Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly community
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bank23 February 2018
Good environment with friendly staff. HR could do with hiring some more efficient and polite staff. Very rude and spoke down at me whenever I went to speak with them. Took 3 months for them to process everything and for me to sign the contract.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Rude HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work
Healthcare Assistant/Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Ipswich11 January 2018
I enjoyed working at the hospital.
Training was of the essence as I hadn’t done this work before.
Patient care and comradeship was top of my list. I did get a lot of experience whilst I was there.
Pros
Trainig
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work.
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich27 November 2017
Being on Capel Ward was the best place for me to work. The patients that come on to Capel range from and infected ear ring piercing to terminally ill patients with cancer. Every day was different 2 days were never the same. The nurses and senior members of staff were extremely helpful and offered 2rhr support.
Pros
4 days off a week
Cons
12 hours could be tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Past employee Suffolk community healthcare
Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ipswich19 October 2017
Management clock and have favourites.
Team leads are picked because part of the click.
Supervisors are picked if they have been there longest.
Bullies.
Atmosphere suffocating.
Awful place to work now. People just leave go travelling then just walk back in. No interview.
So those people who have applied get overlooked.
Shifts are picked by the favourites.
Spoke about behind your back.
The manager is very two faced.
Employs females.
Wages are very poor for what you do.
Pros
No pros
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
HCA (Former Employee) –  Wards28 May 2017
I worked here for a year as a HCA on the bank. I loved every minute of it, however sometimes I was messed around. I like the variety that being on the bank allowed me as well as the flexibility with hours. After obtaining the job I was constantly chasing them to find out about updates and start dates and after chasing them up for about 2 months, they finally told me that they had apparently tried to contact me on 3 occasions and I had never got back to them after they had left voicemails and this being said they had terminated my contract that I never got to sign. I never got any voicemails or emails or calls for that matter so I was lied to for 2 months. After going in to ask for evidence that they had tried to contact me they gave me my job back and I started 2 weeks later.
Pros
Many benefits and flexible hours
Cons
HR were not reliable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Voluntary Worker (Current Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk29 April 2017
Great it is a lovely friendly and professional enviroment.
I was happy working here. It was thoroughly clean and a great place to work and gain experience
Pros
Car park
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Senior Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk18 January 2017
The job is very demanding, busy all day, typing, filing, answering telephone calls, liaising with staff, relatives, patients, GPs and other community workers.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Ipswich25 November 2016
3 Long day per week
15 or 12 patient to take care
2 RN and 1/2 HCA per shift
Acute ward with a lot emergency.
Excellent workplace to learn and grow professionally
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and caring staff
Operational Co-ordinator - Emergency Care (Current Employee) –  Ipswich14 November 2016
Good teamworking and peer support during difficult times make role enjoyable. Learned much about patient care and juggling responsibilities. Hardest part of the role is working with financial constraints.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Long hours and working within financial constraints
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Medical Secretary - Ophthalmology (Current Employee) –  letters, UK27 March 2016
management do not manage staff properly in all departments. A day at work is always varied and hectic and busy. I hate having to contact people cancelling their appointments or surgery. I love helping people in my work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but enjoyable
Assistant Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Ipswich5 February 2016
This hospital can be a great place to work, the shifts are long and there is not much room to maneuver your days. |||Shift work can be a tie....
Pros
A great group of people to work with
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in various NHS departments with admin related roles.
Admin and Clerical Staff (Former Employee) –  Ipswich3 January 2016
I worked in various admin and clerical roles within many different Ipswich NHS Hospital Trust departments and teams. I worked Full-time for 14 months and then on a Full-time basis whilst on vacation periods from University.
Pros
Working with some excellent, hard working people.
Cons
Poor Management, cuts putting extra pressure on departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy acute hospital
Clinical Nurse Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ipswich, ENG29 April 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing patients throughout their whole pre, peri and post operative journey.
It is extremely difficult managing to see all patients in a 7.5 hour day.
My co-workers are great and we all realise that we are there for one reason only, to make the patient's journey a happy and comfortable one.
Pros
Seeing happy patients
Cons
Trying to fit everything into a 7.5 hour day
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational and wide scope of learning experiences
HEALTH CARE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, ENG7 July 2014
Working in Health care setting esp in NHS is very helpful for carers as you get to learn by training and exposure to different wards.I learned by working with professionals esp in Rehabilitation as i am familiar with Physiotherapy setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly,multi cultural environment
Electro-Medical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Ipswich,England,UK19 May 2014
•A typical day at work
Once I start my work,I go through the e-mail.Then,I call the manufacturers and suppliers of the spare parts to find out the progress of the remaining orders.Then,I start repairing,servicing,annual maintenance of medical equipments.
•What you learned
I have gained lots of experience working on various medical equipments available in the hospital.
.•Management
Easily approachable.
•Your co-workers
Friendly,helpful,multi cultural team
•The hardest part of the job
Awaiting for the orders
•The most enjoyable part of the job
Finding the technical soultion for any equipment I repair.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Less chances to develop
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning place
Healthcare Assistant (Current Employee) –  Shotley stroke unit11 May 2013
I have learned so much as a health care assistant and still am learning. especially working on a stroke ward. it is very interesting. Ideal place to begin nurse training. It is very hard work, a lot of manual handling is required and can be stressful but also very rewarding.
Pros
7 weeks of holidays
Cons
longs days..
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 8Report

See more Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 19 reviews
54
46
37
21
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust Reviews by Location