Holland & Barrett Employee Reviews

Found 356 reviews matching the search See all 401 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job, terrible management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey8 December 2018
They expect a lot out of you for very little in return. Area management treat you as dirt if you are not in senior store management.
Store management will disregard any request you have if it doesn't fall perfectly inline with their own home life and will try to force you out of positions for standing up for yourself or other team members.
Pros
Absolutely nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under valued.
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  London8 December 2018
One of the worst places to work, asked to go above an beyond for little reward and 0 thank you's. The management was terrible leaving staff at a loss and being the ones that take the brunt of all negativity running right through from the customers to the area managers.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no help
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 November 2018
no staff/ no work life balance / your expected to work for free as a manager with the amount of tasks set for you to complete a couple of hours yeah but not 15+ hours every week no/ no help from asm's there too no existent to even bother about / can be a rewarding job customer/staff wise but in general avoid like the plague after working here for a number of years its slowly got worse and worse and cant wait to leave!.
Pros
none anymore
Cons
lots and lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London15 November 2018
Poor management who are not supportive and will constantly criticise but will not help you to become better.
I have never known a manager take so many holidays.
Lots of lone trading which encouraged shoplifters.
You will never work contact hours and will have hours changed on the day .expect phone calls asking where you are because you started an hour ago(someone changed the hours but didn’t tell you)
Lots of training which can be difficult if you are not interested in vitamins.
Nepotism.
Don’t expect a break.
Seemed like a hostel for managers family to hang out.
Probably my worst job so far.
Pros
25% discount
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more stressful that necessary
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Manchester29 October 2018
working on the tills
replenishing stock
taking temperature checks
labelling food
checking expiry dates of stock
moving stock from floor to floor
facing food
customer service
tax free forms

although there were multiple managers, the flagship store is run poorly. The store associates are the ones running the place and get paid half as much. However some avoid the tills and leave other staff members to serve queue after queue often missing their lunch breaks.
Facing and replenishing stock was easy and dealing with nice and difficult customers was no problem, the issue was the management team not organizing the staff so that the queues would build so easily and customers left ignored
Pros
shift pattern was good, good overtime, easy work
Cons
easy work made difficult with poor, uncooperative management, minimum pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&B mail older
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent, Staffordshire24 October 2018
I was work 8 month this place never not have problem the target I make but people management very very rude,unfrendly,discriminative!!!
Give heavy job without traning!
I working 50 hours a week 10 hours overtime and is takes 3 weeks for them to pay it
Wasted time!
If you want work there have to be under 23 girl
Maybe you have chance to contract!
Only work with white people
Pros
Lool
Cons
Rud
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shambles of a business....avoid
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northern Ireland16 October 2018
I would not go back to Holland and Barrett if my life depended on it...and if it did there is not one supplement in the store that is legit. Every product is backed by no science or studies and yet they are massively overpriced. They prey on the vulnerable to offer them fake hope
The management are a total disaster and will cut you off too save their own necks. If you want to earn minimal wage go work in a petrol station or something. To pay you minimal wage and expect you to advise people on medication is appalling.

Do yourself a favour and don't apply...the 5 star ratings on here are from Holland and Barrett management
Pros
25% discount
Cons
Terrible managment...terrible products. ..1970's working conditions and pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and false development opportunities
Prefer not to say (Former Employee) –  Prefer not to say14 October 2018
I worked for Holland & Barrett for 4 years and found that no matter how much I heard about "internal" progression and promotion opportunities, they always seemed to recruit from outside the business. This was extremely off-putting as I am driven by progression and development which I saw none of, I often went out of my way to complete tasks which were nothing to do with my role to gain experience in hope of a possible promotion, apparently they value tears over honest hard-work.

Unfortunately, the managers were very selfish and didn't take pride in their team's work and they often took credit for themselves, they'd also talk down about the business regularly which made their teams even more unhappy. I found this very unprofessional.

Although the general day-to-day work life was fairly cheerful due to other upbeat members of staff, a lot of improvement is needed where flexibility and development is concerned.

In my opinion, they need to review all the manager's thoroughly, look into a possible training programme and to concentrate on making the employees happy as well as driving sales. As they say, teamwork makes the dream work...
Pros
Staff discount.
Cons
Not very flexible for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London30 September 2018
Personally, I had only volunteered at Holland and Barrett for a month so I cannot comment on salary and job benefits, but I did enjoy working there for the short period of time I was there. I would recommend working in Holland in Barrett if you are interested in healthcare products, as unlike other food retail companies, Holland and Barrett requires you to be very knowledgeable about all the products they sell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average retailer
STORE MANAGER/ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London28 September 2018
When there was a nice, professional and friendly Area Manager it was good to work there. Otherwise work not enough rewarding comparing to efforts put into business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work in
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  suffolk26 September 2018
Supportive management and team, with the opportunity to progress within the role.
Great learning opportunity too, gained in depth knowledge regarding health foods and vitamins and was supported to be confident to advise. Good quality training.
Typical day consisted of, ensuring shop floor was clean, tidy and safe for customers and staff. serving and assisting shoppers with their needs.
Hardest part of the job was advising customers who were on other medication that some products may not be suitable.
Best part of the job is being part of a team and working together to achieve targets.
Pros
brilliant staff discount
Cons
lots of training involved
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Thames25 September 2018
It’s a very nice company to work you learn so much about health, but the company it self and the management it’s not very nice the store as a health store it’s not very clean.
Pros
25% discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management, too much training that is not paid for
Slave (Former Employee) –  East Sussex25 September 2018
Ridiculous training to do outside of hours and it's not paid. Bad management, overlook your needs. See you as a number on a spreadsheet and not a person
Pros
No pros
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Warwick25 September 2018
this job was a great job i achived alot at this workpklace they pushed ne to do bigger better things staff were friendly overall great job enjoyable WORK PLACE
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Broughty Ferry23 September 2018
Lone working for long hours is terrible
Good practise with customer experience
Unachievable targets stress out the management in every store
Not extra pay for staying for promo change.
Pros
25% off
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Glasgow (Former Employee) –  West end22 September 2018
Good job shame about management & supervision. Can't retain staff as they undermine lower level staff. They ask for personal email passwords of staff, shout at staff & make false allegations. Staff recently walked out and fired for unsubstantiated allegations such as theft. Understaffed so makes learning the job more difficult. Berate as oppose to talk to staff like adults.
Pros
Interesting products
Cons
Poor managenent & supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but need patience
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Wilmslow19 September 2018
Interesting leaving about products but I lost interest and fund boring, nice small store with management opportunities, a lot of training and learning
Pros
Can be interesting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management - con artists - harrow branch
Supervisor - Permanent (Current Employee) –  Harrow18 September 2018
Bad Management overall. They fake customer reviews in order to reach month end targets. No breaks.

The new manager (EVA) Somalian lady has no respect for any staff whatever their age or role in the store. The Assistant manager is her boyfriend/toy boy that also pays no attention to any of the customers and harreses all female staff in the shop.,
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady job
Manageress (Former Employee) –  n wales14 September 2018
hard work and periods of lone working in smaller stores . i learned a great deal about vitamins and minerals and how and why our body requires them. always in retail the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting customers
Pros
points reward cards and discount
Cons
lone hours and difficulty in getting cover when required
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Senior supervisor/assosiate (Former Employee) –  Deal6 September 2018
I was there almost 11 years they will work you to the bone and then stab you in the back avoid at all costs if you value your sanity and if you have a life they don't care
Pros
Meet lots of great work colleagues which h and b have lost
Cons
Management suck
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holland & Barrett. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 402 reviews
573
482
380
260
1107

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.7Culture