Interserve Employee Reviews for Cleaner

Found 204 reviews matching the search See all 515 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and a very good company to work for
Cleaning manager (Current Employee) –  King's Lynn, Norfolk17 September 2018
A very professional company to work for . I have worked with interserve for nearly two years and have developed into a confident cleaning manager .If you work hard then the only way is up if you can wait for positions to become available .
Cons
Repetitive working day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall review
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Warrington14 September 2018
working at interserve has given me a new opening to achieving goals i or the company set, it also gave me better people skills and communication skills as i was interacting with customers on a daily basis, had no issues with the other work colleges,
Pros
friendly staff and colleges
Cons
hours were too early for me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible unscrupulous company
Cleaner full time (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire12 September 2018
Must be the worse place i worked for, i was there for just over a year my team were great we all grafted to get the job done plus any extras we could fit in but tools to do the job were always broken and most the time unsafe to use but yet managment still wanted us to use it. other staff members who were lazy but kissed up to managment are the ones that had it the best but the real workers who cared about the job got the short end of the stick. It all comes down to bad/bully/clueless managment. Avoid Avoid Avoid
Pros
Certain nice members of staff
Cons
no ppe. ask to do jobs we weren't meant to do. broken tools.unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not work for this company agian
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex10 September 2018
I worked for this company and was told to do more hours and then when I was paid only got 18 for 9 hours work have tried a number of times to sort this out to be told that it would be paid next month so infact you have to work a month in hand was not told this at interview and if I was would not have taken the job all iam saying is be very careful with this company as I think they see that they can take adventage and do
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just awlful
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Barnstaple, Devon7 September 2018
Worked for them for 12 months ,wages were always wrong ,no leadership what so ever, avoid at all costs.the client was fine to work for that was about it
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working alone not for e everyone
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Desborough, Northamptonshire28 August 2018
Normal cleaning company you are left to do job no training. If you do job you are left to carry on. You will very rarely meet area manager and you will never meet bosses
Pros
none
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are great BUT there's a clear lack of incentive
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne22 August 2018
I like my collogues. I like my manager. I like the store I'm contracted to.
However, we regularly get bombarded with leaflets on how Interserve would like to reward our hard work, or how they dish out opportunities to "further your career" etc etc. In my experience, it's just meaningless paperwork... I wouldn't mind, but they require you sign it and leave them "feedback"... rate your own performance and stuff. Personally, I take a lot of pride in what I do and when I leave, I know I'll be missed. Oh, and another thing, they'll give you the t-shirts and jumpers to wear but want you to buy your own trousers and shoes too. I wouldn't mind, but they have to be black. I didn't own any black trousers or jeans, so I just wear blue jeans for work. My manager will regularly bring this up when she pops into the store... that passive aggressive half-joking thing. The bother is, if they care so much they should really provide everyone with the full kit. That way, you don't get one wearing black jeans, one wearing black trousers and the other wearing grey trainers. Would look much smarter if everyone had matching uniforms. My manager has mentioned me wearing blue jeans to the store manager on a couple of occasions and he's literally turned round and said "I honestly don't care".
Pros
People are sound
Cons
Leaflets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Birmingham22 August 2018
Working here has been humbling. It has taught me the importance of having attention-to-detail. Cleaning is hard work and a serious job that not a lot of people would like to do, but someone has to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersevre
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow16 August 2018
I wouldn't say it was the best company to work for wages are never right and management don't no what there doing and also wages are not good and its change over company
Pros
wages never right
Cons
shop i clean
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s ok place to work
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Kendal13 August 2018
Things have been rocky at Interserve with having so many different cleaners none of what have been good enough at last we have another cleaner that’s very good shame she’s off on the sick at the moment be glad when she comes back .and been through bosses at Interserve like I don’t no what very hard work to get hold of someone other than that you are left alone to get on with the job , which is good as all the work gets Done
Cons
Bad with orders
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just abit out the way
CLEANER (Former Employee) –  Ocean Terminal28 June 2018
Not the worse place I have ever worked there are enough things to do on shift that you are not to busy all the time and that you are never really sitting around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues were great, payroll were useless
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Cornwall16 June 2018
I worked for interserve cleaning a school for just under a year, I enjoyed working with my colleagues, however most months they would get loads of our tax codes wrong no matter how many times they were informed of the right one, the pay was great for me as a young student as they pay the national living wage to everyone rather than the minimum wage for your age group, however there were no incentives and overtime often got missed off, at Christmas they offered the caretakers at the school we cleaned a Christmas party however didn’t organise and pay for one for the cleaners who often worked with the caretakers anyway which was a shame so had to organise our own, there were also a few incidents with a manager being inappropriate however nothing was done, luckily he left on his own accord a few months later. For me the hours fitted in well with college and was good pay for someone of my age however they look at staff as replaceable and just numbers rather than assets to their business which caused high labour turnover.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Management and payroll
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Hastings16 June 2018
I was lied to about what my hours would be prior to signing a contract. I also didn't even sign a contract until my fourth shift which is when I realised they had lied to me. Awful communication, underpaid several times and generally just a very unprofessional environment.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Bad communication, underpaid, lied to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Technical Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City28 May 2018
Expect payroll to mess up your tax code regardless of providing correct documents, Expect them to maybe correct their mistake after 3 months.
Expect to be overworked, unappreciated and generally miserable.
Don`t sign any contract without looking at the overtime pay as in my case it was capped, there was no time and a half or double time just an extra 25 pence extra an hour if your lucky.
I would like to say this company is multicultural but that would be a lie I was the only native English speaker there.
In short avoid this company at all costs just terrible!
Pros
none
Cons
how long you got?
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to wrok, not enough hours.
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Torquay24 May 2018
I found my time with interserve to be OK, The job itself never really led to any drama and I found the people I worked with to be quite decent. However they simply could not give the hours I needed.
Pros
Friendly Workplace
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work but hopeless management
Cleaning Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester23 May 2018
The jobs are okay, it's just normal work to be honest. The issue with interserve is it's management, not just at ground level but it goes quite high up. Incidents do not get dealt with, even if you don't feel safe. I was threatened on site and was told by my manager to just avoid them. HR is almost non existent, it would get to the point I'd end up just laughing at the end of a call.

If you work for Interserve get used to having to deal with your own issues. Like I say the works just normal work but the management is hopeless.
Pros
Normal work
Cons
Bad bad bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow12 May 2018
Great company, management good. well run company. very professional and understanding of their employees needs. cleaning involved the cleaning of offices within town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaner
P/T Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Edenthorpe, UK28 April 2018
hardest part was the times
really wasn't the job for me i just did not get along with t but i guess when you did it every day you got use to it i cleaned all the tills staff and customers toilets before half passed 9 in the morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands27 April 2018
Manager talk to staff disrespectfully and disregard any health and safety concerns you raise. Don’t provide correct protective clothing especially when using Chlor-clean which irritates eyes and burns your throat and skin. Management don’t know what they’re doing half time and contradict themselves. Cleaning staff are leaving all the time due to bad management.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset2 April 2018
Worst management ever never paid properly treated like rubbish no communication supervisor had no clue how to run things or do the job other than that not a bad place to work
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Starting
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Interserve. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 516 reviews
5137
4115
3112
254
198

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture