HC One Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Retford14 April 2018
This job was very emotionally and physically time consuming and draining, but has so many pros! Seeing the elderly smile and just to make their day that extra special is amazing
Pros
Chats with the residents
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Darlington, Durham6 April 2018
great location and good staff make this a good place to work. parking slight issue however easy access to local transportation. unsure on guide dog policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs to be closed down
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tameside, Greater Manchester4 April 2018
Filthy place to work. No ppe need to buy your own. No help from seniors or manager sit on their a in the office. Food is awful powder soup low quality
Pros
Going home
Cons
Wage not paid properly.filthy.unhelpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring
Nursery Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Yorkshire3 April 2018
I was working as a carer when I first cane here in England I’m a qualified nurse in Philippines.it was formerly Bupa homes I worked with then new management takeover HC one .Since they started with us I find them helpful and accommodating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff8 March 2018
I have never worked in such a destructive environment. Top management don’t let you book agency when short staffed. No support expected to just get on with it. No consideration for the work load an knock on effective to resident.
Staff morale is low and management including senior management attitude is if you don’t like it leave there are plenty of people looking for your job. Which was said in a staff meeting.
Pros
Residents
Cons
Long hours calls on your days off short staffed low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire3 March 2018
Where do I start . Management well there is none they put on a good show for families but it's all about filling beds .most of the staff are great and are only there for the residents. Pay is poor no encouragement to advance in your roll .shifts change when ever manager feels like it .very unhappy staff in general .short staff constantly
Pros
12 hour shift goes quickly
Cons
The residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont take a job with this company
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  North East21 February 2018
No consideration for staff, eg asking staff do do long hours multiple times a week,as long as paper work is done they dont care about anything else,staff are asked to do too much with disregard to their health and well being
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New to company
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Dundee City15 February 2018
New to company. Still getting used to changes. Prefer having 12 hour shifts for family work life balance as the nhs in Dundee doesn't provide that in many wards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked staff, bad management
carer (Former Employee) –  uk11 February 2018
we are always short staffed and no support from the management and carers getting away with things in other jobs they would have been sacked for .horrible
Pros
rewarding on residents side
Cons
long hours under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 February 2018
I ve been working with Hc-One for over a year, it is a good company overall, I did enjoyed the time spent here ,however I did not had the support for the management team as I was told .
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Instability in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kikcaldy3 February 2018
I enjoyed my experience at HC One. But it just wasn’t for me, it was too depressing for myself with the deaths of the residents etc.

I would’ve liked to get back into that kind of work but I can’t deal with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management want blood out of a stone
Carer (Former Employee) –  Netherton23 January 2018
I did more hours then contracted and didnt get paid for it. Then all the manager did is moan and demand more out of you. Some of the administration staff were rude and talked down to you. You ended up doing even more work because some staff are lazy and get away with everything. So ungrateful.
Pros
Some residents and staff
Cons
Management and some staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 40NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place of work
Nights Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester22 January 2018
working nights in a hc one home was brilliant. managed really well, good balance with home life.

fantastic training given. progression is available and the company promote this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff and residents are just a number
Care Assistant for the Elderly (Current Employee) –  Stalybridge, Greater Manchester22 January 2018
2 years this company took over the care home i work in and its the worst company i have ever seen they only care about getting the money in and paper work staff never appreciated only by the families of the residents no support what so ever off company or the management they will take money off you for a break which you very rarely take always understaffed and are happy to allow residents to go without the care they are paying for if i was advise anyone when looking for a care home i would very highly recommend that they stay well clear of any hc one home the staff are amazing and without them the home would not run as it does but the company in itself are only out for financial gain
Pros
care staff keep these places going
Cons
under staffed over worked never appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing work place
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Basildon17 January 2018
Carehome went from bupa to hc one, management Is rude, no appreciation towards care assistants, nothing is ever good enough, care assistants do the best they can, there is always something for the management to moan about no matter how hard careers work.
Pros
There isn’t any pros
Cons
No appreciation, nothing is ever right
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty enviroment lack of support
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dovedale court wednesbury14 January 2018
Horrible place to work
Was so hard going the amount of stuff you have to do on a night shift at the same time as fighting your own body clock
Was always short staffed I lasted about a week or so
Pros
Not really any apart from free tea and coffee
Cons
Long hours no bonuses or unsocial hours payments
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking
Care assistant (Current Employee) –  North East13 January 2018
I've had many years as a carer but never worked for a company like this,, currently I work as a care assistant for this company & have never heard or seen so much rudeness or disrespect for others,all from younger members of staff,,lazy bone idle & just not bothered,,some staff are great but not many,do not work for these if given a chance,if you fit in with the click group,then you're ok,if not,then it's constant backstabbing I'd advise anyone not to work for these.
Pros
Lovely resident
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Carer (Current Employee) –  Linlithgow13 January 2018
very comfortable, happy and friendy staff, great place to work, lovely place to visit. It is in a very quiet area which is always a good thing. I am very proud to say that I work for this company.
Pros
happy people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New team
Home Manger (Current Employee) –  Area 113 January 2018
So far all I see is positives being part of the company. It's a new area team who are kind and compassionate.
Lots to learn and change to go forward
Pros
Good structure
Cons
Moaning staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management are useless, problems swept under the carpet
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Holmfirth, West Yorkshire7 January 2018
Bullying, management is poor, if your face doesn't fit then you might as well not even bother, complaints are often swept under the carpet with major issues left unresolved, back stabbing, 85% of staff don't care about residents and are often neglected. I wouldn't leave my dog in the care of most of the staff there
Pros
residents
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HC One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 262 reviews
547
442
344
227
1102

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.6Culture