Home Bargains Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and busy workplace
Assistant General Manager Home Bargains (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset19 April 2018
Busy fast paced business,efficient and flexible.
great products and good benefits
very physical with delivery cages etc but all in all a good place to work
Pros
10% staff discount lots to buy
Cons
can be long hours ans very physical on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work!
Sales Assisstant (Current Employee) –  Middlesbrough12 April 2018
Lovely store, fantastic managers and decent pay.

Good first job, great hours as I was able to work around college hours.

Didn't like being on the tills when there were hardly any customers in the shop but that's no fault of the company.

Overall a great place to work.
Pros
shifts work around college/uni hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for work, bad managment
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire27 March 2018
the pay for the work that you do is good, the work is not too hard for what is required, stores are set up neatly so will be able to find where stock belongs easily. However I was under 18 and legally entitled to 30 minute breaks yet was never given another con is if on fill shift you might not known when finish, they aim to finish at 1pm when start at 9am but most days i was finishing around 3pm
Pros
hours, pay for work
Cons
management, don't know when finish
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse places out there
Customer/Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kilmarnock24 March 2018
I worked there for a few months I generally enjoyed it good banter with staff and customers you worked at a fast pace which made time fly management were nice
Pros
nice clean shop, good banter, good facilities, staff discount
Cons
not long enough hours basic 16 hours, don't earn enough unless you have another job or a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Worker (Former Employee) –  Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire18 March 2018
never worked there long enough to give a proper review of the staff, management, salary or any other aspects of what this is requiring.
Had a very positive experience during my short time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire14 March 2018
Everyone was friendly. Very fast paced unit but everyone was always smiling. Breaks were paid for which was a bonus and help was always at hand i would reccomend to anyone wanting a carrer change.
Pros
Breaks paid
Cons
Fast unit
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay on Jobseeker's
Lead Sales (Current Employee) –  Northern Ireland12 March 2018
I could write a full essay on this job. I'll just summarise it for you.

- Bullies in senior management.
- Incompetent, condescending, backstabbing management.
- Outdated systems.
- Poor pay.
- Contracted days, not just hours.
- Maximum 20 hour contract unless you are a senior manager.
- Short, unpaid breaks.
- quarterly stock take that senior management does not get paid extra for.
- Senior managers do not get paid extra for putting more hours in.
- Lower and senior managers harassed constantly on their days off via Whatsapp groups.
- Holidays are NEVER, EVER actioned. Senior managers deny receiving holiday forms even if handed to them personally in full view of CCTV.
- Constantly monitored and timed.
- Rota times are to be ignored. You will start early and finish late. Every. Day.
- If you're on the first management or fill shifts, you will be required to start at 6.30AM and will not be allowed to leave until you either finish the enormous deliveries, or the shop closes. Whichever comes first.
- Senior managers delegate EVERYTHING. I understand that this is a part of their job, but what is NOT a part of their job is to stand around with their phone on charge taking snaps and browsing the latest LadBible posts while their Lead Sales' do all their work for them.
- You will nearly never get your entitled 11 hours rest between shifts.

This company is awful. It is well known for its bullying culture and has one of the highest staff turnovers in the UK.

Shifts are long, breaks are short, work is hard, management is unsupportive, condescending and lazy, area
  more... and regional managers are a complete joke.

This company regularly shells out money in compensation because they have so many claims. Health and safety does not exist in this company. Worker's rights do not exist in this company. Fair wage does not exist in this company.

You are expected to kill yourself in this company for minimum wage.

If you are unemployed and this in the only place in your area hiring, stay on Jobseeker's Allowance. Seriously. It's that bad.
  less
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Literally everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work although many hours are required
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff27 February 2018
perfect environment for people looking for part time work.
progression is steady although gaining the correct knowledge isn't always easy as there are many people fighting for the same opportunities
Pros
quarterly bonuses
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not proffesional management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex12 February 2018
was a very poorly run company, was on salary but never did the hours I was required to do always went over and no thankyou. Staff are treated very bad.
Pros
discount
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and hard grafting but enjoyable at times.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Dundee City8 February 2018
Home Bargains has a fantastic career progression scheme which always has opportunities as well as much more to offer. It is very hands on and much needed graft but with the correct support, this should be thrived upon.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Exmouth8 February 2018
Home Bargians was a horrible company to work for and i would not reccomend. The managers are very minipulative and refused to pay me money i was owed after i had resigned.
Pros
None
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for a first job
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pontardawe, South Glamorgan3 February 2018
As a first job, Home Bargains is a good springboard into retail or the world of world in general. However, I would not recommend it as a career builder. Excellent for teens 16-18 as the wage is higher than minimum but very unfulfilling and repetitive.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Messed around a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim24 January 2018
Home bargains is a good place to work. Temporarily would not recommend it for a long time. Although it is a fun environment to work in with lots of nice friendly staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for students
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Romford, Greater London23 January 2018
Ideal for students/young people looking for part time hours (20hours or less), not really suited for full-time employment. Staff/management vary on friendliness depending on store location.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Very pressured
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hectic work place
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire23 January 2018
A very hectic workplace which had uneven effort given out by other employees causing other employees not getting as much praise as the ones who are favoratised. Not a lot of team work was created to help each other out in the busy store, overall I think it was poorly managed.
Pros
Discount off items in store
Cons
not enough employees to deal with health and safety people for shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Prescot22 January 2018
It was easy to get along with people in home bargain s as everyone was so friendly so the shifts were good because of this they flew by so I liked working there.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job but only part time
Customer Service Advisors (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire20 January 2018
I enjoyed this job but only part time
Enjoyed the work customers people you meet but the only fault were lack of hours
Good discounted store and was busy
Pros
Discount
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only one downside
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke17 January 2018
the only real downside that i can think of for home bargains, other than the hours dragging on very long, is that the salary is considerably low for the amount of hours that you're given
Pros
good environment
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Cleaner, fill shift. (Current Employee) –  Hayle, Cornwall15 January 2018
I helped set the store up in Hayle Cornwall and still working there now, also got my wife a job with them, very family oriented. Pay is above minimum wage and very open to rota changes.
Pros
Good to work for
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Manager (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester14 January 2018
I enjoyed my time as manager. It something I always wanted to do an this company gave me the opportunity.
Whilst training for the position of manager I got to work all over the country an work in many of different stores the company owned therefore opening up my costumer service skills and the ability to adapt to new workplace and people in a short amount if time.
Pros
Above minium pay pension 5 weeks paid holiday a year
Cons
Long hours. Stock takes no praise for hitting targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Bargains. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 885 reviews
5167
4212
3258
299
1149

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture