Home Bargains Employee Reviews in Huddersfield

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire7 November 2017
Appalling place to work avoid if you can not a good place to work.

Not very good job work/life balance to it, felt like you never had much time away from it.

Managers can be two faced, all about targets and don't care about staff except if you will butter up to them.

Long stock takes of 8-9 hours each quarterly.

There is a chance for promotion if your face fits.

You can do over time if you wish, but it cut into your social life a lot.

Minimum wage.
28 days holiday a year.
Christmas party.
10% staff discount.
Pros
Staff discount, Christmas partuy
Cons
Long hours, Managment culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place of work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire23 September 2017
staff are always willing to help when help is needed.
The job is physically demanding. Friendly and welcoming members of staff. it is a fast pace environment.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly staff
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire11 June 2017
Been working and still working with them, they are brilliant and can easily get along with the staff. And management are very supportive and willing to help if any problems arise
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job to take on!
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield2 November 2016
Home Bargains has no professionalism or set policy's in terms of it's management. Examples - when issues are brought to attention of the Managers, they are not dealt with fairly as some employee's are favored more than others due to personal relationships. Managers seem to throw there weight about on the employee's because of the position they are in yet have no qualifications.It has also been brought to attention that many employee's are in a relationship with one another, which again has not under-gone the procedural route set within the retail industry - a recent incident took place on the shop floor which was not dealt with properly by the Manager because of there "relationship" with that employee. Home Bargains has approx 5 Managers and none have any academic qualifications so this explains the poor management within the store. Similarly majority of the employee's employed are kids (i.e. college drop outs) whom have no idea about professionalism or how to speak which is another down fall. Home Bargain therefore should to undergo an investigation because of the lack of professionalism that takes place on day-day basis. Take my advice- a cleaning job is far better than working for Home Bargains!
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield20 June 2016
This is just a "job". go to work come home nothing fun about it do the same thing every shift nothing changes, would say the owner doesn't really understand some of the targets that are set need to be looked at by our point of view.
Cons
time of shift not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place on earth
Fill shift (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield16 May 2016
Management throw their weight about. Constantly saying we can sack you. Make me sick. Never again would I work for home bargains. That's why they are mostly young people, so the management can bully. Yes that's what they are bullies.
Pros
Met some lovely ppl on my shift
Cons
Timed on cages while also dealing with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a character building workplace
Till Assistant (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, ENG18 May 2015
This jjob was a joy to work. There were times where the was hard - but its not work if its not hard. Loved every moment at this company and would recommend anyone to have a part time job here. the hours work with your social life. Only downfall would be that pay is minimum wage.
Management are amazing at this company and push you to better yourself.
Pros
discounts on shopping, great works do!
Cons
shifts vary from short to long, you serve some a**holes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for
sales assistant (Current Employee) –  huddersfield28 April 2014
it can be a good place to work but can have bad parts too they do give a good christmas party but you have to be over 18 and work in the company for a year
Pros
christmas party
Cons
stock take
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good enivornemtn
Lead Sales/ Fill Shift Manager/ Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield2 December 2013
typical day to day work:

4 hour shifts which includes putting stock out from a day to day delivery on shelves. working withing a team of 10 people to ensure the ship floor is tidy and is in correct order.

i learned on how a good team put together as management can help achieve specific targets that are set by higher management and also learnt to work more individually to gain self confidence and motivation to do better.
Pros
holidays paid
Cons
disfunctional management team at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okish company
fill shift sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield20 October 2013
Used t work Huddersfield store got fired for been pregnant how good is that was only with them 5 yrs management a disgrace would start wit fill shift at 8 and sometimes not finish til 6 wit only half hr break stock takes would start at half 7am got remaining stock out and not get out of there till midnight wit no thank you or anything and expected to return for 8 next day after a 17 hr shift

Pros
Won employee of quarter once
Good pay
Staff friendly management useless
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, often emptying 5 cages a day. Badly managed but friendly co-workers help you through your day.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, Huddersfield12 October 2012
Currently working at Home Bargains located in Huddersfield at the Gallagher site in Waterloo.
Basic jobs involve stacking shelves, helping out customers with queries and some work on tills.
Very badly managed shop, stock is often left out days after its expiry date which has caused fines.
Allocation of works is often unbalanced, some sections of the shop will finish filling shelves long before others, and no work is reallocated to assist the longer and hard sections to fill.
No stock control what so ever, often we will have food products that don't sell but no record is taken of this and we continue to get the same products in day after day.
Thoroughly enjoy the staff there, they do a good job under the conditions and management failures.
I have learned how to use tills which was a long time coming also a greater insight into a different side of retail as I have worked at JD Sports before.
I always try to put my all into every job I am given, trying to achieve the highest possible standard and asking questions when stuck, but I am also a person you can leave to my own devices and I will complete the job as stated. However Home Bargains are often breathing down your necks, displaying little appreciation or trust for your work. It isnt a line of work I am enjoying much and would love an opportunity to develope my skills further and hopefully take on more challenging work.
Pros
payed above minimum wage and now have till training.
Cons
badly managed, no understanding of stock control, no much understanding of people management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practical work place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield24 September 2012
Ensuring stock replenishment is carried out. Serving on the till ensuring that transactions are carried out accurately and in a timely manner. Assisting customers and explaining the products. To carry out all other duties as and when requested by the manager.
Pros
gaining experience in dealing with customers.
Cons
not challenging enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more Home Bargains reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Bargains. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 802 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9