Home Bargains Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall ok
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterhead10 July 2018
It is a very good job, the people who I worked with were superb! we got on and it was fantastic. A typical day at work will be not busy so we will stock, clean, etc... but then super busy no time for nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a fun environment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blaydon-On-Tyne10 July 2018
Loved this place if they had offered me a higher role at the time I would have stayed but the NHS was offering way better for less work and responsibilities so I left.
Pros
Great shifts ì
Cons
Part time only only management get full time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family run company.
Relief Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Scotland10 July 2018
Supporting stores, running of areas. Paperwork, training and reviews. Very fast paced and long hours are quite a regular requirement. Excellent training provided.
Pros
family owned
Cons
no sick pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unhappy place to work
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Shrewsbury, Shropshire10 July 2018
this is an unhappy ununderstadning place to work. management don't understand personal issues there is a lot of favoritisim in the store booking holidays is difficult . inconsiderate unkind managements disrespectful expect too much off u no give or take.
Pros
discount
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced environment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wirral, Merseyside9 July 2018
Deliveries are always intense which is what I enjoy. good organised team, opportunities to progress through the company come up a lot and are good fair ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment to work in with people
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire9 July 2018
a typical day is going in stacking shelfs for 4-5 hours then going home poor management, hardest part is dealing with rude customers enjoyable part is the atmosphere with others at your level and some managment
Pros
none
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good to work for
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elgin, Moray8 July 2018
the company was good work for they staff was ok at times and i liked working there but the manager was not very nice she spoke me like and i done loads of hours for them and was asked to stay behind and said no because was doing to much hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Initially fun but eventually tedious
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool6 July 2018
When I first started working in Home Bargains it was great, all the training was done during working hours, I learned a lot of new skills and made some good friends. Ultimately, however, the jobs began to take its toll as there was little variety in the day and customers were occasionally very rude. The management was effective overall but could be a little impersonal at times, particularly the higher-ups. The low pay for younger people (who are expected to do the same work) means this job is unsustainable for students.
Pros
Nice discount, Good friends, Good hours
Cons
Low pay, monotonous work, difficult to get time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only upside to this job is the staff.
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bangor4 July 2018
Shifts aren't flexible, management take advantage. Getting time off is a hassle. There's no respect for staff. Everything is always micro-managed, management often complain about small conversations between staff even whilst working.
Pros
Pay is better than minimum, christmas parties are fairly good.
Cons
Poor shifts, bad atmosphere and relations with management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun work envioment
Cashier and serving customers (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, Shropshire2 July 2018
was a good job to work in whilst in school or in college, staff were lovely most of the time, salary wasnt all that good when you was getting paid £2 less than someone over the age of 25.
Pros
most staff lovely
Cons
managers not so nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

Want to know more about Home Bargains?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place Ive ever worked.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Aberystwyth2 July 2018
This is by far the WORST place I've ever had the displeasure of working at. Poor management which leads to stressed staff as well as the lies they tell to cover their own backs. Management are a joke, feels like being in primary school, no talking, no laughing or joking. I got sent home once for talking to a coworker. Always understaffed. The company has such a high turnover because management treat the employees with such a lack of respect and dignity. Save yourself the strain on your mental health and don't bother applying.
Pros
Good coworker
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire30 June 2018
4 hour contract but expected to work approx 10 over 2 days, but holiday pay remained 4 hrs/week. 1 weeks notice given on rota, so no opportunity to make plans. Overtime expected after store shut without checking that was able or how long it would be for. No warnings given, staff just sacked.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Walsall28 June 2018
Very hectic and fast paced work place, management can be very rude as well as the majority of customers who shop here, the pay wasn't the best, and i didn't get a pay rise when i was supposed to for the last 2 months i worked there.
Pros
10% off shopping
Cons
stressful and long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Cross Hands26 June 2018
I had a part time job at this company for a few months. I had to stock shelves, serve customers at the tills, help customers with any difficulty and make sure the store was of a good standard.
Pros
short shifts
Cons
average pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salford26 June 2018
when I worked at the Dewsbury branch I had a great time, I made friends, earned enough money to live well and never really had a bad experience, however when I transferred to the Salford branch that sadly changed. this branch was run poorly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow24 June 2018
Good company , very tidy store working the tills , putting stock out when it’s quiet dealing with the public good management get a 10% staff discount
Pros
Discount
Cons
Not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands20 June 2018
Fast-paced work environment which gives you a good idea of what to expect in the world of retail. There is always something to do as the stores are busy which keeps you motivated.
Pros
flexible shift patterns
Cons
holidays are hard to push through
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job, difficult management.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ormskirk18 June 2018
Management uncaring about personal circumstance or health; Physical or mental. Staff treated as dispensable. Easy job, easy to get hours if wanted but if you say you are unable to do extra when asked management will make your job difficult in other ways. Only real plus to the job is the 20 hour contract offered and wage slighlty above minimum. Staff in stores are great, hardworking and friendly, great atmosphere.
Pros
Great staff to work with.
Cons
Management treat staff poorly. High turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Loughborough14 June 2018
Not a very good atmosphere in the store between staff and management. Not very friendly. Sometimes were made to stay after your shift ended when not asked beforehand if you would be able to stay. Bad communication between managers, one minute you are told to do something then the next minute you are getting told off by another manager for doing that certain job which you were told to do by another manager which is not necessary at all to give the staff a hard time when just trying to do the job correctly.
Pros
fixed hours
Cons
part time and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable at most
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire6 June 2018
Typical day - Exhilarating
What I learned - Do not underestimate retail
Management - okay at best
Hardest part - maintaining balance between work and play
Pros
Good workforce
Cons
Lack of proper guidance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Bargains. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 989 reviews
5182
4239
3283
2119
1166

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture