Independence Homes

Independence Homes Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strongly advise against working for Independence Homes.
Prefer not to say (Former Employee) –  Caterham, Surrey14 January 2020
I worked for Independence Homes for a number of years. There was no career progression. My annual salary barely rose over the period. A lot is expected from the employee with no reward for hard work. No progession or salary increase. Average annual pay rise less than 1%.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company
Support w (Current Employee) –  Caterham2 January 2020
This company will work you to death would NEVER reccomend this company the wages are not enough for what stress you have to deal with I ended up having a mental breakdown
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay and made to work 5/7 days - Gunnersbury
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Gunnersbury, Greater London23 November 2019
There London Gunnersbury branch is the worst, some challenging behaviours so its hard work and no appreciation or friendliness so many staff left. U just stay quiet and work but see ppl leave all the time and wonder why, then it's u and u realize its because there's no empathy.

Company's motto just keeps hiring and instead of taking care of staff needs.

Gunnersbury service really needs a new Manager, someone who can teat staff with respect, so they wouldn't keep leaving. Currently the Gunnersbury service has a lack of good management since they moved to Acton Town location on Gunersbury lane it was not been managed well by a responsible Manager and team leader.
Pros
spend time with nice service users
Cons
unfriedndly Managers and office staff, low pay, no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The training is first class
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Purley22 November 2019
The problems I faced was under staffed and no one from management stepping in to help until CQC where called to the service. Management expect so much from Team Leaders and blame them for anything that goes wrong. They put the needs of the client last and the paper work and profits first. The staff turn over is very poor, in the service I worked in, 16 staff were sacked or left in months
withmmmmonths.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Prospect Court10 November 2019
I enjoyed working with Independence Homes because of the training and development programs provided throughout the period of employment and the opportunities to progress within the organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the plague!
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London22 August 2019
If you value your health & well being do NOT work for this company! Desparate shortage of staff across all services & awful culture, no breaks & poorly paid. Staff are not valued. They expect the earth with nothing in return. There are many, many better jobs out there!
Pros
Lovely service users!
Cons
Long hours, no breaks, awful pay for what you do
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Purley, Greater London16 August 2019
Poor paye management are lazy just in it for the money .
Large workload long hours short staffed always transferring staff to other units leaving your unit dangerously short and service users so rude .
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking company to work for
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Purley5 August 2019
Over worked and under paid, lack of care in the whole company all they care about is where they can make more money not the fact the service users are being neglected. Constantly short staffed and having to carry the load of more then one person. Service users are meant to get 121 care that does not happen at all they are lucky to get out of bed before 2pm with how short staffed it is. A lot of staff
don’t care about the service users and only care about the money which is shockingly paid anyway. Managers don’t care either if you go to them
With a problem it gets dismissed or if you go to them with an abuse issue it goes over their head. Families are constantly lied to and promised the world for example 121 care and daily activities they will be lucky to leave the house once a week. The company is an absolute joke and definitely not caring, one of the people higher up in the company will show rooms to new service users when the previous service user only died a few days ago stating we’ll we need the money. there is no compassion or empathy. They do not care about staff or service users. Stupidly long hours you have to work with no break and get shouted at if you sit down or go to make a phone call (they don’t think you have a life outside of work) the pay is so poor you work up to 80 hours a week just to make ends meet. There have been days when you start at 7am and won’t have anything to eat until you get home at 10/11pm and have to be back in work at 7am. Other staff don’t wish to help. You get calls on your day off to see if you can work that day then when you say no they
  more... try to guilt trip you. The company puts a lot of stress on staff and as for the love2shop vouchers managers act like they come out their wages not wanting to hand them out. There is nothing enjoyable about working for this company it’s just stress and a lot of staff get signed off due to stress. I would not recommend working for this company at all. CQC should do a surprise visit to all the houses and then they will see what really goes on!  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management support
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey3 August 2019
Good systems, policies and procedures however poor working culture - blame culture.
Lack of support, resources at hand for management.
Hardest part of job is being able to safely deliver quality care and support due to staffing restrictions /limitations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive improvement needed
Support worker full time (Current Employee) –  Surrey18 July 2019
If workers get treated like worthless company property this in turn will have a serious knock on effect on the level and quality of support given to the service users. Expecting employees to work punishing and brutally long hours without a break in between for restful sleep is a serious health risk to the employee and compromising the safety of service users.
Managers like to think themselves as holiday camp stand up comedians; the affected loud laughter, dirty jokes and flippant approach towards service users and co workers just don't quite cut it. Humour is welcomed, only when it comes about naturally rather than forced.
The only enjoyable part of the job is clocking off and having at least a two to three day gap in between before you have to return back to the punishing and gruelling long hours and not so funny and genuinely unfriendly comedians!
Pros
Friendly Service Users
Cons
Inflexibility with time shifts and inhumanely long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay and made to work 5/7 days if not more
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  West London, Greater London9 June 2019
There London branch is the worst, some challenging behaviours so its hard work and no appreciation or friendliness so many staff left. U just stay quiet and work but see ppl leave all the time and wonder why, then it's u and u realize its because there's no empathy.

