Helping Hands Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire7 May 2017
Loved every second of working here. The staff are lovely, they were very patient and helpful. Was never a dull moment while working here!! If I wasn't looking for a paid job I would definitely go back here!
Pros
Long lunch break, friendly staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Falsly sold as a good employer
prefer not to say (Current Employee) –  prefer not to say28 April 2017
company described as family run and orientated , but no support is given from above you are just left to your own devises and expected to get on with it.
They sell the company as quality driven but it isn't its all about hours and profit , quality comes last , very disappointing as I thought this would be my ideal job
Pros
none
Cons
lack of support, not as described, quick to hire and fire
Was this review helpful?Yes 47NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely job-Management ok
Home Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 April 2017
Lovely job i really enjoyed working here- Management could how ever to with a lot more training.

Staff are very rude. If you have a day off and someone else phones in sick you get bombarded with phone calls. And penalized if you can not do what they are asking you to do.

Other than this great place.
Pros
Getting to help people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, friendly and a phone call away
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Prudhoe, Northumberland26 April 2017
Good company good pay a phone call away when you can get to speak to who u need, cant always get the hours you were promised and rotas are late out and sometimes not recived. No food contribution when doing 24hr shifts
Pros
Good hourly wage
Cons
Late rotas no hours spend alot of own money when out on food
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely job
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hexham, Northumberland26 April 2017
Lovely clientele. Lovely staff. Normally balance life and work. Great training sessions. Over all if you care for the elderly people it's a great job to have..
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire21 April 2017
Rewarding job very enjoyable.meeting new people and new situations. Good rate of pay. Working as a team with other staff and carers. Everyday is different and always willing to learn and improve my knowledge. I would recommend this job to many other people.
Pros
Good rate of pay
Cons
Driving /travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ayudando a ser un poquito mejor cada día
CUIDADOR DE PERSONAS CON DISCAPACIDAD (Former Employee) –  ALCESTER, REINO UNIDO18 April 2017
Trabajo en equipo ayudándose mutyamente unos
A otros. Gran confianza depositada en los trabajadores
Was this review helpful?YesNo 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
Home Carer (Current Employee) –  Walsall, West Midlands12 April 2017
Nice people to work with but not enough hours and they don't take in the hours that you can and can't do so you have calls at 7am then calls at 9pm. No balance
Pros
Nice managers
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reliable employer
Live-in Carer (Former Employee) –  around UK11 April 2017
work can be long and challenging but also rewarding, especially if clients and families are nice

good pay

big turn-over in the headoffice, sometimes difficult to speak to

managers also change often, could be tricky to get hold of
Pros
steady pay
Cons
not much support at weekends; favourism in HO
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training but limited support after training
Live in carer (Current Employee) –  Alcester, Warwickshire23 February 2017
A good training course but unpaid. The calibre of some recruits are quite disappointing. Lack of post training support. Pay is poor for a live in carer. Little thought to placement suitability.
Cons
Lack of organisation at HQ.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company that doesn't care
Live in carer (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire23 February 2017
Helping Hands, don't think so, more like helping themselves. They don't care about their carers, all they care about is getting in money money money for themselves. Company is a joke.
Pros
Non
Cons
Don't care
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funworkplace lovely people
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire22 February 2017
hovering and cleaning bathrooms to high standard
hardest part is not being able to clean were see dirt
seeing old peoples faces when u clean an know that they appreciate it and talking to them most enjoyable part.
Pros
lovely people u meet
Cons
long hours that u dont get paid for
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adminestration was disfunctional,
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Various locations7 February 2017
As a health carer my main role was productive of my own personel imput,intuition and common sense along with a wide experience of type of care.
However,the adminestrarion side of the company was disfunctional,lack of support and incompetent in resolving problems.
Pros
None
Cons
Not meeting the minimum wage due to long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Alcester, Warwickshire1 February 2017
Absolutely dreadful company to work for. Long hours, no lunch break, pressure to hit targets because the basic pay is pathetic. Almost non existent management support and changes to working practices without consultation.
Sells a service that sounds amazing but the business can't deliver.
The staff turnover is higher than any other company I'm aware of, you just have to look at the constant vacancies! A sausage factory that burns people out.
Pros
The staff
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working here.
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bookham North17 January 2017
I felt this was a great oppertunity for me as i was just out of school this job gave me the experience of working in peoples homes either as a team or solo. the manager was a lovely lady and so were my team buddies. i would recommed them to anyone who is juststarting out.
Pros
good team
Cons
not having your own transport
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caring work place
Carer (Current Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire15 January 2017
Nice relaxed and friendly, home to home care, all individual needs are met to a very high standard. hours are flexible to suit around my home life. generally a good place to work
Pros
meeting new clients
Cons
alot of travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training, plenty of placement opportunities.
Live in carer (Current Employee) –  North West14 November 2016
Having never worked in care, the training I received was excellent, practical and informative. I was worried about my first placement but quickly settled into a routine with support from my colleague at the time. The most enjoyable part of the job is feeling that you are giving something back to society by helping others in need.
Having worked in Human Resource Management before taking early retirement I have to say that this job is the most rewarding I have ever done because I feel I am doing something worthwhile. Furthermore, I certainly feel that I am appreciated by the family I work with, my line manager and even the CEO, who takes the time to email and write to you when have done something worthwhile or raise a suggestion on how we can improve.

This job allows me to work when it suits me, which allows me to enjoy the lifestyle I have created since semi retiring.
Pros
You can work as many weeks as you want to fit in with your lifestyle.
Cons
You are living in with someone so you need to be able to adjust to this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training, rewarding job satisfaction.
Live in carer (Current Employee) –  North West14 November 2016
Really good training and support for someone who has never done care work before. A rewarding job that gives you great job satisfaction giving something back to people who need a helping hand!
Pros
Work live in to suit your lifestyle
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company To Work For
Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Exmouth7 October 2016
Helping Hands are a nice company to work for, coworkers and office staff are lovely, management is very helpful if something needs sorted
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great care, poor staff management
Customer Liaison Manager (Current Employee) –  Alcester24 September 2016
The care provided by Helping Hands is of an exceptional standard, but the treatment of office staff in particular by the management is poor. Your best is never good enough and far too much focus is put on the negatives, rather than the hard work being put in by everybody.
Pros
Helping the vulnerable
Cons
Everyone is expendable mentality of management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Helping Hands. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 415 reviews
5179
497
376
234
129

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture