Hertfordshire County Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
social services
eco (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire30 May 2018
social services department, assessment and care planning working 9-5 mon to fri.
Apsley parking is not ideal
catering not ideal as expensive and short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
1 June 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire15 May 2018
A few unhappy teaching staff as they have too much paperwork and not enough time for the children.

Enjoyable teaching the children and seeing them playing happily
Pros
Learning environment
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
16 May 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
17 May 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant company
Day Service Organiser (Current Employee) –  Stevenage28 April 2018
great benefits
good working hours
supportive management team
love spending time with the service users
I have learnt a lot from working for HCC
I have developed while working for HCC
Pros
Working hours
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
30 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working Hertfordshire County Council. We appreciate you taking your time to review us. If you would like to discuss further please contact hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build upon your skills and career prospects
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire19 April 2018
Working for Hertfordshire County Council gives you the opportunity to build up your skill set through their in-house training and courses. A friendly place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Patrol crossing officer (Current Employee) –  Letchworth Wilbury13 April 2018
I love greeting children and their parents every day and to keep them safe while crossing the road...I head for the school at 8.30 and change into my coat and hat. I have learned patience and confidence. The management are brilliant! They are always there for you if and when needed. The workplace is enjoyable and feel I have achieved something every day while there! The hardest part of the job is the bitterly cold weather and angry drivers!! ( I havent had many!!) The enjoyable side of the job is the enjoyment of seeing children and their parents safely cross the busy road!!
Pros
Great mamagement
Cons
freezing weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
lolly pop lady (Former Employee) –  Watford3 April 2018
crossing children and adults across the road stopping traffic loved all i crossed always had children come to the crossing unhappy or crying but when they arrived at the crossing i would always cheer them up and making them laugh knew all there names only left due to illness
Pros
happy children and happy parents
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 April 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A council that does not place any value on their employees
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Apsley, Hertfordshire12 February 2018
A council that does not place any value on their employees. Poor career progression, favouritism and poor life-work balance due to the 37.5 hrs /week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
20 February 2018

We appreciate you taking your time to review us. We will take on board your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommended council to work for.
Leaving Care Personal Advisor (Current Employee) –  Hertford9 February 2018
Good training opportunities and they are very flexible and able to manage our own case loads.

Every day is different, the connections you make with your young people make you want to stay and achieve good results for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
15 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effectiveness driven by budget
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Children’s services30 January 2018
Committed to ensuring that Herts residents receive optimum care, though budget cuts have affected how this aim is brought about. Adequate working conditions.
Pros
Good team spirit
Cons
Budget cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Children's Information and Advice Officer (Current Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire27 January 2018
HCC - support development to progress. Flexible with the working hours when needed, childcare etc. Communication can be poor. Expectations of workload to be managed can be very high pressured. Transparency is needed in the public sector.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Nursery Nurse (Former Employee) –  Borough of Broxbourne20 January 2018
Worked for HCC for many years, as a nursery nurse in several schools.
Loved working with children, and made some great friends along the way.
Often had to bring paper work home, as little non contact time during working hours to do it in.
Only left to look after my granddaughter full time when my daughter returned to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, very basic
Day service support worker (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire13 January 2018
Very good hours, great team, great people to work with and the job is thoroughly enjoyable and rewarding.
The pay is awful, no two ways about it, the pay is not worth the responsibility that is insisted. The hours may make it seem ideal, and it is for some situations but if you are looking to earn a living, its definitely not. No overtime, unless sent elsewhere, any extra hours work will be used as toil and then you will be forced to take it quick and not at your own leisure.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Awful pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire11 January 2018
I worked as a finance Manager and received great support from my line manager and Head teacher.
I was selected to become an assistant year head and received encouragement from teaching staff and pupils.
I was able to participate in many school activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place of work
Senior Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Stevenage4 January 2018
this company only offered a temp contract however the job security did not seem as secure as i originally though the but i did enjoy the members of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gratifying and humbling
Self Employed (Current Employee) –  Hertforshire South4 January 2018
My day, and night revolved around the children in my care. Caring, and making sure they are healthy and happy. I liaised in meetings and contacts with the specialist that were assigned to each child. In an office environment, or at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Occupational Health Unit - Hertford
Administration Officer / Occupational Health Unit (Former Employee) –  Hertford1 January 2018
This Unit was outsourced to SERCO on 1 April 2011 and not sure if they still look after this team. The work was just like a hospital out-patient clinic and just as busy and very specialised, however the salaries and understanding by HCC of how different this was to other administrative roles was not appreciated. We had to also abide by Patient Confidentiality in relation to medical records and this was not something they were always aware of. Hardest part of job was getting work done in time whilst visiting Consultants were in the clinic, enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of seeing people get better and return to work or get help in their working role.
Pros
Good job satisfaction
Cons
Not paid well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertfordshire County Council
Senior Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire19 December 2017
A good employer but struggling with the same financial issues as all local government authorities. Lots of chances for progression but salary rises not keeping up with the cost of living.
Pros
Lots of chances for progression
Cons
Salary rises not keeping up with the cost of living
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workforce skulking organisation
Children’s Well-being Practitioner trainee (Current Employee) –  East Hertfordshire, Hertfordshire13 December 2017
Great organisation whose focus is on skilling up the workforce to improve services across the county.

Staff are well looked after with various well being initiatives in place.

Loads of free training offered daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro active organisation
Community Care Officer (Current Employee) –  Apsley, Hertfordshire24 November 2017
I have enjoyed being able to have the opportunity to progress within this organisation.

There are many different types of services within this organisation.
Pros
Easy to travel to
Cons
Hard to park
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review! We will pass on your feedback however if you wish to discuss further please contact hrjoining@hertfordshire.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire15 November 2017
I very much enjoyed my job role here and people were really lovely to work with including management i enjoyed my job role and would be applying for a role here again if the title and hours were to suit me.
Pros
alot of pros
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Hertfordshire County Council
6 February 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback about working for HCC! We appreciate you taking your time to review us

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hertfordshire County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 88 reviews
539
428
315
25
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture