HM Courts & Tribunals Service Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Admin Officer (Current Employee) –  Port Talbot4 February 2019
Good workplace, with wonderful managers and good technical training, friendly atmosphere despite impending cuts to the civil service and low pay rates. Often dealt challenging situations in liaising between the court and the public, however good support from managers.
Pros
flexiable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying by lazy management
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall16 January 2019
The most unprofessional environment I have ever worked in with the most unprofessional & lazy management team I have ever worked for. The culture of bullying starts at the top & works its way down. If you try to defend yourself you are singled out as a trouble maker & your life is made even more difficult then it was before. No training or help given by management you are just left to your own devices & then you are dragged into an office & chastised when you make a mistake. If you’re thinking of applying I would advise you not to.
Pros
Not one
Cons
An endless list
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Establishment
Senior Administration Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London9 December 2018
standard government department which will support you in your role as well as develop your career.

always something new to learn or discover within the justice system
Pros
flextime
Cons
unforeseen delays resulting in longer days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if the face fits
Admin Officer (Former Employee) –  Yorkshire and Humberside29 October 2018
Most toxic unhealthy place to work. Very rewarding for bullies bigots and reprobates. Staff spend time indulging in toxicity and bullying rather than processing work which is saved./hoarded to fraudulently get paid overtime. All endorsed by managers.This is at tax payers expense.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're young it's not a place you want to work
Usher (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London27 October 2018
Some managers are not hands on and are to busy to actually manage. They shouldn't be managers if they don't have the time.

Culture in the work place can be very negative, people seem to forget it is a professional setting rather that familiar

It's definitely not for young people as work can get so monotnous and boring.
pay id absolutely rubbish for a government department
Pros
flexi clock
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ok place to work
Tribunal Clerk (Former Employee) –  wessington way, sunderland14 September 2018
the tribunal service was a fine placed to work. it had many interesting aspects including the day to day running and the clientelle were a diverse group
Pros
It paid reasonbly
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUsy and enjoyable
Customer Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Morley, West Yorkshire17 August 2018
Whilst I really enjoyed the varied role and speaking to customers / defendants the job was only temporary and offered no job security.
It was really busy and your days went quickly. The people were great.
Pros
Brilliant people
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achieving a just outcome
Recorder and Deputy District Judge (Former Employee) –  Hampsire11 June 2018
Trying criminal and civil cases, doing one's best to get to the right result, not able to please everyone all the time, but at least ensuring that everyone gets a fair hearing
Pros
As above
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside16 February 2018
Whilst at this work experience I developed my multi tasking skills as well as my communication skills. With the organisation dealing with areas which are important to a lot of people, I had to ensure that my work was put forward in a professional manner and that I was always on the ball for other commands and be prepared for sudden change in job tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hmcts
officer (Former Employee) –  Kent24 January 2018
Good workplace, with wonderful managers and good technical training, friendly atmosphere despite impending cuts to the civil service and low pay rates. Often dealt challenging situations in liaising between the court and the public, however good support from managers.
Pros
Atmosphere, Training, Management
Cons
Low pay, little job security and room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no progression
Case Worker (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London4 December 2017
No room for progression, low morale and not a positive environment to work in. minimal training given and no oppertunity to further your career or develop skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Administration Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 September 2017
A stable environment, however not particularly exciting and ambitious environment. Does not offer a large amount of potential to develop or be rewarded for work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.not a good place to work
Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  Moulton park5 September 2017
.Hmcts was a great place to work when I started in may 2001. Lots of changes not fir the better lots of uncertainty about the future good chance of reduncecy or transfer.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
No future
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands12 July 2017
Good place to work. Varied work. Different each day.

Downfalls are Job security and not much room for development or progression.

However skill building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever to work
Magistrates Legal adviser (Former Employee) –  Wales22 June 2017
Bully boy tactics Awful pay Treated as third class citizen as opposed to an employee Not praised for anything well done but punished for something badly done however little
Managers don't manage-they rule. I think it's called dictatorship. Line managers are too scared to do anything wrong so are not in a position to support their staff. It's pointless being qualified as a professional because you don't have the right to put your professionalism into practice. You have no freedom to practice as a professional. The more effort and hard work you put into this company the worse you're treated. I would never ever advise anybody to work for HMCTS. They certainly do not represent openness fairness and honesty, and that's a fact
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours with little pay, bullying managers, no support, undervalued and no recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and no one day is the same
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey21 June 2017
Varied administrative duties.
Attention to detail and accuracy a must.
Discretion and tact required.
Ability to work with people from all walks of life.
Compassion and ability to listen.
Dealing with complaints-fact finding and resolution.
Data Protection awareness.
Interviewing public and counter duties.
Bailiff clerk,District and Circuit Judges clerk.
Family and Childrens clerk.
Pros
flexi time
Cons
Long hours and dual courts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough at times but rewarding
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Hampshire1 March 2017
I have always enjoyed meeting a wide variety of people in this role, both my colleagues and customers.
Sadly however, change is not always managed efficiently and it can be difficult to progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally treated like an idiot
Executive Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham8 October 2016
Never worked anywhere where the staff are so used and abused by the management team. Tasks are set only for management to move the goalposts then blame staff for not achieving. staff turnover for a civil service organisation is ridiculous. Everyone I know is trying to leave some even quitting to go on benefits rather than work there. Highest level of stress and mental health sickness i have ever seen in a work place.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing very interesting workplsve
Court Clerk (Current Employee) –  Peterborough5 October 2016
I have worked in The Court Service for 30 years and have received a long standing employee award.

I have done many different roles within the service so am able to cover each department in each Court


The Court Service is experiencing Change which I find interesting and challenging

The Court Service has always been a reputable organisation which I am pleased to be a part of.
Pros
Free parking and flexible working hours
Cons
Long days if heavy list
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting place to work
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne3 October 2016
A very interesting place to work and I was made very welcome by the Court Officials. However, there is very little scope for advancement as promotion prospects are limited
Pros
Interesting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HM Courts & Tribunals Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 47 reviews
57
418
313
24
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

HM Courts & Tribunals Service Reviews by Location