HGV Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none to give
Driver (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough3 August 2018
good firm to work for communication was good sourced work for you to save your having to do it yourself, management were friendly and help as much as they can
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Money Hard work
Driver class 1 (Former Employee) –  Huthwaite25 July 2018
Driving job had more work placed on the drivers when new contract was signed extra pressure put on everybody and no recognition or thanks. Very poor management skills all round
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
HGV Technician, Dyfed Steel Ltd (Current Employee) –  Llanelli13 June 2018
Work was varied and plenty of responsibility given. Flexible working hour s and patterns. Enjoyed working here a lot. Only leaving because of relocation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Ok
Truck cleaner (Former Employee) –  Longton, Lancashire11 June 2018
This job was flexible however the work hours were mainly on Saturdays which was rather unsociable. The pay was good for my age however the actual work was strenuous for what was deserved.
Pros
Free tea coffee
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician
Technician/Mechanic - Creamline Dairies (Former Employee) –  Eccles28 April 2018
Good company, enjoyed my time here. Have learnt a lot whilst being at company. The product range has increased over the years to grow with the changing business climate.
Pros
Good Culture, Good Rate of Pay
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with bad management
Self Employed (Former Employee) –  Greenside, Tyne and Wear22 April 2018
Work day started at 3.30am, deliver ready mixed mortar to designated building sites around the North East area and drive within HGV hours. After every delivery I had to wash out the machines. I learnt good communications skills with new building site managers, along with time management skills.It was a solitary job, mainly working along. The hardest part of the job were the hours with little time off. The most enjoyable part of the job was delivering further afield and seeing new areas and meeting new people.
Pros
Paying off a new lorry
Cons
Working hours, stress and anxiety of fulfilling delivery deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
badly run
HGV Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire28 March 2018
i think this place is badly run, as there are to many chiefs and not enough Indians, people think there higher up than other people because the boss has favorites.
Pros
some nice lads
Cons
to many bosses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGV Driver
Driver - Durham Box (Current Employee) –  Bishop Auckland26 March 2018
Good place to work

been here 3 years as a hgv driver. Travelled all over the North East delivering cardboard boxes to customers.

Overtime available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Redditch22 March 2018
God company to work for, productive with excellent training provided. Nice place to work, good managements, understanding. Good rates of pay, flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feel better
Driver (Current Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands18 January 2018
i have learned various skills that makes my day to day activity easy. i have also learnt the importance of making my work place tidy and safe. i have also enjoy HGV class 2 driver !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGV Driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Boots Coatbridge, G&M Distribution Chapelhall23 November 2017
Agency driver HGV 1 and 2, it was good to be able to chose witch jobs to take, location, starting times, and days worked and type of work and destination.
Pros
Choice of Job
Cons
Working sometimes at short notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Driver John Quinn's And Son's (Former Employee) –  Sheffield8 November 2017
this is not a job for every one living in a tin can couldn't even stand up in the cabs good truck and trailers just to small cabs. didn't stay to long but it was an experience
Pros
good wage
Cons
cabs to small
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward Facing And Dymanic
V. driver (Former Employee) –  Barnsley2 November 2017
The Vehicles Are Modern And Easy To Work With, Most Of The Management Are Ok Guys, They Give You Your Job And Leave You To It, If You Decide To Progress In The Company There Is Plenty Of Opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fleet, Hampshire22 October 2017
Learnt a lot while here, great office to work in and everyone is so motivated to do well and the office is never quiet, full of young people who thrive in their environment and the CEO does a great job.
Pros
PS4 at breaks and lots of banter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hgv driver for an agency
Driver (Former Employee) –  worcester and crick Northants13 September 2017
Very little contact was made with the agency office as i was on a contract with an internet retail company .My work training in all new laws as a hgv driver for a large company beforehand led my work to be fulfilled to a high standard
Pros
very clean vehicles, not pushed or rushed in the days work
Cons
very little contact from the agency office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving an recovery
Driver (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire17 August 2017
working with people and very good at my job i give 110% on everything i do worked all my life i have a clean bill off health and iam 52 and very hard working will travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGV driver
HGV Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  UK23 July 2017
Good job but you need experience A typical day is anything between 9 or 15 hours. Get yourself a good Sat Nav A car one wont do get a truck one. Take your time if they offer training write things down so you know the job,
Pros
listening to lots of music
Cons
getting lost
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
abcdefghijk
Technician, James Hart (Former Employee) –  Hart15 July 2017
this was a good job, nice people to work for, I enjoyed the work and the people aswell as the location. It was a good company to work for before I left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  London Heathrow Airport, Greater London24 April 2017
Day AT Work

when i start work trasport department give me vehicle key, then i check first whole vehicle any damage.after check tyres,fuel.indicaters and start vehicle, put the taco on.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal day
Driver (Current Employee) –  Bedwas, Caerphilly29 March 2017
no day is the same learned to talk more to yard staff
workplace culture is more banter with other drivers hardest part of job would be working nights most enjoyable is the change of scenery everyday instead of being stuck indoors
Pros
outside
Cons
traffic jams/accidents
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HGV. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 84 reviews
536
425
318
23
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture