wetherspoon venues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sociable place to work
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire16 November 2017
Sociable place to work but long and unsociable hours to go with it.
Could do with rotas being changed around to suit everyone because they only suit managers and most of the time understaffed on busy days, plenty of staff on slow days.
Pros
Nice food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  North Cheam and South Croydon13 November 2017
In my time at JD Wetherspoons I had a great time, good staff, seem decent management and the culture is drummed in to you fro day one so it remains in the mind.
Pros
discounted lunches
Cons
long hours for managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, fast busy pace environment
shift leader (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire5 November 2017
8hr+ shift weekends longer hours, busy, learned a lot through the 7 years. never felt like a typical job. management team was brill! always having a laugh
Pros
free lunches, rota was fair throughout the whole team.
Cons
long unsociable hours for low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad.
Waitress/Barmaid (Former Employee) –  Norwich27 October 2017
Not a bad place, good pay and opportunities if you want them. One of the benefits is 50% discounted food whilst on shift and 20% off shift. With it being such a large company there is always a chance to transfer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not flexible long hours
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Cambuslang, South Lanarkshire25 October 2017
the company are not the best to work for if you are a student as they are not flexible with your availability. the hours are long and some shifts dont end until half 1 in the morning
Pros
discounts in all wetherspoons pubs
Cons
not flexable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy pub
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Central birmingham24 October 2017
I enjoyed my job but found i had to work long hours to get a decent amount of money and had to work until 12 am
The management team were heĺpful in the beginning but there was a high turnover of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7 years.
BAR TEAM LEADER (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire18 October 2017
Overall a good company to work for, obviously being such a big company there are good and bad within but I've enjoyed working and progressing within the company.
Pros
50% off food while on shift, 20% off food and drink when not.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J D Wetherspoon PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,476 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1