HM Prison Service Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job
Officer (Former Employee) –  London SE, Greater London6 May 2018
This job is very interesting, you will meet people from all backgrounds and from all nationalities with all different needs.
It can be a very rewarding job but aslo very stressful because you will witness things you would not normally see.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
Senior Officer (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol1 May 2018
Overall the prison service has been a very good experience for me, promoting teamwork but also allowing you to express yourself and work with minimum supervision. The work is routine based, however, you never know what is going to happen from day to day. It can be a very challenging but at the same time very rewarding with a great deal of job satisfaction.

I enjoy working within a team but can also work with minimum supervision. Workplace culture is something I would think that can be alien to most people but that feeling of helping someone and a job well done is very satisfying.
Pros
Excellent teamwork
Cons
Long hours, shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful staff , no management skills
Senior Officer (Former Employee) –  All Over9 April 2018
I worked at various HMP’s over many years. At first it was ok but at a certain prison in Redditch the bullying towards one member of staff was off the scale. She was brilliant at her job and I believe other staff resented it.
No support from management, staff bully inmates and laugh about it then moan when the prisoners turn on them.
Great if you’re a bully or a thug. But if you genuinely want to help someone you’d be in the wrong job.
Pros
Overtime pay
Cons
Long hours, no support, horrible staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great But Be Cery Careful
Prison Officer (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire7 April 2018
Great Job but very challenging & dangerous..
You'd think I was talking about Prisoners..

Well no its the Staff ..2 faced & Racist. Management cover it up all the time.

If you act like a big head then be prepared to get a big knock down to earth..by Prisoners..Be firm but fair..
Never ever give in to them or you will end up being their dog.

Trust no staff Ever. All 2 faced.
Pros
Good scoop to move up the ladder ..
Cons
Staff worse than the Prisoners, Management dont care
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organisation, Great team of people
Case Administrator (Current Employee) –  Wales3 April 2018
We do a very difficult job under very challenging circumstances.
No two days are the same, so we are never bored, but we are very proud to be part of this organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company
Prison Officer (Former Employee) –  Preston21 March 2018
working for the Prison service is a demanding job , every day was different, however the job was secure but management didn't really care about staff , leaving staffing levels dangerously low.
Pros
good hours and pay
Cons
poor staffing levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work great team. As you rely on each other for support
Maintenance Operative (Current Employee) –  Redditch27 February 2018
I joined the service in 1993 as a prison officer which I did for the first 12 months before moving into the works department which I found I was more suited to. I learnt a lot of new skills and became trained as a locksmith. I always imagined I would be there until I retired but our department was put in the hands of a private sector company who have no experience of prison maintenance. Which has lead to many long serving experienced staff leaving. As I will be
Pros
Great bunch of staff members
Cons
Working in a sometimes disturbing and scary environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please don’t do it
Prison Officer (Former Employee) –  Redditch, Worcestershire20 February 2018
I worked as a prison officer for just over 13 years. As you can imagine I have seen it all. Nowadays the bad days overrule the good days. Prisoners are running the houseblocks. New staff are generally 18-23 with very little life experience, new staff are learning the job from staff with less than 12 months experience. The amount of serious assaults against staff has risen 10 fold, with honestly very little consequence to the offenders.
I certainly would not recommend this job to anybody.
Very few supportive governors, most governors are out to further their own career by stepping on the shop floor staff.
The service needs a complete overhaul from top to bottom.
Prison officers are being promoted to senior officers after just coming out of 12 months probation.
Think would you want to go home every single night worrying what you had to walk back into the next day? Whether you were going to get seriously assaulted, covered in human excrement, slashed across the face with a razor melted into a toothbrush, find a prisoner hanging, dead!
Is it worth it for just over £20k??
Pros
Commaradrie, overtime payments.
Cons
Daily assaults, high stress rates, inept governors
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Institutionally Corrupt Organisation
Supervisory Prison Officer (Former Employee) –  Surrey19 February 2018
A failing organisation which puts nepotism and appeasement above the basic point of the Service. The remuneration for the demands of the job fails to recognise the complexity, danger and necessary skills. Underfunded, abysmally managed, in dire need of root and branch reform.
Pros
non
Cons
pay, working conditions, risk of assaults, no management support
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greasy team
Prison Officer (Current Employee) –  Sutton, Greater London11 February 2018
Lots of commardie, no day is the same, continuous learning , only leaving as due to retire. Need to be compassionate, caring but stay in control. You have good days and bad days but the good outweigh the bad. Be prepared for the out ragous. Sometimes you can be mother, father, care worker.
Pros
Good company to work for good pension
Cons
Can be long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report

Want to know more about HM Prison Service?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to be discussed sorry
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Norwich8 February 2018
Not to be discussed sorry.I was bullied in this environment.Clinical lead at that time as well as other nurses is not supportive to newly staff members.
Pros
Good rxperience
Cons
Bully
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't advise it
Prison Custody Officer (Former Employee) –  London28 January 2018
Hard work...staff are harder to deal with than prisoners.
Zero support from anyone on a management level.
Corrupt staff.
The service hires anyone these days
Pros
Wages
Cons
Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous
Prison officer (Current Employee) –  Hm prison service27 January 2018
violence and bullying on a daily basis. Management don't care about staff unless it's an issue that could go to Press. Daily assaults on staff- leading to high levels of sickness and stress levels. Officers commit to long hours, working understaffed, in dangerous surroundings, for absolutely no respect in return.
Pros
Training provides good transferable skills that other jobs may desire
Cons
Long hours, wage doesn't match the risk of the job, management don't care about staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 32NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place with llts of challenges.
Proson officer (Former Employee) –  HMP Liverpool24 January 2018
The prison service is a good career with lots of variety. It requires both team players and staff who can work as an individual. I have been lucky enough to have worked at Liverpool prison for 32 years.
Pros
Yhe job gives you a secure future.
Cons
The hours can be long and unsociable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont do it
Prison Officer (Former Employee) –  Full Sutton, East Riding of Yorkshire23 January 2018
need time off due to serious illness or hospitalization? you will get the sack.
management don't listen even when serious security issues are raised.
extremely high incidents of staff bullying other members of staff. management ignore.

low staffing levels putting untrained support grades on wings pit officers at risk.

you definitely do not come out with what they advertise. more like 19k
Pros
its a wage
Cons
its too high a price to pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volatile place to work
Prison Officer (Former Employee) –  Rochester18 January 2018
Teaching offenders to lead more constructive lives
Patience and interpersonal skills
Unsupportive
Camorarderie.
Violent behaviour
Not seeing offenders return
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Unsocial hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive
HEAD OF LEARNING (Former Employee) –  MIdlands8 January 2018
This is a really complex place to work but the rewards are vey good which out weighs the issues faced daily working in the environment.
I was very proud to have been a part of this organisation
Pros
positive people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding job just don't do it no support what so ever
Prison Officer (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire20 December 2017
Very demanding job no need to mention stress 10 miles walk per shift 🤣 mostly no ones know what they are doing prisoners are like betari box some are bad. Money HMP pay is very low compare to what they ask you to do long process of job application then training then massive SHOCK when you start job but you'll be okay 😁

Big thing is you are no where near paid for what you go through and make a mistake and that it you could be facing bars your self good luck with it and you need a big one
Pros
None
Cons
You dnt know what you are going in to
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you work for Home Office
Prison Nurse (Former Employee) –  Risley, Cheshire20 December 2017
I loved it, worked in a remand centre. when it was (PNS) Prison Nursing Service.
Staff at that time were mainly ex forces. get working environment.
Good pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Safeguarding Custodial Manager (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire29 November 2017
A safe and secure establishment committed to the well being of its resisdents.
Staff are approachable and friendly promoting a good atmosphere across the prisons population
Pros
good work life balance
Cons
night shifts required
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HM Prison Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 204 reviews
548
470
354
219
113

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.4Culture