Company's motto just keeps hiring and instead of taking care of staff needs.
Pros
spend time with nice service users
Cons
unfriedndly Managers and office staff, low pay, no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Support Worker/Carer (Former Employee) –  Purley, Greater London25 January 2019
I would never encourage anyone to work here most of the staff at this company are very rude they talk behind each others backs most of them dont care about the service users they only care about the money .when you're new to the service they dont give you an warm welcome these people they're so fake i am so happy i don't work there no more
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, unfriendly staff members
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience
Support Worker/Carer (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London16 January 2019
Head Office staff are very aloof they look down on support workers speak and treat them like what you clean out of a service users pad.
It is a one way street when they want a favour from you ie to work 3,4,5 days in a row or stay longer than your shift and they try to entice with promises of Love2Shop vouchers as they were reluctant to pay overtime, even when staff would stay for the needs of the service for example when night staff didn't turn up and no one wanted to come in and so staff who worked all day would have to stay and cover the night shift as well!!!
The moment you need something you have to jump through hoops and do somersaults.
Serious blame culture goes on there as well, if your face fits you can do well...climb the ladder faster than a shooting star.
They used to send out an online employees survey which they stated was anonymous however you had to log in using your details to complete it???
If staff put what they really felt then know your cards would be marked and you would be managed out of the company as having an opinion, being too vocal or stating the truth did not work in your favour
Some days you wouldn't eat or have a hot drink until late afternoon/evening if at all and that was when you put your foot down and you would be told that you have to manage your time more effectively. You could be sitting down eating and someone will bring you the pager.
The majority of staff work very hard and have a genuine fondness for the service users. Staff christmas presents consisted of a job lot of cheap prosecco, mince pies, or biscuits oh and the annual
  more... dinner & comedy night which most staff couldn't be bothered to attend last year.
The service users parents etc are promised the world, 9/10 all the services are short staffed, many wonderful staff have left but have gone onto better things.
Quite ironic how a 'CARE' company can be so iniquitous, supercilious...they care only about money.
  less
Pros
Days out
Cons
Long hours, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sense of community and family
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Caterham9 January 2019
great company to work for very accepting and the staff team feels like one big family. however the hours can be long and unsociable. overall enjoyed my time working here.
Pros
great staff team
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It will make you hate care
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London9 November 2018
This was the first ever care home I worked at. Got the job very quickly it, they literally employ anyone. When I went to my service several staff did not have DBS clearance so a lot of them got dismissed because when their records can back they were really bad so the service users were at risk. The amount of people that quit is a joke, hence why they employing new people. This should have been a warning call for my but I was young and naive. When you go on the service the bullying that goes on is joke (there are so many’s services some are run amazing other very bad). The newest service which I didn’t work in was in Caterham and it is shocking. Nothing is run properly and some service users are terribly neglected due to the High needs of other service users. The whole moving up thing depends on who you know some people have been there for YEARS and have never moved up while senior positions are giving to unqualified people. STEER CLEAR
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and damanding
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Caterham21 May 2018
This job helped me grow as a healthcare assistant. I worked with various types or patients, staff and families to ensure a good work environment. It helped with independent work as i was working alone at night shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive work environment
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Caterham22 January 2018
I have gained alot of confidence with this company and they have showed me and challenged me to be better. Given me opportunities to shift lead. Enjoyable part of my job is the connection we all have with the service users its like one big family you just want the best for them.
A typical day is very busy and intense.
Pros
Days out, Chance to progess
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company, rewarding work - Pittance pay
Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  South East London, Greater London6 September 2017
IHL are a nice company offering rewarding work. We all get satisfaction from knowing we are helping those less fortunate and the feeling we can make a difference. But, I guarantee that none of us work in the care industry for the money.

Pay is appalling across the board. Everyone i know is struggling with accommodation, bills and making ends meet. We live in some of the most expensive areas in the South East but that matters not a jot. You are paid according to your job role and that's it!!
Pros
Hours
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London14 August 2017
Treat staff like crop very bias towards ethnic minority. Show no respect to Support workers, no flexibility, unprofessional, no consideration for staff.
Pros
no lunch breaks
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Waking Night Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London22 June 2017
Working nights in a company home with clients , with learning difficulties and epilepsy .a very challenging job at times. Also rewarding getting to know the clients and them trusting you to look after them after seizures .
Pros
Small clientele
Cons
Working nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Independence Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 35 reviews
54
410
33
22
116

Ratings by category

2.2Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.0Management
2.2Culture

Independence Homes Reviews by Location