HGV Class Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search See all 62 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
'Easy to get on with' staff.
Driver-Lombard Express-Kettering (Current Employee) –  Kettering21 July 2018
The members of staff are friendly.
Salary is good, but you have to work long days.
Lorries are in a good condition.
You get given your own personal delivery area, e.g. Rushden, which makes delivering easy once you get familiar with it.
Pros
Deliver in own, personal delivery area. Uniform. Use same lorry each day.
Cons
Long hours. Delays at delivery points.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly Productive Domain
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Various11 January 2019
Responsibility all the way.
Learning every day.
Management depends on experience.
Responsibility dictates the rules.
Same responsibility, but credit crunch pay.
Money lump sum in account.
Pros
Long Hours + Nights Out Pay
Cons
Responsibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hgv
Driver hiab (Current Employee) –  Ilkeston31 December 2018
You work long hours and taken for granted they have no idea on compliance and I have to do all planning and make sure we are compliant and so on which is not my job but to make sure we are I do also work loads extra hours and not get paid for it
Pros
None
Cons
Loads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  nationwide30 September 2018
The job in general is a good job you just have to find the right work environment for your own life. A typical day can be spent travelling and delivering various products on multi drop deliveries. The hardest part of the job can be the long hours and overnight stays in your HGV. However if you drive long haul the best part is seeing part of the country you might not have before and the freedom that comes with being on the road.
Pros
Seeing the country
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 January 2019
I work for Sandwell council as a hgv driver the hours are short but the pay is low. The hourly rate isn’t great but if it suits you the hours are great.
Pros
Low hours
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire20 October 2018
Poor place to work only have 9 hour rest expected to do 12 to 15
Hour shift with only 9 hours off. Bad planning by management only
Plan for a day rather than the week. Wages are a joke 9 pound a hour Saturday rate the same cowboy owners
Pros
No pros
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun at times
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  South wales1 July 2018
Overall not a bad place to work
Good workforce willing to help if particularly busy day
Management pretty hands on , and personally have always helped me when asked
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Dust bin waggon Driver (Former Employee) –  Oldbury, West Midlands8 October 2018
Drove a reaer end loading dustbin waggon, driving all around the west midlands to collect waste.

The thing i loved about this job the most is being out on the road and not stuck in an office, i was the fittest ive ever been and enjoyed every day.

I also used to drive the front end loader, skip waggon and roll on roll off's
Pros
Being out on the road locally
Cons
there were non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
DRIVER, HYDRO CLEANSING (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 December 2018
the company was a good company to work for, i was trained as a drain engineer and i would be sent to several jobs across London to unblock drains and cees tanks, clean building sites of slurry and also be on call outs for gillies and floods.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tata steel was a great place to work with some amazing colleagues
ADR Driver (Current Employee) –  Sheffield1 October 2017
Tata steel (now Liberty steel) win Rotherham was a great place to work with some amazing colleagues (now friends for life).The work was different and challenging every day, it was place that I enjoyed going too but the uncertainty of being made redundant every 6 months or so was always hanging over your head.
Pros
Salary, work mates
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient business
Trunk Driver (Former Employee) –  Darlington12 June 2018
Transporting goods to national distribution centres and planning routes
Workplace culture was polite
Shift patterns were hardest part of job
Most enjoyable was working using own initiative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff17 January 2018
Good pay at this company, hours could be long and a lot of time away from home. All in all though a decent company, the boss could sometimes shout alot
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Castleford, West Yorkshire28 July 2017
good employer with good benefits and packages. good working times and flexibility around shifts. good work life balance and great team to work with......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Driver, Trunking (Former Employee) –  Birmingham5 June 2018
Working as a driver I have gained experience in a wide variety of driving procedures.

Skills and experience that has been beneficial.

staff polite, always there to help.

Training courses provided.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Driver (Non-ADR) (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SCT26 February 2015
good contract work ongoing. plenty of overtime and company benefits
duties:
Based at Alton’s operations base Aberdeen Peterhead south base and ARR Craib yard Dyce. Duties include all aspects of oil and gas industries transportation and logistical needs in the region. Transportation of drilling equipment and other goods,
Also Incorporating movement of abnormal loads requiring movement orders as and when required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pentalver
Driver class 1 (Former Employee) –  Cannock, Staffordshire8 March 2017
Iam was working night shifts,i was transporting containers to docks and back.good salary for drivers,good team,safety was on high standard,i learned entry to docks and paperwork what i should done
Pros
free breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Driver (Current Employee) –  Oldbury12 March 2018
I am a driver from the West Midlands working on the national supply chain proud of my family and safe working with indeed on career progression in transport and logistics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun to work in
1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Scotland1 February 2018
- fun and easy to manage
- learning to manage customers and colleague
- work culture is friendly
- hardest part of the job road concentration concern
- the most enjoyable part is the long distance drives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGV driver
1 DRIVER, PRESTONS FUEL AND HAULAGE (Former Employee) –  Nation wide26 February 2018
Learnt the skills required for general haulage.
How to load vehicles, navigate around the country and make deliveries.
Generally learnt the skills required to move on in general haulage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hgv class 1
Hgv class1 (Former Employee) –  Bradford4 January 2017
Everything perfect so far so good. I do tramping job delevering parcels across the UK. It contains long hours and sometimes short hours. Really enjoyed the job because I have been in different places and acquired different skills as well.
Pros
Daily lunch allowance
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HGV Class. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 62 reviews
525
414
316
24
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture