HGV Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feel better
Driver (Current Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands18 January 2018
i have learned various skills that makes my day to day activity easy. i have also learnt the importance of making my work place tidy and safe. i have also enjoy HGV class 2 driver !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGV Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Boots Coatbridge, G&M Distribution Chapelhall23 November 2017
Agency driver HGV 1 and 2, it was good to be able to chose witch jobs to take, location, starting times, and days worked and type of work and destination.
Pros
Choice of Job
Cons
Working sometimes at short notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Driver John Quinn's And Son's (Former Employee) –  Sheffield8 November 2017
this is not a job for every one living in a tin can couldn't even stand up in the cabs good truck and trailers just to small cabs. didn't stay to long but it was an experience
Pros
good wage
Cons
cabs to small
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fleet, Hampshire22 October 2017
Learnt a lot while here, great office to work in and everyone is so motivated to do well and the office is never quiet, full of young people who thrive in their environment and the CEO does a great job.
Pros
PS4 at breaks and lots of banter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hgv driver for an agency
Driver (Former Employee) –  worcester and crick Northants13 September 2017
Very little contact was made with the agency office as i was on a contract with an internet retail company .My work training in all new laws as a hgv driver for a large company beforehand led my work to be fulfilled to a high standard
Pros
very clean vehicles, not pushed or rushed in the days work
Cons
very little contact from the agency office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving an recovery
Driver (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire17 August 2017
working with people and very good at my job i give 110% on everything i do worked all my life i have a clean bill off health and iam 52 and very hard working will travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGV driver
HGV Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  UK23 July 2017
Good job but you need experience A typical day is anything between 9 or 15 hours. Get yourself a good Sat Nav A car one wont do get a truck one. Take your time if they offer training write things down so you know the job,
Pros
listening to lots of music
Cons
getting lost
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
abcdefghijk
Technician, James Hart (Former Employee) –  Hart15 July 2017
this was a good job, nice people to work for, I enjoyed the work and the people aswell as the location. It was a good company to work for before I left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  London Heathrow Airport, Greater London24 April 2017
Day AT Work

when i start work trasport department give me vehicle key, then i check first whole vehicle any damage.after check tyres,fuel.indicaters and start vehicle, put the taco on.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal day
Driver (Current Employee) –  Bedwas, Caerphilly29 March 2017
no day is the same learned to talk more to yard staff
workplace culture is more banter with other drivers hardest part of job would be working nights most enjoyable is the change of scenery everyday instead of being stuck indoors
Pros
outside
Cons
traffic jams/accidents
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
HGV Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire26 January 2017
nice people and very profecional, long huors,good place to work,good management, i was learned frezer traler and double dackers
Pros
good managment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
HGV class 1,2 (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire14 December 2016
Early morning start, nice people in office, helpfull team, good training provide, met new friends, learned new and interesting things
Pros
free coffee
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summary
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lancaster6 October 2016
A typical morning consists of an early start, check my truck is up to legal standard and is fully road worthy before filling in the relevant paperwork. Once on the road I have to ensure any loads get to the their destination safely and quickly, I may have to think quickly for an alternate route if the planned route has delays. At the end of what could be a 15 hour day I then then check the truck over again and fill in relative paperwork. Paperwork for the loads is done periodically through the day at collection and delivery points.
Pros
No 2 days are the same
Cons
Long hours, too much time away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated HGV driver
HGV Driver (Former Employee) –  London26 September 2016
Multi-drop experience as a HGV driver in London.
Cheerful and motivated young person able to start job from Today.
Very good skills as a HGV driver in London. Safety driving.
I am the driver of the HGV. Working in London allowed me to gain a lot of experience in the city where driving is very dangerous.
London is a busy, poorly suited for hgv and a lot of careless drivers.
As a result, in a year's time I gained a lot of experience as a HGV driver and I'm not afraid of anything.
In previous work, an important role was to be always smiling and pleasant for customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
HGV driver (Current Employee) –  Rishton16 August 2016
Working enviroment not too bad but could better there could be more appreciation for the work force the good parts of the job are you are out on the road basically being your own boss at time
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, friendly but professional atmosphere.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent28 July 2016
My daily duties consisted of valeting and delivering vehicles, and my customer service skills have been greatly enhanced through this post. The management of the company is consistent and organised and is supported well with good working relationships from co workers. On occasion the job was challenging due to heavy workloads and tight time schedules however I felt supported and assistance was always available. The most enjoyable part of the job was delivering to a satisfied customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Mixer Driver (Former Employee) –  London26 July 2016
I was working in central London delivering concrete all over the place
I get good experience with the traffic in London and good knowledge with all the streets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Technician (Current Employee) –  Scotland13 June 2016
hgv technicians job hard work long hours with call out means not much time to yourself oh and the shift work just gets better
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hatfield20 April 2016
Vos Logistics is one of the most professional transport companies, with well known clients as Michelin, Scania, Volvo, Benson Dickinson, etc.
I enjoyed to work on this company, and enjoyed to be colleague with the peoples who work there.
Pros
Professional
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best of places
Course Recruiter (Former Employee) –  London16 March 2016
mix of good and bad colleagues
encouraged to steal each other's leads if someone is off for the day instead of placing a call back
take £25 from your pay if you are literally 1 minute late and don't consider delays on public transport
unrealistic targets to keep commission payout to minimum
Pros
none
Cons
bad culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HGV. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 74 reviews
533
422
314
23
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

HGV Reviews by Location