Home Bargains Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and busy workplace
Assistant General Manager Home Bargains (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset19 April 2018
Busy fast paced business,efficient and flexible.
great products and good benefits
very physical with delivery cages etc but all in all a good place to work
Pros
10% staff discount lots to buy
Cons
can be long hours ans very physical on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work!
Sales Assisstant (Current Employee) –  Middlesbrough12 April 2018
Lovely store, fantastic managers and decent pay.

Good first job, great hours as I was able to work around college hours.

Didn't like being on the tills when there were hardly any customers in the shop but that's no fault of the company.

Overall a great place to work.
Pros
shifts work around college/uni hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff Bay, Cardiff8 April 2018
it was an OK place to work the management didn't treat there workers fairly and had there favourites and didn't care about the other members of staff not good.
Pros
Some nice staff
Cons
Unfair hours. Horrible managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London6 April 2018
Home Bargains is a great retail store to work at, the staff were extremely kind and helped me through whatever task I was given. I enjoyed working here and gained a lot of experience out of it, the hours were flexible too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain new skills
Retail/Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  Walsall5 April 2018
A typical day at Home Bargain, as a store assistant is very challenging and rewarding. I learned how to deal with all sorts of customers in a professional manner. The management was very supportive and understanding. The workplace culture was mixed which I really liked because I got to meet different sorts of cultures. The hardest part of the job would be to work in a cold environment but then I did get use to it. The part of my job which I really enjoyed was meeting and helping new and existing customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incompetent management.
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Leeds4 April 2018
loved the staff i worked with. a great team. unfortunately management do not have a clue on how to run the place. you get notice of improvements daily but if you ring in sick nothing gets said! you can take holidays but management dont know how to book them so you lose money. stock takes are a joke. you have to work your shift and then start stock take and you cannot leave until its complete (1am or after) and still have to be in the following day for your next shift. plus you have to make your own way home after! i would not work for this company again. ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Harlow4 April 2018
Really good job had to work hard and everyone was polite and works well in a team everyone got on and there was never any trouble the management wasn’t too good but it was fine
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire4 April 2018
Job very secure not long hours 4 hour shifts mainly maximum of 20 hour contracts becomes very boring after a while not really any way of progressing cant make a living through the company unless you are supervisor assistant manager or manager of the store
Pros
secure job
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Banbridge, County Down3 April 2018
I would not recommended home bargains it is a poorly run company that gives little to no training to the management therefore they lack what managers should be like for example most of them are not very helpful and think they above manual labour and they also treat the staff like they have never work a day in there lives there is no respect and it can be very stressful do to not having more staff on when its needed and being made to work a shift without being asked or notified of it the amount of staff that leave in a small about of time says it all oh and don't think that the area managers are any help all they do is come in and tell you everything you did wrong

This company needs some real help they are clueless
Pros
Making new friends and discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for work, bad managment
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire27 March 2018
the pay for the work that you do is good, the work is not too hard for what is required, stores are set up neatly so will be able to find where stock belongs easily. However I was under 18 and legally entitled to 30 minute breaks yet was never given another con is if on fill shift you might not known when finish, they aim to finish at 1pm when start at 9am but most days i was finishing around 3pm
Pros
hours, pay for work
Cons
management, don't know when finish
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire26 March 2018
Belittling management, bullying staff, dangerous environment (lack of health and safety). No over time, bad pay. Childish behavior from staff and management
Pros
If you haven't killed your self by the end of the day then you've lived to fight another day
Cons
Working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wednesfield, West Midlands25 March 2018
This kind of job will definitely keep you on your feet! Fun, fast paced and active! It's definitely a decent job for someone who had other priorities. Someone who maybe had kids and can only work within certain time frames, be that days or hours! I enjoyed my time there but the wage was just not enough and the working hours always varied between 8 and 40! I enjoyed interacting with the customers whilst working on the tills as you get to know people over time and how they become regular customers as well as knowing they enjoy the service you provide for them! Always a confidence booster knowing your customers leaving the store happier than arriving.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Varied hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse places out there
Customer/Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kilmarnock24 March 2018
I worked there for a few months I generally enjoyed it good banter with staff and customers you worked at a fast pace which made time fly management were nice
Pros
nice clean shop, good banter, good facilities, staff discount
Cons
not long enough hours basic 16 hours, don't earn enough unless you have another job or a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eastleigh, Hampshire21 March 2018
Would never recommend this job to anyone, management is terrible and area managers are even worse, god forbid you're being bullied at work because absolutely nothing will be done about it. You're basically either stacking the shelves everyday or fixing other people's mistakes. If you show them you are capable of doing a good job, they expect you to do everyone's job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good For Young People
Store Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Bishop Auckland21 March 2018
If you're young be expected to only be working evening shifts, mainly on weekends, unless you specify the hours you are able to do. Also your shifts can be changed without you being told, so be sure to check the work rotor as often as you can. If working a late shift sometimes you can finish an hour after you are supposed to. Fine as a part time or weekend job, but wouldn't recommend. Our floor staff are dropping like flies for a reason.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Irregular shifts, hours can be longer than expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bognor Regis, West Sussex20 March 2018
Working for home bargains is a rewarding experience that rewards staff that shine. I feel my stay and experience there was well spent and positive. The staff were friendly and I felt the management done well to look after their staff.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, Durham20 March 2018
Serving on the tills,stock replenishment,keeping the store tidy. Management has changed over the years since my employment there.Friendly staff.Enjoyed my time working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Worker (Former Employee) –  Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire18 March 2018
never worked there long enough to give a proper review of the staff, management, salary or any other aspects of what this is requiring.
Had a very positive experience during my short time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire18 March 2018
I enjoyed this job I enjoyed stacking the shelves and working in a team that I didn’t do before I really got on with the staff they were really friendly and I respect that.
Pros
Hours
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible manager
Lead Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh14 March 2018
One manager In the store was absolutely vile to staff and other members of management from inappropriate comments and ignoring people for a whole 8 hour shift.
I honestly wouldn’t recommend company head office are a joke when putting in a grevence or complaint.
Only good thing is have me a little extra experience.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Bargains. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 884 reviews
5167
4212
3257
299
1149

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture