Hertfordshire County Council Employee Reviews

Showing all 95 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Administratin (Current Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire21 October 2018
The benefits are non-existent. No career progression, extremely poor pay, management awful even though there’s more managers than staff. You only get on in this company if your face fits or you’re prepared to grovel! The only reason I stay here is because they are good if you need to have time off for reasons to do with your children.
Pros
Time off to deal with children
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
29 October 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review. We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire16 October 2018
Pay is really dreadful. Career progression is excellent but only if you are in with the right management. Have a valid opinion and be prepared to be ousted. Managers in place do not have the skill set for the job which makes your job even harder. Extremely clicky.
Pros
Restaurant, career options, benefits
Cons
Pay, clicky staff, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
29 October 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review. We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fufilling work.
Teaching Assistant - English as a second language (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire30 September 2018
in this short period of work, a typical hour would involve reading books, magazines and news articles to foreign students, helping them understand the fundamentals of the English language and transferring these skills to writing.
Pros
Fulfilling work, helping others
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
3 October 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow to change
Education Support Worker (Former Employee) –  County Hall Hertford26 September 2018
Slow to change. Limited promotion opportunities and decreasing salary values. Development training only available to managers and mandatory services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
3 October 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Environmental Worker (Former Employee) –  hemel hempstead21 September 2018
Great place to work in.Everyone is very kind and welcoming to each other. The workplace its self was a calm and enjoyable place to be in.The hardest part was all the computer work but other then that it was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
28 September 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy it, but it appears there's not much in the way of prospects
Youth Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire30 May 2018
Love working for Herts CC, but it doesn't look as if there's much opportunity to move upwards.
The general morale is.very low, which unfortunately is contagious.
Love the work. Have learnt a great deal and continue to learn. Not always easy, but the benefits outweigh the trials.
Sad that I'm on the pay and level of a school leaver when I have forty years of work experience
Pros
Nice staff and bosses
Cons
No way up and very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
1 June 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
social services
eco (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire30 May 2018
social services department, assessment and care planning working 9-5 mon to fri.
Apsley parking is not ideal
catering not ideal as expensive and short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
1 June 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire15 May 2018
A few unhappy teaching staff as they have too much paperwork and not enough time for the children.

Enjoyable teaching the children and seeing them playing happily
Pros
Learning environment
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
17 May 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
16 May 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant company
Day Service Organiser (Current Employee) –  Stevenage28 April 2018
great benefits
good working hours
supportive management team
love spending time with the service users
I have learnt a lot from working for HCC
I have developed while working for HCC
Pros
Working hours
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
30 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working Hertfordshire County Council. We appreciate you taking your time to review us. If you would like to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build upon your skills and career prospects
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire19 April 2018
Working for Hertfordshire County Council gives you the opportunity to build up your skill set through their in-house training and courses. A friendly place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Patrol crossing officer (Current Employee) –  Letchworth Wilbury13 April 2018
I love greeting children and their parents every day and to keep them safe while crossing the road...I head for the school at 8.30 and change into my coat and hat. I have learned patience and confidence. The management are brilliant! They are always there for you if and when needed. The workplace is enjoyable and feel I have achieved something every day while there! The hardest part of the job is the bitterly cold weather and angry drivers!! ( I havent had many!!) The enjoyable side of the job is the enjoyment of seeing children and their parents safely cross the busy road!!
Pros
Great mamagement
Cons
freezing weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
lolly pop lady (Former Employee) –  Watford3 April 2018
crossing children and adults across the road stopping traffic loved all i crossed always had children come to the crossing unhappy or crying but when they arrived at the crossing i would always cheer them up and making them laugh knew all there names only left due to illness
Pros
happy children and happy parents
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A council that does not place any value on their employees
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Apsley, Hertfordshire12 February 2018
A council that does not place any value on their employees. Poor career progression, favouritism and poor life-work balance due to the 37.5 hrs /week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 February 2018

We appreciate you taking your time to review us. We will take on board your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommended council to work for.
Leaving Care Personal Advisor (Current Employee) –  Hertford9 February 2018
Good training opportunities and they are very flexible and able to manage our own case loads.

Every day is different, the connections you make with your young people make you want to stay and achieve good results for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
15 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effectiveness driven by budget
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Children’s services30 January 2018
Committed to ensuring that Herts residents receive optimum care, though budget cuts have affected how this aim is brought about. Adequate working conditions.
Pros
Good team spirit
Cons
Budget cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Children's Information and Advice Officer (Current Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire27 January 2018
HCC - support development to progress. Flexible with the working hours when needed, childcare etc. Communication can be poor. Expectations of workload to be managed can be very high pressured. Transparency is needed in the public sector.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Nursery Nurse (Former Employee) –  Borough of Broxbourne20 January 2018
Worked for HCC for many years, as a nursery nurse in several schools.
Loved working with children, and made some great friends along the way.
Often had to bring paper work home, as little non contact time during working hours to do it in.
Only left to look after my granddaughter full time when my daughter returned to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, very basic
Day service support worker (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire13 January 2018
Very good hours, great team, great people to work with and the job is thoroughly enjoyable and rewarding.
The pay is awful, no two ways about it, the pay is not worth the responsibility that is insisted. The hours may make it seem ideal, and it is for some situations but if you are looking to earn a living, its definitely not. No overtime, unless sent elsewhere, any extra hours work will be used as toil and then you will be forced to take it quick and not at your own leisure.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Awful pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire11 January 2018
I worked as a finance Manager and received great support from my line manager and Head teacher.
I was selected to become an assistant year head and received encouragement from teaching staff and pupils.
I was able to participate in many school activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place of work
Senior Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Stevenage4 January 2018
this company only offered a temp contract however the job security did not seem as secure as i originally though the but i did enjoy the members of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hertfordshire County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 95 reviews
543
428
315
26
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture