Hovis Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long shifts, Decent Pay, Old Building and poor working conditions.
Relief section leader (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire28 December 2018
Was a relief section leader, spent 10 years here. Fellow employees generally are good, management all tend to stick together and it's a employee vs management kind of atmosphere. Pay rises were pathetic about 0.3% percent was the norm and the union may as well have been bought by the management.

Shifts were 12hrs and the pattern was pretty bad 5 out of 7 weekends you would work all or part of it and the building and machinery is really old and badly maintained.

Pension is the basic government one, sick pay terrible and Xmas working as standard.

In an honest assessment I picked up some decent experience here but was glad to get out and would avoid this place it is going downhill and due to lack of investment can see it closing in the not to distant future.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
All.of above
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doint bother
Hygiene Operative (Former Employee) –  Avonmouth, Bristol10 November 2018
Management very unpleasant and unprofessional ,working inviorment was much to be desired
From start to finish i felt undervalued and unworthy as this is how your made to feel .I've never worked in a place where I was depressed and spent the day clock watching
Avoid this place 100% and this was felt within the team no one was happy surprised they have staff i got out and can't stress enough on how bad working there is ..:(
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Made to feel worthless
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there, good friendly environment ,always kept busy.
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Glasgow4 November 2018
Good place to work. Friendly workers , always kept busy, decent money! Job was good you were always kept going and learning new things every day, great place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belfast factory definately not!
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim3 October 2018
cannot comment on other Hovis sites but if mentality is the same as Belfast factory do not consider. Place falling apart, equipment not fit for purpose, inexperienced managers who dont care about staff, very high turnaround of workers & often not enough staff per shift so often doing work of two people. Have worked in food industry for many years in long term posts - moved here to be close to home - bad move stayed for 15 months and that was too long.
Pros
none
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going back in time
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Belfast23 March 2018
This is a national uk bakery ran like a home bakery in the dark ages. Working here is like going back in time 15 years. Lots of manual labour, very little automation, all in a old dilapidated building.
Pros
Can't think of any
Cons
Hot, dusty, dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Administration Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Dagenham17 March 2018
Working for Hovis Dagenham was a friendly and nice enviroment to work within. I have worked at Dagenham for over 15 year previously at the Erith branch.
Pros
nice enviroment
Cons
Traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Belfast15 March 2018
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Watnall3 February 2018
Everyday was never the same always something different going off around the factory.

It was tiring work but you get used to the hours and the late nights, the sleeping pattern was something i had to get used to quickly but other than that it was great work.
Pros
Break every 60- 90 minutes
Cons
Sleeping pattern
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfriendly
Production operative (Current Employee) –  Belfast4 September 2017
I have never worked somewhere so backward in my life, you have to watch your own back all the time, everyone looks after themselves, and treat new comers like they are disposable. The health and safety department are a joke, making up rules and policies as they go along, and all they do is hamper the pocess of working. I can't wait until I find another job.
Pros
Can buy product
Cons
Early start and poor canteen
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Engineering (Current Employee) –  Avonmouth, Bristol30 August 2017
Ive worked at Hovis for 2 years and love every day. Peoples comments on here are either unfounded or they expect to come to work and do nothing for good money !! The world has changed, you come to work to work. If you hate it that much............ leave !
Pros
Great site, great peoole
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 17Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hovis.
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Glasgow17 July 2017
My typical day working with Hovis included following health and safety guidlines as a product picker. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work within a large team and being responsible for being organised, good at time keeping and reliable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 16Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run off your feet all day long
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Belfast29 June 2017
Working here was fine, well organised and planned, parts and machinery downtime were co-ordinated and structured. All you had to do was show up for your shift, do a couple of jobs and go home. This has now all changed, since they made key personal redundant, all the co-ordination and planning has gone, jobs get half done because of lack of planning, and then cause breakdowns later on, parts are not available for jobs, preventative maintenance tasks are being skipped. This all leads to more and more breakdowns, it's a downward spiral, we spend more time repairing breakdown than preventing them. You now show up for your shift and get run off your feet all day, going from breakdown to breakdown.
Pros
Cheap bread
Cons
You earn you money
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do as little as you can, as often as possible
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Belfast29 June 2017
Working in the engineering department is quite frustrating as it is disorganised and the engineering management can't manage the department. This is OK for us as we can't complete the jobs left out to us because of poor planning, lack of parts and no downtime on the machinery.During the day shifts you just keep out of the workshop, usually in the canteen and bluff the day in. But the night shifts are the best, I've never worked anywhere, where it's been OK to sleep during your shift, and management knows full well that it happens and turns a blind eye to it
Pros
Easy night shifts
Cons
Poor shift pattern
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a fun place to work no more TOO many rules on shop floor
Bakery Operative (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire6 June 2017
Management do not care about the workers treat them like s!!! I'm alright Jack is the attitude that I found & how I was treated after a loyal 24 years service was awful
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours no social & family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radial driver
Radial driver (Former Employee) –  Eastleigh10 May 2017
Used to be a great job until common sense waved goodbye.....if you like jumping through hoops just because.....this is job for you,
im very disappointed with them.
Pros
Never having to buy a round down the pub because you'll never have time to see your friends anymore.
Cons
Work, sleep, work etc etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Forest Gate, Greater London20 February 2017
i enjoy working with my team members, it does get tough at times but i am able to deal with all kind of pressure at work. i learn knew things every time i am working.
Cons
long hours but I don't mind
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire13 February 2017
Always looked forward to going too work. good place too work,
plenty to do and a variety .

Sorry if you need to know any more please ask
Pros
every one worked together
Cons
A lot of traffic getting to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad place for work
Driver class 2 (Former Employee) –  Avonmouth, Bristol3 February 2017
Very bad start times, very stressful work no job security at all, union is just waste of money, management treat very bad with the drivers, person who make the route don't know nothing about driving a lorry. I have a lot of experience but this was a worse place I had ever worked.
Pros
Cheap bread
Cons
Long hours and bad start time
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a variate of people
Radial Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire28 January 2017
My day starts at 3am with the drivers then office work till about 10am. After this time drivers come back to site and are all back by about 2pm and the last hour is closing the day and finish work at 3pm. But some days can be longer than others due to problems that driver have out on the road.I hva elear how to use Tachomaster and Microlise. The hardest part o fthe job is some time it can get very busy so you have to prioritise work.

Dealing with customers and finding out how the drives have go on out on the road.
Pros
a good staff reward scheme by Hovis choice rewards
Cons
can not thing of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Belfast City Centre, County Antrim7 January 2017
thoroughly enjoyed working at hovis, salary was great. the people were great to get along with. hardest part would have been the long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 10Report