HC One Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not nice
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Stockport, Greater Manchester16 June 2018
I worked there as a housekeeper for several weeks and it was more like serving a prison sentence the supervisor was a bully it was no good saying anything to the manager cuz you weren't believed I would never do it ever again
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
atrocious in sevenoaks company need new managers.
nurse (Former Employee) –  Sevenoaks, Kent7 June 2018
SEVENOAKS care home diabolical care. cannot RETAIN STAFF. nurses leave quickly as do care staff. terrible managers. haven't a clue what their doing. standards are appalling. short staffed all the time. residents not looked after properly.
whats CQC doing.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total let down
Carer (Former Employee) –  Wednesbury, West Midlands4 June 2018
There were favouritism between staff. No willing to change and bring in new ways of working. Corners cut that led to poor care. Management didn't enforce good practice. All empty promises with career development that never happened. I only lasted 8 weeks. The worst 8 weeks of my career. There's no point working for a company that doesn't value hard-working staff who are passionate about care. To all others it was just a job. Do not apply for big company jobs.
Pros
The residents
Cons
Feeling undervalued
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place I work at is great but the management is diabolical
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Uk4 June 2018
I've been in care just under 2 years and the place I work at is lovely. The care team I work with are brilliant, but under HC one ruling, we are all crumbling from pressure laid on us, to get the home to an acceptable CQC standard. They say if a place is led well, then that place will thrive, but unfortunately not in our case. The management are too quick to criticise the care team when something goes wrong, but when things are a success, they love to take the credit, even when they haven't contributed. I think HC one need to train on people skills, because our management sorely lacks this. The staff are overworked, and underpaid, and the residents suffer as a consequence, as well as the health and well-being of the staff. The love I have for care is being ripped out of me, and I can imagine I may say adiós to HC one in the near future
Pros
The service users, fellow work colleagues, and the fact that a smile on one service users face is worth a million smiles on a million faces
Cons
Management lacking empathy and people skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maple Court: a bad joke
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maple Court, Stafford, Staffordshire22 May 2018
Very incompetent management...most of the time i had to work with staff from various agencies...the permanent staff is rude and the institutional abuse is unfortunately something common in this place...no one cares about residents or about doing their job in a professional way...i am completely shocked by the fact that in this century such a place is allowed to exist...as a employee of HC One you are just a number on a paper nothing more...the people who are in charge of Maple Court are the most incompetent and disrespectful i ever met in my life...in several occasions i didn't receive not even the correct payment so be aware of this aspect too
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dismal
Chef manager (Former Employee) –  Bexhill, East Sussex12 May 2018
No support, when staff are sick you have to cover. Constant problems as high turnover of staff. Management couldnt care less. Four head chefs in under a year? Very bad experience. I wont be back!
Pros
Pay
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely dier
Hca (Former Employee) –  Rochdale, Greater Manchester8 May 2018
Don't bother it's dier. Full of the usual clicks and nasty fake characters. Power freaks. The Bupa ran homes are going to get worse under these. Thought Bupa was bad worked for both. HC One is ran by power freaks whonwant more out of you for minimal pay. They would retain better staff if they actually treated staff better and paid a bit more. banging their head up against brick walls whilst trying to turn a profit for stakeholders and thats all its about. Making profit whilst running a hime on a shoestring
Pros
None
Cons
Energy draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire3 May 2018
I’ve been at Willow Court for just over a year and thoroughly love my work, excellent Manager, Deputy, Team Leader and Seniors....It’s a pleasure to work there and miss it when I’m on annual leave ! Great team makes for a great care home 😃
Pros
Friendly staff, excellent management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst mistake of my life
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire1 May 2018
One of the worst places I have worked! No training...thrown in at the deepend and expected to know everything in one day! They put me on demestic when my contact was carer and gave me no shadow shifts or anything to do with care!!!! Just cleaning...made me feel more depressed...
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company
Care assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands29 April 2018
Short staffed alot which meant more work, no compassion or respect for residents, unfriendly staff, no support from seniors or management, bad care practice, puts on a great show when theres visitor's, only care about filling beds.
Pros
Residents
Cons
No real care passion
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not respectful HC One company
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eastbourne, East Sussex28 April 2018
Our staff doing many hours in care assistant job ..
Less pay, manager is rude not helping to the staff ..

Even who has NVQ L2 and NVQ L3 not pay rate ..
It was west time to study .. You are not growing there ..
We are just numbers for them.. The food it is teruble, lock fridges in the kitchen, even Servise Users complain about food ..

I am not see any helps from HC One ...

Don’t apply job to the HC One .. this company doesn't Care about staff 👎🏾👎🏾👎🏾👎🏾
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good place to work and excellent staff
Care Assistant for the Elderly (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester22 April 2018
Since I get to work with HC one I enjoyed as the staff is polite and professional. I always been understood when I need it a day off or a day extra. Is very close to my house so I can work to my work place. