J D Wetherspoon PLC Employee Reviews in Manchester

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 1,759 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working environment
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Manchester12 June 2018
i thoroughly enjoyed my time here. During my time i was able to gain various skills, develop my ability to work in a team and under time constraints, as well as independent work.
Pros
positive working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a short time
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester12 April 2018
Okay job if you need the money but wouldn't apply if you wanted a career in hospitality. Pay doesn't match the amount of work that you do. Strongly recommend you don't apply.. i lasted 3 months before i quit because it was driving me insane
Pros
50% off food
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Kitchen Manager, Sedge Lynn (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester29 March 2018
Good place to learn and grow.

Each pub is managed individually so standards can vary, but they are all overseen by area managers and other head office staff, which keeps standards consistent.

If you're looking to get a job in the food and drink industry, there is no better place to work up and gain experience. The training is excellent and the opportunities to progress are there.

It's hard work and the pay isn't great but it's better than most pub jobs. Good benefits package with discounts and free shares after a while working there.

Work/life balance is poor, but it is an area they are working on improving. The culture is to work staff incredibly hard and some people might be burned out by it.
Pros
Discounts, career development
Cons
hard work & poor work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unenjoyable
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester14 February 2018
Enjoyed my job due to the amount of time I spent in the kitchen, as it was a small establishment, I was alone most of the time, however some people who I worked with were awkward and made the job less enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester16 January 2018
Good place to work, like any job has it good and bad side. Good career progression within the company if you want to move into management and would like a challenge.
Pros
20% off drinks
Cons
No uniform provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent on the surface but ran on too tight a budget.
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester8 January 2018
most days involve you being understaffed. after many years working for Wetherspoons every different pub is the same in this regards.
Its a fun place to work but can be very stressful trying to do your job under such tight restraints on time.
If its busy managers need to be front of house. if its quiet you are required to send staff home meaning you have to be front of house. yet the paper work and workload Wetherspoons give you involves plenty of time back of house.
Theres great perks to the job, achievable bonuses and free shares which help.
The work life balance has got a lot better over the years but finishing work sometimes at 3am-6am can be tiring especially with young children at home.
if you desire a career in management then Wetherspoons is a great choice until you decide what you really want to do as a career as there is plenty of progression opportunites but they will work you for it!
Pros
free food, good bonuses, free shares, 20% off food and drink when off shift
Cons
weekend work, stressful, understaffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace fast paced
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Manchester3 January 2018
fast paced different tasks from serving food to serving hot and cold beverages. meeting pub targets on food and alcohol maintaining health and safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workpalce
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Manchester29 August 2017
Very busy environment but the other members of the team help you get through the day with a smile on your face. Only bad thing I would say are the holidays, very hard to get time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Bar Associate/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester17 August 2017
The staff are what makes coming to work worth it. You have to do quite a bit for only a little amount of money. the people you work with and the management are great. but the company isn't
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance - Poor quality
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Manchester17 July 2017
The management is very very poor, and treat staff very badly. The stock is not looked after, the food is not fresh, the company is abismal. I would never consider working for Wetherspoon again
Pros
None
Cons
Unsociable hours for no extra pay, very basic wage and benefits, poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay, depending
Kitchen Associate (Former Employee) –  South Manchester27 June 2017
Working part-time offered me flexibility to study effectively; pay isn't ideal but it keeps you afloat if you put in the work. Management were usually pretty good and the workplace friendships were great too.
Pros
Discounted food and drink
Cons
Long hours for closes
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work short term
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester23 June 2017
As it was so busy it is a hard job to do long term, but the staff were all very social and the training program was good as it was online and informative. The pay was okay, with the chance to progress was training was complete
Pros
well paid and social
Cons
long shifts and very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester2 June 2017
Good work opportunity where skills essential for the workplace can be learnt, honed and put into practise. A fun atmosphere with good benefits and charming individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace, difficult management
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Manchester26 May 2017
Whilst working there I looked forward to every shift until problems with my mental health had become an issue whilst working there. Management are not trained on how to support workers with such a problem and thus prompted me to leave. I am also owed two months worth of tips still.
Pros
Fun atmosphere, discounts on the food.
Cons
Mental wellbeing is a struggle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get out what you put in.
Pub manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 May 2017
Very hard work, but committed and driven employees are well rewarded through training and progression! Good fun environment, however very targets and results driven at the top can prove demanding and often goes uacknowledged
Pros
Internal progression
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training
Shift leader (Current Employee) –  Manchester and todmorden28 April 2017
Good company great training and bonuses long hours sometimes unrewarding each pub varies but a reasonable company to start out a career with but would recommend moving around to gain more knowledge
Pros
Free meals/50% discount free shares
Cons
Long shift, sometimes no break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible and Unfriendly
Bar Associate (Former Employee) –  Manchester8 August 2016
I did not enjoyed working in this establishment. The management, long hours, and salary were miserable.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything you can imagine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable team
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Manchester20 April 2016
The team within which you work plays a large role in job satisfaction in this company, the right team makes for a nice shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed management, fast paced environment
Bar Maid/ Waitress (Former Employee) –  Manchester11 April 2016
The management where very relaxed. I did not always receive enough hours but there was plenty of other shifts that could be covered although often last minute.
Pros
half price meals on shift
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wages but hours not suitable for a student.
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Manchester City Centre1 February 2016
I would highly recommend Wetherspoons as a job for someone who has the time to dedicate solely to work. As a university student i found it very difficult to manage the busy work hours with my studies.
Pros
Good wage, plenty of benefits and loyalties.
Cons
Long, hard shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J D Wetherspoon PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 1,761 reviews
5331
4500
3473
2179
1278

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture