Holland & Barrett Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Glasgow (Former Employee) –  West end22 September 2018
Good job shame about management & supervision. Can't retain staff as they undermine lower level staff. They ask for personal email passwords of staff, shout at staff & make false allegations. Staff recently walked out and fired for unsubstantiated allegations such as theft. Understaffed so makes learning the job more difficult. Berate as oppose to talk to staff like adults.
Pros
Interesting products
Cons
Poor managenent & supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but need patience
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Wilmslow19 September 2018
Interesting leaving about products but I lost interest and fund boring, nice small store with management opportunities, a lot of training and learning
Pros
Can be interesting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management - con artists - harrow branch
Supervisor - Permanent (Current Employee) –  Harrow18 September 2018
Bad Management overall. They fake customer reviews in order to reach month end targets. No breaks.

The new manager (EVA) Somalian lady has no respect for any staff whatever their age or role in the store. The Assistant manager is her boyfriend/toy boy that also pays no attention to any of the customers and harreses all female staff in the shop.,
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady job
Manageress (Former Employee) –  n wales14 September 2018
hard work and periods of lone working in smaller stores . i learned a great deal about vitamins and minerals and how and why our body requires them. always in retail the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting customers
Pros
points reward cards and discount
Cons
lone hours and difficulty in getting cover when required
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Senior supervisor/assosiate (Former Employee) –  Deal6 September 2018
I was there almost 11 years they will work you to the bone and then stab you in the back avoid at all costs if you value your sanity and if you have a life they don't care
Pros
Meet lots of great work colleagues which h and b have lost
Cons
Management suck
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you have an actual real interest in health supplements
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  South West2 September 2018
Incredibly under staffed to the point where I once worked 17 days on the trot, and that wasn't considered an oddity. I would like to see how GDPR is affecting H&B as the KPIs and targets were to get people to hand over their email addresses, where we would assure them they would not be spammed, I received 4 emails today from Holland and Barrett.
Pros
Great training if you plan on wowing your mates with health food and supplement information
Cons
poor pay, under staffed and your knowledge will be useless when you start to read the labels
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Glasgow31 August 2018
If in management its decent with the amount of work and studying you do with full time hours but if part -time I understand it's way too much for the amount of hours/pay you get.

You get commission if you get the right amount of surveys but its never that easy so a lot of folk miss out on it.
Lone working is getting really bad/lack of staff/lack of hours.

Pay for management is not too bad so that is a pro! Plus good working hours unless doing unpaid overtime.
Pros
Pay
Cons
lone working
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Supervisor/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oxford28 August 2018
In theory this is a great retail job. It's more interesting than a normal retail job in that you get to learn about all kinds of natural medicine and nutrition.
Most of the stores in my area are short staffed which puts pressure on everybody. Lots of people don't feel supported when things get tough - which is often. For those of us who cash up at the end of a shift, we don't get paid for the extra 15 mins or so of work that we do after the doors shut.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moved around no time is your store then disciplined for things that happen when you are moved to work at various locations
Manger (Former Employee) –  Devon9 August 2018
UnEducated,Rude area manager . culture of bullying and Nepotism . Area manager employs sister in law and friends other staff are treated badly sad
Pros
Staff
Cons
Rude Area mangers, lone trading, unpaid constant overtime, innappropri
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont Work for this company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester7 August 2018
This is the worst company I have ever worked for. Lots of lone working (upto 3 hours per day) not very good health and safety and need to cross your legs at times due to long lone working hours. Company always looking to cut costs by cutting staffing hours and raising the price of products. Promotion change over day requires the managers to work upto 12 hours but only get paid for 7.75 hours. Lone working is a health and safety minefield with shoplifters targeting you when they know you are on your own. Area managers and regional managers have very poor management skills and resort to bullying tactics for staff and the stores to perform better which is impossible due to them cutting the staffing hours and expecpecting you to take more money when you can’t serve all of the customers due to not enough staff. CEO and directors are misguided and delusional in their ideas for improving the company when there is not enough staff to provide the customer experience they expect. Under paid over worked and expect you to complete your product training in your own time. Training is very interesting but be prepared to give up your social life and family life to become qualified to advise. There is no work life balance with this company and the pay does not reflect all the hard work that goes into your requirement to complete the training on time as if you fail the first part of your training within the probation period they will end your employment immediately, seriously reconsider applying. Holland and barrett say “we’re good for you”! My response to that is “not if you work for them”.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a job
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent, Staffordshire1 August 2018
Warehouse work is the same everywhere, the pay is good but x5 10 hour shifts a week isn’t, it’s good for an interim position but definitely not long term solution
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I’ve ever had
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Angel Station24 July 2018
There was soo much knowledge that they expected you to know after 6 weeks. It honestly felt like another university course rather than a part time job. It was very tiring and more physically exhausting than I expected. Management was horrible very inpatient and uncooperative at least the branch I was in. There was also a lot of gossiping about staff within management
Pros
Good pay and discount was 25%
Cons
Much content to learn, horrible management, hard physical work
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer advisor/assistant (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire10 July 2018
I enjoyed my time here, learned lots of new things. I ended up having good knowledge on healthy foods and medicines. I was able to handle and count money
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial and interesting
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Craigavon5 July 2018
Holland & Barrett is certainly a great company to work for if you have an interest in what they sell and are willing to make the effort and do the work which they require. I would say that this job is not suitable for students as it takes up quite a lot of time and extra revision for the exams which are mandatory within the job.
Pros
Beneficial and interesting
Cons
Revision and exams
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, Safe Company to work for.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Devon30 June 2018
Lots of training involved so always new things to learn.
Get to help out customers with health issues.
Lots of teamwork involved
Every day is different
Pros
Always new things to learn.
Cons
Lots of hard work involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London27 June 2018
The job itself was fun and easy if you believe what you’re selling. I found the training and education exciting and interesting. Pretty good team work to reach set targets- we broke a few records and had a few team celebrations. Only problems were when I needed my schedule changed (for uni- they had been warned when I accepted the job) and when our manager left and we had no replacement. During these times I was ignored and over worked (I hadn’t minded doing double contract during summer) and my previous manager made a few comments that were off key even swearing at a few staff members. Rest of the company was pretty good though.
Pros
Great training and education, fun if you enjoy health food and healthy lifestyle
Cons
Management unreasonable, couldn’t change hours, not much support during staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and team.
Assistant Store Manager (Tunbridge Wells) (Former Employee) –  Holland, UK25 June 2018
The NVQ training was great.
Good team spirit on every level.
Great product.
The educational side could be tailored to your own interests within the field.
Pros
Training, product, discount, teams.
Cons
Worst wages I've had since 2003, worst management salary I've ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dull place to work left to run a shop with hardly no product knowledge and a new person
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, Essex17 June 2018
Avoid this job if you want to be depressed and over worked worst job iv ever had no pay for staying late to cash up had three weeks training then was handed keys to run shop and training was very basic customers are ok some are very rude targets are way to high and work load to much for such poor pay cleaning toilets would be more fun and most staff don't have a clue about the products they just make it up as they go along very wrong but they get away with ii! Was left to run a store with a trainee having only been there for 10 weeks myself management don't care just tell you to get in with it absolutely appalling.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Where do I start
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work, shame the company cut hours often
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands14 June 2018
Great place to work, good benefits and gain a great knowledge in all the products sold which will stay with you for life. Get an Hour lunch break and other staff members are so friendly. However working alone happens regularly which can be boring as some shops do not get too busy
Pros
training provided, easy to progress, good discount
Cons
often cut contrated hours to save money and expect you to be okay with it, lone trading
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need good understanding of health
Sales Assistants (Former Employee) –  Bridlington23 May 2018
You will need to take in house exam at the end of extensive self study. but very interesting. Good communication skills and friendly approach is must,
Pros
commision
Cons
long sundays working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holland & Barrett. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 379 reviews
572
479
376
254
198

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture