Home Bargains Employee Reviews in Birmingham

See reviews about:
Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 987 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be good, now management appauling
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands15 December 2017
Symptomatic of the way British Industry has gone since we joined the EU.
Lower wages, longer hours, incompetent management and poorer conditions.
No wonder they let immigrants flood into the country like they do …. they are the only ones desperate enough to put up with this pantomime.
Offer a decent wage, decent hours, decent managers and good health and safety working conditions like we had 30 years ago, and true British people would work hard for these companies.
Offering cleaners £5.06p/hr …. Jeez, isn't that illegal? ….I thought the minimum wage was £7-50p?
Pros
The tea breaks if you get one
Cons
Management, wages, working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unvalued
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham19 August 2017
Expected to work all areas of work on each and every shift. Can be called to tills without warning then be penalised for leaving caged unmanned. Disorganized work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unpleasent and unfair
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham20 March 2017
a place of work where no matter what you do always goes unappreciated. i am continuously on till one where you are unable to get off and help on shop floor so you can be sitting on till one from 8:30 -7:00. had an accident in work which left my finger dislocated and me in hospital and wasent reported in accident book! friendly staff but unfair management. at age 17 and earning just £45 for ten hours. and apparently you are only allowed to be ill twice a year??? :)
Pros
friendly satff
Cons
unfair management, bad wage, bad enviroment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a Job nothing else
Lead Sales (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 February 2017
Polices where never followed only when it suited them..
learned about running a shop,
i was managment for 1 year
same thing every day
nothing enjoyable
Pros
Staff christmas party
Cons
Life sapping
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun cleaning places
sales exclusive (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 December 2016
I am free from 9am - 7pm I learned how to clean and the management was very good. my co-workers were very polite my job was not hard at all I found it all very enjoyable.
Pros
extra money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 August 2016
made new friends learnt how to re stock and count change, also found that it helped me understand money a lot more than when i first started as i had only just left school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
sale assistant- home bargains (Former Employee) –  Birmingham25 April 2016
i kept the shop floor clean filling the shelfs but old the forut and new to back the back of shelfs i leared to bar code the goods. the management was great to work for.the co.works was happy and friendly to work with sometime it may be hard lifting some boxs but it was ok i enjoy the work and meeting people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morale
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham24 June 2014
Work colleages are great to get on with everybody is a team player, management are strict but fair and well organized.
Pros
instore discount and equal distribution overtimes
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG2 December 2013
Didnt learn much
Management was nice
Co-workers where ok some harder than others
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  birmingham23 July 2012
A typical day at work would be extremely busy, and you will always be on the move.
My confidence grew a little more from what it was when i started there due to constantly being involved with the public and also my patience grew stronger.
If i was honest the management wasnt very good there due to having his favourites and overall was a typical bully if you werent one of them.
Co-workers there were all very friendly and hard working and easy to get on with.
The hardest part of the job was probably when the peak hours came along and you had to work to finish cages you were unpacking and keeping the ques down at the tills.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the overall experience and getting to know people you would probably never meet if it wasnt for that job.
Pros
near to where i lived.
Cons
long hours and unfriendly management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report

See more Home Bargains reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Bargains. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 987 reviews
5182
4238
3283
2118
1166

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture