Inchcape Retail UK Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The ship is sinking!
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  London11 July 2018
Used to be a great company but from when the new Uk ceo started the pay has decreased from top performers earning 60k plus to now max £40000 and more like 30-40k. They don’t want sales people but school leavers that are prepared to work long hours and weekends for a nice company car. Good luck if you have a family to support. If you make it to the next level business manager you could earn even less as they set the bar too high and you will be clearing £1600-£1700 after tax per month if you miss bonus. On used cars they have a price advantage scheme there prices are fixed by a senior secretive team of people that sit in a central office somewhere. Now if you discount a car by £100 the middle management have to email the pricing team and explain your actions to them. I kid you not and they will not show their names in the email! Not great when your old customers come back to buy. Also there is no buzz of the money earned previously. For example if you sell a £35000 suv to a cash paying customer with a insurance product included and you will receive £90 which is £60 after tax. If you sold no products to a cash paying customer you will earn £75 or £50 after tax and strangely wonder why are you bothering at all . This is even if you didn’t discount at all. The commission structure is very unrewarding to high achievers and all of the incentives have gone. Worse commission structure that I have ever seen. There has been a rise in the basic but this is offset by the poor bonus stucture. Also Inchcape seem to put increasing pressure over the years on the sales people with extra  more... paperwork (often extra needless info) and non sales related activity so they struggle to prioritise on selling cars. Sometimes it seems like selling cars and making customers happy is the lowest priority vs other tick box exercises. Also Senior mechanics of 20 years plus have left to rival dealers and independents due to their new bonus structure and for feeling like a number to the company. How many thousands of pounds worth of training has been lost here and inserted into rival companies. Decisions of the upper management in Inchcape have been poor and too extreme in my view and they have lost touch with the people working at their dealership floors. It’s like they’re looking at things purely as accountants to pay their shareholders while the soul of the company is draining out. There is still a good satisfaction in making customers happy but the buzz of the selling has been greatly affected by the poor commission stucture. Also the extra workload of non sales related tasks has made the job virtually impossible to get everything done.  less
Pros
Company car, nice brands to sell, work with good people, higher basic
Cons
Long hours for less money. Strange upper managerial decisions, terrible commission structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent, Staffordshire Toyota6 June 2018
Was a great place to work everyone got on with one another. Great pay company car all the tools you need to do your job. ..............................
Pros
Pay And the Staff
Cons
6days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Growth
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Loughborough, Leicestershire25 May 2018
5 years I had 4 roles which all included advancement. The issue became that with quick promotions, there was not really any support, only feedback if negative. I took over a loss making and struggling dealership, and turned it around (MB Loughborough). The Brand Director invited me to a meeting in another site and challenged that I was growing Loughborough by under-cutting the other 3 sites in the region. I presented my Accounts, proved we were not under-cutting, and were in fact making more money per sale due to my strong beliefs in a strong process. He apologised and departed, as I did
Pros
Left to your own devices
Cons
Lack of support when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Management
Sales Trainer (Former Employee) –  North West1 May 2018
Management have no clue no direction and aren't will g to change. They pay lip service but actually have no clue. In my whole time there I never met my manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Sales Administrator (Current Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire25 April 2018
I Generate customer orders and confirm if cars are available, if not then I look for stock that may be available in certain locations. I chase up on dealt orders for Car dealerships and confirm bonus/commission figures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreadful Company To Work For
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex29 March 2018
I Could spend a long time on this but I’ll just give you the lowdown instead:

-Employees driven by stress and fear (no praise or job satisfaction)

-Management are arrogant, don’t lead by example and are lazy

-Money all that matters culture in branches, no genuine care for customers needs just a friendly fusard to sell something

-People at the top have no idea what it’s like on the frontline and make poor choices

Stay well away, it’s nice when you earn good money admittedly but no way worth becoming a modern day slave working ridiculous hours for clueless Managers and a company with no standards or values.
Pros
None (not even the money is worth the trouble)
Cons
Everything that matters
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganised at best
Technician and MOT Tester (Former Employee) –  Southend-on-Sea, Essex2 February 2018
having had 25 years experience in the motor trade covering both main dealers and independants i can honestly say that VW southend is one of the very worst i've worked at, owned by inchcape, the worlds largest automotive franchise operatror,
the site in general is run down and exremely outdated.
the workshop is at least 10 years behind the times with everything from poor lighting and leaking oil drainers to defective and out of date diagnostic equipment and an MOT bay that should even be allowed to operate.
service advisors are too young and in-experienced and really have no clue what to do, and the management are a joke, they either dont know how to run a business or are simply just there for the salary and a laugh, i've seen some blaggers but these people really are on another planet
Pros
total doss to some people there
Cons
run down site difficult to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abit hit or miss
Technician (Current Employee) –  Hampshire29 January 2018
Good company perks but always cost cutting and raising the bar for bonus to make it impossible what ever you do its never good enough very nit picky place to work need to cover yourself with everything and you’ll still be blamed for stuff that’s not your fault
Pros
Company perks lease cars
Cons
bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wages
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 January 2018
This company is getting worse day by day, more paperwork, more prospecting, more hours and BIG PAY CUT!!!!!!! Max you can earn now is £35000 that is on 60 hours a week!!! Avoid this company!!!
Pros
Holiday pay
Cons
Long hours for less pay!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK, but could be better
Bodyshop Manager (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent, Staffordshire2 January 2018
It's sink or swim with Inchcape. They don't seem to want to train you in the initial 3 months for fear of you leaving and costing money.

If they'd only invest in their team, staff turnover wouldn't be so hi.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Services Department
Senior Secretary to Director of Financial Services (Former Employee) –  London W11 January 2018
A typical day would be arranging very complex 4 week travel for my Director (4 out of 5 weeks he travelled worldwide, stopping off at various Board Meetings in different continents). I had to produce travel documentation and itineraries and also hold the office and deal with his emails when out of the office so working on my own initiative was taken as read. This was in addition to doing Board papers and managing his email accounts and handling personal finances when he was in London.
Pros
Good salary, nice offices and friendly staff
Cons
Made redundant and never had the chance to fully reach potential in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soulless and crushing
Aftersales (Former Employee) –  Cheshire30 December 2017
I've worked transferring across many Inchcape brands and branches over a decade. It went into massive decline. The basic pay is weak, the bonus goalposts moved and the company is tight. Literally to the point I've seen management ration milk useage for tea, get rid of toilet hand wipes and keep staff in compulsory uniform that's so old it's falling to bits. The branch managers (heads of business) are generally there to crush you. You won't get any love. Loyalty is rewarded in a few days holiday but you won't be kept level on pay nor valued. It's a huge company that makes a lot of money. Staff turnover is unbelievable, management only looking on cutting corners to save a buck and the culture is rotten. If you think where you work now is bad and look at some of the shiney brands they have and get tempted? Just think of working for Inchcape like working on the Death Star and your manager has the heart and compassion of Darth Vader. AVOID. So glad I got out! I didn't realise how bad it was until I worked somewhere outside the machine.
Pros
Holiday increase with time
Cons
Soul crushing and tight, staff turnover, pay levels, bonus goalposts and no respect at all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Bolton22 October 2017
a lot to do within work more paperwork and admin than anything, good brands to work for and a good management structure. I like Inchcape they work with you
Pros
help
Cons
admin
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Shrewsbury, Shropshire1 September 2017
Used to be industry leading in pay with great perks and benefits. Long hours with great reward. Company under going new structure which will change the work enviroment
Pros
company car
Cons
poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  North East18 August 2017
I am a current employee at Inchcape and love working here! I have a great team and support function around me. The company offers some great benefits and progression opportunities.
Great place to work!
Pros
Excellent benefits, progression opportunities, great culture
Cons
None that I can think of currently
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex12 June 2017
Inchcape say treat every £ as your own well all they do is keep the profit, underpaid staff and 10 hour days inc all day Saturdays without a break!

Management spend most of the time chatting about pointless problems and leave the lower ranked staff to slave on
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great brand - professional company
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Malton3 June 2017
Great company with lots of benefits and opportunities for progression.

The managers at Cooper Malton are very supportive and lead by example, they help us to deliver excellent customer service but try to have fun whilst hitting demanding targets.
Pros
Great brand, share save scheme, pension scheme, pay well
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy company with many different work places
Vehicle Technician (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire8 May 2017
good company to work for with faily competitive salary. good opotunity for advancement in levels of technicians and a.good balance with work and home life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Receptionist (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex30 March 2017
Not a nice company to work for, management don't care and do not deal with bullies amongst staff very well. Very business like which is to be expected but there isn't any enjoyment working with miserable staff, the staff turnover is huge as they just get rid of you if you do not perform to their standard. Pay is basic wage die 10 hour shifts
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no progression, no perks and rubbish pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and productive workplace
Credit Control Administrator (Former Employee) –  Boldon Colliery21 February 2017
A group of warm and helpful team members. Even though this was a temporary role. A typical day involved posting cash and allocation and banking of cheques.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 16Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Inchcape Retail UK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 33 reviews
58
48
38
22
17

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Inchcape Retail UK Reviews by Location