Ipswich Borough Council Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Self Employed Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk30 September 2019
I was a self-employed taxi driver for the council but this was a great company to work for. I enjoyed my time there very much and would recommend them as an employer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for young people
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk20 May 2019
Ipswich borough gave me a great opportunity to make good steady money at a young age whilst providing the necessary training. Great place to start work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working hours
Development and Enabling Officer (Former Employee) –  Ipswich14 April 2019
Ideal environment for working parents with young children that are especially parent friendly even with part time job. The hours can be from 6.00am until 9.00pm
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Sweeper Driver (Former Employee) –  Ipswich10 April 2019
Decent place to work . Some people get on some do not you get that everywhere thou. Could be a bit better in telling employees what to do always felt like i didn't know what i was doing a fair bit of the time but just got on with. Pity my efforts were not enough to keep my job. Still these things happen life goes on. Cheers to everyone for making it great while i was there
Pros
Good ppe
Cons
Equipment often breaking down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt new skills
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Ipswich5 February 2019
Learned new skills and enjoyed meeting new staff however work was boarding and was uninteresting. Hours were flexible and staff were nice however there was little Mangement and lots of bureaucracy which wasted time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be far more organised
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk17 December 2018
No induction provided
No sick pay paid
Pay role not made clear

I enjoyed working with the team but little training was provided and health and safety basics were not implemented or managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Recreational Assistant (Current Employee) –  its12 November 2018
love this job, teaches me everyday skills, learn how to communicate with new people everyday, staff are friendly would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a job.
Pros
learn new skills
Cons
can be repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Ipswich Town26 July 2018
Will return to work as a PQS at this place if there are any job opportunities. Good management between the commercial and site teams. Very organised and good working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative place to work
Head of Commercial Team, Environmental Health (Former Employee) –  Ipswich21 May 2018
First step on the management ladder, given plenty of responsibility and resources to devise better way of doing things. A great team willing to work together.
Pros
Encouraged to get on with it
Cons
Insufficient staff numbers to do what's needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Culture
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk2 May 2018
Typical day would be to manage a team of Team Leader to achieve and monitor targets.

i most enjoyed team/ team leader/ management meetings.

Enjoyed the job, but constant changing goals and target due to reducing budgets and changing regulations.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Reducing budgets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old-school local authority
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich24 April 2018
A busy working environment but with a poor work ethic and people who were not that concerned for the rate payers of the town and focused mainly upon their own interests and advancement. Was glad to get away
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Suffolk14 November 2017
This was a government job, so the scene was very serious, nevertheless I learnt the basic office skills a required for my career path.

I learnt to fax photocopy and file, they even showed me how to type, they also gave me a free computer to practice on.

I studied an modern apprenticeship in business and administration, the experience was very educational.

We used to deal with building and planning control we served the public well those who wanted to build on a property.
Pros
Free education
Cons
Being an apprentice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is hard but good, management is just no good
Multi Skilled Refuse Driver (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk28 October 2017
Hard days work but rewarding keeping you fit. Management is just out of school and struggling! The hardest part of the job is the physical demands on the body, the most enjoyable being able to go home on a task and finish basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive well organised company
Refuse Driver (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk11 July 2017
good company to work for very organised good rate of pay looks after employees well provided good ppe and clothing for the jobs needed to be carried out
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abysmal senior management!
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Grafton House26 May 2017
Constant reviews of services create poor job security and low morale. Pointless meetings almost everyday, many simply to tick boxes to say you have had the meeting. Didn't come across any managers at my level who have a shred of confidence in the council's senor management.
Seems to be an unwritten policy to get rid of long serving staff, so if you are looking for job security and good senior management, don't apply here!
That said, the actual staff are great, the work/life balance is good, and generally the pay is quite good.Best to work at the outstations rather than Grafton House to avoid constant interference from senior management.
Pros
Flexible working, friendly staff
Cons
Management is exceptionally bad, especially at the top!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical local government
Technical Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk20 March 2017
Working at Ipswich Borough Council tended to be monotonous, mundane, and didn't seem to give much of a career progression path, however that may have been because my role was a new one yet to be fully defined.
Local government jobs seem very inhibited by "red tape" and almost everything required sign-off from one person or another. This tended to be the hardest part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Year 10 work experience
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Ipswich9 February 2017
a typical day was going to different site around Ipswich and completing tasks like watering town hall flowers and trimming hedges. I learned about life in a work place for the first time, which was hard work and tea breaks. management was kind and friendly towards me and gave me a tour around charity park. the culture of the workplace is mixed in my opinion as others were either happy or bored of there jobs. the hardest part of the job was the hedge trimming as I had to cut endless hedges throughout my time there. the best part of the job was that they took me to a last day breakfast at Sainsbury's.
Pros
friendly colleuges
Cons
having to help cut endless hedges
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place and people to work for
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  ipswich24 March 2016
I worked here for around a year I enjoyed my time there an took a lot away from it I would work for them again without a doubt.
Pros
1 lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and well paid work.
Leisure Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich26 November 2015
The work here consisted of a mixture of tasks, from setting out equipment to running events for school children.

Work required a large amount of customer service and an ability to build rapport with a large range of people. I still have the opportunity to return to work here in the holidays.
Pros
Friendly colleagues
Cons
Limited scope for personal and professional development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard word
Refuse Driver (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, ENG19 October 2015
loading and unloading lorry,great job with great workers,hardest part of the job was getting in and out of lorry,managent was ok
Pros
job and knock
Cons
very hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ipswich Borough Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 30 reviews
59
412
37
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

Ipswich Borough Council Reviews by Location