IKEA Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
(Sales Assistant) (Children's IKEA) (Current Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire9 August 2018
Overall Ikea is a fantastic company to work for, there are many benefits such as free/discounted meals, staff discount, potential end of year bonus, quarterly department outings and other benefits such as vouchers or gifts during special events. Ikea also holds recognition events for staff who have received good customer feedback or have been put forward for co-worker of the month. Ikea is a very sustainable and charitable business. As can be expected almost everywhere, dispite how good the company is, individuals can easily dampen the environment. Unfortunately with Ikea many of those individuals are the managers. There is a clear divide between managers and part-time coworkers and a clear divide between the different functions within the store which creates a negative surrounding. It's a very stressful job with not much help given. One of the biggest problems with working at Ikea is not being given the apropriate training or access to certain systems which is more commonly found with part-time workers. You are expected to do many things but often you will have to find someone else to do those things for you, someone who has the correct training or access.
Pros
Free/discounted lunch, Living Wage, Co-worker Recognition events, Staff Discount, Free parking
Cons
Divide between full/part-time workers, Big work loads, Not great management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, bad store
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belfast7 August 2018
Great company to work for with a lot of benefits. Unfortunately the Ikea Belfast store has lost all trace of the Ikea ethos. Management are corrupt and you only advance if you are a soulless, evil person. The store manager is completely incompetent and bullies staff. Any personal issues are brushed aside and there is no empathy. The HR manager is ignorant and inappropriate and a potential racist and xenophobe. I wouldn’t recommend applying for a job in this store, there are better employers out there. Keep looking.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer services
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Southampton4 August 2018
I loved working in Ikea, I have learnt any new skills, the staffs were loving and caring. I tired my best to help out and get involved with the tasks.
Pros
Free chips
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got worse
IKEA Food Coworker (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow10 July 2018
Long days could be fun at times, met some good people. Can be very busy and management non supportive at times. Benefits were good for being part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wore me out
IFS Co-Worker (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire1 July 2018
Great values as a company but managers don't listen to their staff at all. Report issues that get looked over till way too late. Always try to cure not prevent. Crazy hours and worked like a dog for very low wages. Nice benefits and free food, fun Swedish themed days and parties but not worth it over all. Not allowed to move teams or progress. Training overlooked and forgotten.
Pros
Good induction.Nice benefits and free food, fun Swedish themed days. Staff make the job
Cons
Managers. Pay. Hours. Lack of structure or progress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shallow and two faced environment
Home Decoration Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lakeside27 June 2018
IKEA is a company that penalises young workers not for their behaviour but due to their age. They are treated differently to elder workers and stories are fabricated against younger colleagues. On top of this the first 6 months of probation are treated like a trial period where at any mistake could lead to being let go of their current role.
The environment is hostile and unlike other friendly retail environments.
Benefits of working have been cut: No bonus, no monthly gifts and rare amounts of praise.
Pros
Cheap co-worker food, multicultural
Cons
Bias management, Hostile Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ikea is a really good place to work
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Coventry20 June 2018
IKEA is a really good company to work for because it has many benefits and perks for co workers and the salary's are really good not to mention the bonuses , nice and clean tidy place to work at.
Pros
really cheap lunch
Cons
good hours for part time and full time workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and productive workplace
Sales Co-Worker (Former Employee) –  Thurrock, Essex20 June 2018
IKEA was an interesting job because something new happened everyday. Work would include bringing new stock in, shelving it and making space for stock coming in the day after. My manager was great, he was flexible and gave everyone the opportunity to grow within the company. IKEA is a great company because they treat their employees very well. I liked how they incorporated Swedish culture into everyday work.
Pros
Staff benefits
Cons
Long and late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Domestic Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Arrow, UK9 June 2018
I liked working at IKEA it was really good and my job was easy but because i love cleaning for me its really fun to be around different kind of people and i think its really important to make friends at your wokplace.
Pros
Free tea, coffee, hot chocalate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not too bad
Gatekeeper (Former Employee) –  Southampton1 June 2018
Not a good personal experience, was bullied by management to the point where I felt I had no choice but to leave,
Pay is relatively good for warehouse work plus night insentive
Pros
staff discount
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing workplace
Customer Service Co-worker (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire31 May 2018
i have wprked there for 4 years and i have met so many amazing people throughout my time here. the company has really good benefits and also really good pay! they live by lovely cultures and values. management can sometimes be a bit negative however i understand its hard to manage such a large amount of people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly employees and nice work enviroment
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Lakeside Shopping Centre, Essex17 May 2018
My time at ikea was short but the staff were very friendly. Quite a laid back work environment and the pay was good. My only downfall was my boss and some of the people in my department couldn't speak english so i had to do some of their work for them (cleaning).
Pros
free drinks, nice canteen and friendly
Cons
4 hours a day, saturdays could get very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Advanced Sales Co Worker (Former Employee) –  London10 May 2018
Family feel, values are respected and encouraged.

Fun team, easy going managers. No heirarchy. Senior management and janitor wear the same uniform.

Discounted lunches and breakfast.
Pros
Reduced lunches and end of year gift
Cons
Difficult to develop
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good warehouse
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Rochester23 April 2018
Good salary, start busy of the warehouse, rotation shift 6-14, 14-22.
Unfortunately heavy product to picking (wardrobes, beds, kitchen, bathroom)
The company provides every employee training for FLT and Reach trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
co-worker, tasks (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire12 April 2018
a very good place to work for. With the big canteen and delicious food. Ongoing trainings. Lots of company benefits and competetive salary. Friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
co-worker on Parcel Force (Former Employee) –  Peterborough12 April 2018
very good place to work for. Competetive salary and company benefits. Big canteen with the delicious food. Very friendly and helpfuly people and lots of trainings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
co-worker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough12 April 2018
Very busy warehouse environment with friendly people. Good canteen with delicious food. competetive salary and benefits. definately customer is in there priority.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Furniture Assembler (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh5 April 2018
Depending on role, job satisfaction can be excellent. Staff are mostly friendly and can be supportive of your needs. Again depending on role, dealing with customers can be a good laugh.
Pros
Some decent benefits
Cons
Poor recognition from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build your career
Commercial Swedish Food Market & Bistro Manager (Former Employee) –  Wembley4 April 2018
Environment in IKEA is faced paced and tough. The time I was there I've managed to become a Manager from Co-worker with support with many development programmes within IKEA. I've picked up a lot of life experience as you work with many employees and meet a variety of customers who can push you to the limit. No day is the same. Unfortunately you can hit many hurdles every says IKEA is a multi million pound company, but the re-investment is very small, management demand more from you but with little investment or no extra resources.
Pros
Benefits are the best in the UK and increase with years of service
Cons
Business is not work-life balance friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and terrible at the same time
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, United Kingdom28 March 2018
Good pay rate comparing to other warehouses, friendly people, nice and clean place. The job isn't that hard but it's easy to lose it. They keep on repeating how important for them is your health and safety but you may be surprised if one day something really happens to you, you are injured, ill, unable to work, even for short period of time - they may just kick you out as you are unable to work = you are no longer needed. Business.
Pros
good pay rate, tidy workplace, relatively easy job
Cons
management, sickness absence policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IKEA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 5,072 reviews
52K
41.7K
3916
2249
1178

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture