HC One Employee Reviews

Found 375 reviews matching the search See all 395 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
**Avoid hc-one at all lenghts! Please read**
Manager (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire13 January 2019
Where can I start...

Hc-One says it represents being the ‘kind care company’ This could not be more far from the truth. Hc-One is all about the profits, as long as the big wigs get their pockets filled with money they don’t care. Corners are cut ALL the time, care in the homes are well below fundamental standards and residents needs are NOT met on a daily basis, even down to having a bath and receiving basic dietary needs. The staff are run ragged and asked to juggle too much work and pressure at once due to staff shortage and the company not being prepared to re look at budgets to increase staffing levels due to residents care needs. On a daily basis staff use incorrect moving and handling (people requiring the use of a hoist due to unsafe mobility and non weight bearing are drag lifted) and this is due to lack of training, corner cutting due to not having the time to give basic care needs and lack of staffing. Food is of poor produce, the homes use so much agency that the agency are more regular than Hc-One staff.

Management are very very poor. They DONT operate an open door policy and DO NOT, I REPEAT do not offer/give colleagues support. DO NOT have a day off sick with this company even if your on deaths door as it is held against you. Shifts are changed at the last minute and your expected to work 60 hours a week with no break even though you DONT get paid for your breaks. So really you are working a 12 hour shift and only getting paid for 11 hours.

Wages are wrong. Hours missed off, some weeks wages missed and when it comes to pay day and your wage is wrong
  more... you are told you have to wait till next month to receive your money...even if this leaves you in a difficult financial situation. This is due to lack of knowledge on how to work the payroll system. Sometimes the care staff have been known to do the wages as managers and admin absent in the home.

Job security is next to none. With Hc-One you are 100000% replaceable, your just ‘another number on the shop floor’. Managers sit in the office together talking about ‘which staff members need to go’. Managers often say well that’s what probation periods are for, just get rid!

If you value your mental health, please DO NOT go and work for this company. If you don’t see any sense in my review then by all means go and have a go at working with this company then read this review again.

THE ONLY PEOPLE SUFFERING IN THIS COMPANY ARE THE RESIDENTS THEY APPEAR TO CARE FOR!
  less
Pros
Spending time with residents who deserve far better care.
Cons
Read my review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for them , or you will loose valuable time .
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bonnyrigg9 January 2019
If you are desperate , they ll take anybody. The staff turn over is bad. Goog employees leave as soon as they the chance. Do not loose time apply somewhere else.
Pros
None
Cons
No management at the WE .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing management
Night Manager (Current Employee) –  Radcliffe, Greater Manchester6 January 2019
This is specific to the home I work at, but i review the company as follows:

CQC rating overall is good and is rated outstanding in management. Well it shows. The home is very well managed. Supportive and forward thinking manager, listens to ideas and puts them in place. The home manager has aided my work/life balance agreeing to change my contracted hours so i get an extra shift off every fortnight, which meant a great deal to me. Also supported me when a close relative passed away.

Admin team are friendly and my pay has always been correct.

Cleaners have always been friendly and do a good job keeping the home fresh and clean.

Kitchen staff produce lovely meals with lots of options and the residents are well fed with all their needs catered for with finger food options, assistive cuttlery and plate guards.

Maintenance fix things straight away, ive been really pleased with them.

Carers are really caring. I’ve met some really lovely people who look after the residents with compassion and understanding.

Seniors and nursing assistants are friendly and ensure all the residents are looked after properly and ensure the smooth running of carers on each unit.

The nurses are caring and supportive.

Overall im really pleased to be working for a company where they go the extra mile for residents and think of new ideas to get the best quality of life for each resident.
Pros
Friendly staff, home manager is 10/10, great to support the residents
Cons
As with any healthcare job, it can be hard work at times, but worth it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care home was great
Senior Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Glasgow4 January 2019
I found the care home to be great, the staff, most were fantastic, but management were not supportive, very clicky, which made all the staff very frustrated at times.
Pros
most staff were very good
Cons
no back up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  cobridge4 January 2019
poor management, always short staffed, never no support, dont go on residents needs only on numbers. loved working with the residents and their relatives
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work/recommend there
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hampshire1 January 2019
Past employee with hc1 hampshire with 31 years experience in the care industry, HC1 promotes itself as a good care company but I can assure you this is not the case, residents do not receive the care they deserve and pay for because of rapid turnover of staff /staff shortages, from home manager and above these issues are disregarded, staff constantly criticised under these strained circumstances, it was an embarrassment to work for this uncaring company, this company should not be in a position to promote care, I would not recommend for care or employment
Pros
None
Cons
Management non managerial skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hc-one Housekeeper
Housekeeper/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne1 January 2019
There was no support from managerment, under staffed, when housekeepers had to cover.
I think this company needs to revise who they employ and make sure that they have plenty of staff to cover.
Pros
none
Cons
No support from staff or managerment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire27 December 2018
Horrible place , staff are treated differently depending on who the unit managers are friends with , some staff get longer breaks than others , absolutely filthy and meals are a joke , you don’t get a hot meal like it says on the job description , lucky to even get a break even though you don’t get paid for a hour , every complaint is swept under the carpet , it’s soul destroying working for this company , feel sorry for the residents and their families , you do not progress within this company infact after being a senior for 10 years in other companies you feel like your going backwards. The worst company I have ever worked for , they allow family members to work on the same unit , sometimes 3 members of the same family , what if there is a safeguarding issue ? Should not be happening
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't pay properly
Carer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dundee City24 December 2018
They say you are getting paid before Christmas, then tell you 3 days before Christmas they are not paying you, but then pay half the staff? And leave the other half unpaid? Is that even aloud to be done by a company? Shocking and disgusting and also refuse to hand out their HR number to staff facing problems with wages, do not work for them
Pros
Nice staff members
Cons
Understaffed most of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fresonabel work very good team and mangement.
kichen assistant (Former Employee) –  Reditch16 December 2018
It was a very good pleac because you worked as a team and special for very kind old women and men and they are very nice and quite person and have a lot of fun.
Pros
Discunt food price for you and family.
Cons
Lang hours and alitel far away
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please for the love of god do not take this job
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire14 December 2018
Staff can be left with hardly any pads, gloves or wipes. The pay is awful and the hours are long. Management talk down to you like you're a child and all the nurses are miserable.
Pros
The bond between you and the residents
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Day staff (Former Employee) –  Tranent, East Lothian14 December 2018
From day one your basically left to your own devices and expected to know everything. Most of the staff were very cliquey and horrible. Staff members who worked during the day who act like they run the place. Management changing your shifts without notice. Generally a terrible place to work.
Pros
Residents
Cons
Terrible atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Company
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Highland11 December 2018
Worked there for 3 years. In house manager was fantastic and couldn't be nicer. However, higher up in the "management" ladder, were awful. Just rotten, nasty people. Don't care about staff or residents. Quite happy to work people to the bone and they have no respect for them. They are unapproachable and do not listen to anything people say. Always negative
Pros
The staff I worked with
Cons
Higher Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no time to care
Staff Nurse Band 5 (Former Employee) –  Basildon, Essex10 December 2018
Not enough staff
too much paperwork
no time to spend with reidents
staff overworked and no gratitude
not enough equipment. expected to do too many things at once.
not safe practice
Pros
free lunch
Cons
loss of clinical and psychological experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company to work for
Maintenance (Care Home) (Former Employee) –  Hampshire10 December 2018
The workload was extremely intense and constantly given urgent jobs to do which made it impossible to do training and and routine jobs that they expect you to do. Management and nurses were very rude and disrespectful. All staff seemed over worked and under paid and I felt sorry for the residents. As part of maintenance I was expected to answer call buzzers and collect prescriptions which is very anoying when they want you to complete an urgent task. Avoid this Company!
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow29 November 2018
hc one is a great company to work for every member of staff is caring and able to help if you are struggling. it is a homely environment for familys to visit there relatives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 13Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place run forest run as fast as you can baby
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bexleyheath, Greater London29 November 2018
Dont work here no duty of care to residents

Manager employs family at high salary

Treats people like slaves

Bexleyheath u know who you are run away
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Ever going there
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolutely avoid it. dont even think about it
Domestic Assistant (Current Employee) –  Portree, Highland29 November 2018
Organisation is absolutely 0
You have a lots of responsebilities for poor money.
Not worth doing it at all, stressful and not enjoyable.
Culture is not nice, people are very gossip.
Pros
nothing extra
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  North East27 November 2018
The home I work in is brilliant. I have amazing team mates and we all work together. Everyone supports each other. We help the residents on a daily basis and even give up our free time to go on trips. I have worked in care for 13 years and never felt supported as I do now. Even when I am struggling financially my manager has helped me to sort some extra work out.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 16Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bankhouse Poulton - AWFUL place to work
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poulton le Fylde26 November 2018
Former employee of Bankhouse - management are very unsupportive and do not care about the residents or staff. VERY high staff turn over & no paid break despite not being able to take one. Mostly run by agency staff due to contract staff not staying & pay is only £7.88 & no higher for normal care assistant as advertised. Residents are not cared for properly.
Pros
Residents are the only pro!
Cons
Management & Nurses!
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HC One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 395 reviews
582
456
359
238
1160

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.6Culture