Interserve Employee Reviews for Cleaner

Found 212 reviews matching the search See all 542 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable working environment
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire6 December 2018
InterServe gave me and opportunity to develop multiple sets of skills that are beneficial in every day life and my future work life too, foe example, organisation, working as part of a team, managing your time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ever
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Maidstone29 November 2018
This is the worst company I have ever worked for. The shop I worked in was great I’ve met some amazing people, but my line manager was awful! Shouted at me and stressed me out a lot while pregnant, and doesn’t like it if you have time off because your baby is ill! I honestly would never work for this company again!
Pros
Working in the store and meeting lovely people
Cons
The company
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Halfords blackwood21 November 2018
Good company to work for .good pay.very helpful when they are needed .supplies that are needed are always there on time and the supplies are sufficient the the job in hand
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
cleaner (Former Employee) –  waterloo10 October 2018
i didn't like it because the pay wasn't worth the job the managers where unprofessional and very un organised. After 3 months they sacked me for no reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of opportunities
Industrial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Wigston Magna7 October 2018
mundane and repetitive. poor management and almost zero opportunities to advance career. lack of motivation or goals. colleagues are often unproductive.
Pros
independent work
Cons
mundane
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire5 October 2018
Manager that screams at you then tells you he has a lot of sites to manage. In my opinion dont take a job on if you cant handle it
Wages wrong every month.dont even think trying to get your holidays off is going to be how it should be .always pending rediculous system.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Staying
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Washington29 September 2018
I worked as a cleaner for Interserve for 6 years at HMRC in Washington, Tyne & Wear, before the contract was taken over by another company.
We had a good cleaning team that worked well together. Pay was always correct and on time. Management is luck of the draw I think. We started out with a manager so laid back that it was hard to get problems sorted quickly such as when equipment needed replacing. After they left, the new manager was excellent - very proactive and made sure problems were sorted promptly.
As with many such companies I think worker experience will vary from site to site.
Pros
Regular hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Cleaner for Co op (Current Employee) –  Birmingham19 September 2018
Use to be a good company to work for but now has gone down in the dumps. Don't see manager when suppose to, don't get stores on time and equipment not serviced when booked in
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
People dont cover hols dont get stores when needed dropped hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and a very good company to work for
Cleaning manager (Current Employee) –  King's Lynn, Norfolk17 September 2018
A very professional company to work for . I have worked with interserve for nearly two years and have developed into a confident cleaning manager .If you work hard then the only way is up if you can wait for positions to become available .
Cons
Repetitive working day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall review
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Warrington14 September 2018
working at interserve has given me a new opening to achieving goals i or the company set, it also gave me better people skills and communication skills as i was interacting with customers on a daily basis, had no issues with the other work colleges,
Pros
friendly staff and colleges
Cons
hours were too early for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report

Want to know more about Interserve?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible unscrupulous company
Cleaner full time (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire12 September 2018
Must be the worse place i worked for, i was there for just over a year my team were great we all grafted to get the job done plus any extras we could fit in but tools to do the job were always broken and most the time unsafe to use but yet managment still wanted us to use it. other staff members who were lazy but kissed up to managment are the ones that had it the best but the real workers who cared about the job got the short end of the stick. It all comes down to bad/bully/clueless managment. Avoid Avoid Avoid
Pros
Certain nice members of staff
Cons
no ppe. ask to do jobs we weren't meant to do. broken tools.unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not work for this company agian
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex10 September 2018
I worked for this company and was told to do more hours and then when I was paid only got 18 for 9 hours work have tried a number of times to sort this out to be told that it would be paid next month so infact you have to work a month in hand was not told this at interview and if I was would not have taken the job all iam saying is be very careful with this company as I think they see that they can take adventage and do
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just awlful
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Barnstaple, Devon7 September 2018
Worked for them for 12 months ,wages were always wrong ,no leadership what so ever, avoid at all costs.the client was fine to work for that was about it
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working alone not for e everyone
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Desborough, Northamptonshire28 August 2018
Normal cleaning company you are left to do job no training. If you do job you are left to carry on. You will very rarely meet area manager and you will never meet bosses
Pros
none
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are great BUT there's a clear lack of incentive
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne22 August 2018
I like my collogues. I like my manager. I like the store I'm contracted to.
However, we regularly get bombarded with leaflets on how Interserve would like to reward our hard work, or how they dish out opportunities to "further your career" etc etc. In my experience, it's just meaningless paperwork... I wouldn't mind, but they require you sign it and leave them "feedback"... rate your own performance and stuff. Personally, I take a lot of pride in what I do and when I leave, I know I'll be missed. Oh, and another thing, they'll give you the t-shirts and jumpers to wear but want you to buy your own trousers and shoes too. I wouldn't mind, but they have to be black. I didn't own any black trousers or jeans, so I just wear blue jeans for work. My manager will regularly bring this up when she pops into the store... that passive aggressive half-joking thing. The bother is, if they care so much they should really provide everyone with the full kit. That way, you don't get one wearing black jeans, one wearing black trousers and the other wearing grey trainers. Would look much smarter if everyone had matching uniforms. My manager has mentioned me wearing blue jeans to the store manager on a couple of occasions and he's literally turned round and said "I honestly don't care".
Pros
People are sound
Cons
Leaflets
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Birmingham22 August 2018
Working here has been humbling. It has taught me the importance of having attention-to-detail. Cleaning is hard work and a serious job that not a lot of people would like to do, but someone has to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersevre
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow16 August 2018
I wouldn't say it was the best company to work for wages are never right and management don't no what there doing and also wages are not good and its change over company
Pros
wages never right
Cons
shop i clean
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s ok place to work
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Kendal13 August 2018
Things have been rocky at Interserve with having so many different cleaners none of what have been good enough at last we have another cleaner that’s very good shame she’s off on the sick at the moment be glad when she comes back .and been through bosses at Interserve like I don’t no what very hard work to get hold of someone other than that you are left alone to get on with the job , which is good as all the work gets Done
Cons
Bad with orders
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just abit out the way
CLEANER (Former Employee) –  Ocean Terminal28 June 2018
Not the worse place I have ever worked there are enough things to do on shift that you are not to busy all the time and that you are never really sitting around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues were great, payroll were useless
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Cornwall16 June 2018
I worked for interserve cleaning a school for just under a year, I enjoyed working with my colleagues, however most months they would get loads of our tax codes wrong no matter how many times they were informed of the right one, the pay was great for me as a young student as they pay the national living wage to everyone rather than the minimum wage for your age group, however there were no incentives and overtime often got missed off, at Christmas they offered the caretakers at the school we cleaned a Christmas party however didn’t organise and pay for one for the cleaners who often worked with the caretakers anyway which was a shame so had to organise our own, there were also a few incidents with a manager being inappropriate however nothing was done, luckily he left on his own accord a few months later. For me the hours fitted in well with college and was good pay for someone of my age however they look at staff as replaceable and just numbers rather than assets to their business which caused high labour turnover.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Management and payroll
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Interserve. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 543 reviews
5141
4122
3115
258
1107

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture