Home Bargains Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morecambe28 February 2018
My shift would involve working with cages of stock from the morning delivery and making necessary adjustments to fit all stock onto the sales floor.
I learned how to be resourceful and use my initiative well.
The management provided me with the relevant information and training needed to complete my tasks effectively.
The most difficult part of the job was being able to be extremely diverse under a tight time pressured environment. But I quickly adapted to the pressure fairly well and it kept me motivated.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the unpredictability from day to day due to the diversity of the role.
Pros
Diverse, productive, motivating
Cons
Irregular shift lengths, unstable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St Helens, Merseyside28 February 2018
Great workplace. Straight forward job with good management in my case. You are set simple tasks/aims to complete within your shift which gets you through the work day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work although many hours are required
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff27 February 2018
perfect environment for people looking for part time work.
progression is steady although gaining the correct knowledge isn't always easy as there are many people fighting for the same opportunities
Pros
quarterly bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced work place
Lead Sales (Current Employee) –  Retail26 February 2018
I loved working within this company. Met lots of lovely staff members and customers. Everyday was a different one. Some good, Some bad. The team were good and very hard working.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen21 February 2018
Overall it seems a nice mainstream retail job, but when you start working you get to realise that upper management and management of stores might have NEVER worked as a retail assist. The shifts are four hours long and categorized in three: fill shift, first isle, and till. Now the till shift is what you're told at the interview that YOU MIGHT BE ASKED to stay a bit longer than the four hours. You're not asked. You're rather not allowed to leave after the four hours if delivery isn't finished, you're roughly told in the morning that you finish at some hour, but it's always longer. This is fill shift is what you wouldn't want to work. The cages are badly filled with the boxes to put out on shelves. They are heavy boxes, then lighter and smaller, then heavier and bigger, so in trials to take the heavy stuff off the cage everything falls (yes, on you). Then at this fill shift they also tell you you've got 45minutes for a cage, but they don't time it fair and you get told you're slow and not good. You're asked to make space for what you have in the boxes which means moving around everything that's on shelves than putting those stuff from the boxes. Also in fill shift they don't want 'overs', stuff that didn't fit on shelves, but you are not allowed to 'hide' that items behind other stuff so you literally spend around 10 minutes to move around on shelves until you get to put out those couple of stuff from your box. And that's what they don't count at timing.
The first isle shift is better as you still have cages to do but it's actually only four hours and you're supposed to keep
  more... that isle clean and tidy.
The till shifts are the best, you sit down at a till and arrange stuff around it.
You're mistreated by the way they speak to you and they way they try to sack you for not being fast enough.
  less
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Unfulfilling work, mistreated, looked down at
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish company to work for...
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside20 February 2018
You should have a look at the Q&A section here to see about, 'hours worked' and 'company culture'.

There is no company sick pay, and you get 20 holiday days/year. You are entitled to a 30 minute break/day. You are also ‘encouraged’ to sign a waiver to the EU Working Time Directive.

Management are under constant pressure to have the store fully restocked daily. There is a central warehouse delivery daily. Each cage needs to be unloaded and merchandised. This task is carried out by the ‘fill shift’. Theoretically, fill shift should last 4 hours, but rarely does, and up to 8 hours isn’t extraordinary. You normally have to keep staff on till the job is finished often on same day notice. This is tough to manage, and tough on the staff too who have no idea when they are getting home, so can’t really plan a life.

Management are involved in sorting cages out in the store warehouse in departmental sections, and dragging them on to sales floor, so no need for expensive gym membership fees as you’ll get all the exercise you’ll ever need. The pressure is constant as obviously it needs to be finished every day, as there is a new delivery tomorrow.

There are no planograms, so it is up to the fill shift initially to merchandise stock, new & replenishment, in a neat coherent manner. If sections are full to overflowing, it takes time to spread stock out and create space. Area managers will very kindly critique such efforts as a matter of routine, and point out where you went wrong, then photograph it to shame you with the rest of their ‘area’, it’s a great team builder as everyone
  more... is ridiculed, and you'll all have a good laugh at each other.

Staffing is absolutely paired to beyond the bone. You are always in a state of being ‘short staffed’ putting pressure on all members of the team, and will never have enough to achieve all the daily tasks demanded of you. (The exception are the Liverpool training boot camp stores, which are dripping in additional ‘red shirts’)

Store Manager in Home Bargains is equivalent to a supervisor in other retailers, you have little autonomy, 95% time is spent on the sales floor, and you can’t even order a new safety knife for opening deliveries without the area manager’s permission. The majority of Home Bargains store management are young, in their 20s, without the maturity & people skills that come with age and experience; hence ‘harassment’ type behaviour is common.

If you’re young, and this is one of your first jobs, you’ll probably think it’s OK with nothing to compare it to. But if you’ve had proper management jobs before, you will be very disappointed indeed.
  less
Pros
Distinctive red uniform, but wash separately – colour runs faster than Mo Farah LOL
Cons
More stress than herding a pack of wild cats...
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fullfilling work environment
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bradford18 February 2018
Excellent place of work with great management and team members and a place that has a community feel to it. I learned that working as a team is vital as well as honesty and reliability is key.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing for most part
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancaster18 February 2018
Working for the company is amazing for most part, however, if you are working full time mostly you don't just do weekdays sometimes I have to work all week. The pay is okay not amazing, mostly depends if you're management or just normal sales assistant and depends on you're age.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire18 February 2018
I never knew how to work on tills and now I know how to work on tills.
Eveything was confortable to handle however there were a few challenges that I had to overcome.
Pros
Got on with every team member
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Or a bad place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lincolnshire16 February 2018
This is not a bad place to work overall it has a good bunch of people that work there and you can get on with most of them management are ok personally don’t always agree
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wokrplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside16 February 2018
Well-paid job and nice atmosphere at work. People are positive about new employees and willing to help. Excellent organization, work worth recommending.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lytham St. Annes, Lancashire12 February 2018
As i was only employed for a christmas temporary position i didnt really get a feel into home bargains ways and structure i was just put on a till and told 3 key things to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not proffesional management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex12 February 2018
was a very poorly run company, was on salary but never did the hours I was required to do always went over and no thankyou. Staff are treated very bad.
Pros
discount
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and hard grafting but enjoyable at times.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Dundee City8 February 2018
Home Bargains has a fantastic career progression scheme which always has opportunities as well as much more to offer. It is very hands on and much needed graft but with the correct support, this should be thrived upon.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Exmouth8 February 2018
Home Bargians was a horrible company to work for and i would not reccomend. The managers are very minipulative and refused to pay me money i was owed after i had resigned.
Pros
None
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working for this company.
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire7 February 2018
Really enjoyable place to work. Good management. Great staff. Got on well with area management. Shop front is usually set out ok. Good products on sale.
Pros
Treat you well at Christmas for your hard work
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could be better
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hereford7 February 2018
The staff aren't exactly the nicest, rumors get spread around the company fast. The main managers are nice however the lead sales roles aren't as understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire4 February 2018
A busy work environment with varied tasks. On the whole enjoyable and a good place to start work, can be challenging during peak times of the year.Lack of a set rota could make planning my personal life difficult.
Pros
Varied work
Cons
No structured rota
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Goods In Operative (Current Employee) –  Liverpool3 February 2018
All workers are very friendly and polite. There is cantene for all employee. they are serving breakfast and lunches. Company is located close to the bus stop, and big homebargains store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work At
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bognor Regis3 February 2018
A typical day at work would be quite a fun experience from the moment i walk in the door. I would clock in a few minutes early and from then until i clock out, I am always keeping myself busy asking my management for a new job the moment i have finished the current on I am doing.
Pros
Great Colleagues
Cons
Not great pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Bargains. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 932 reviews
5176
4223
3271
2107
1155

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture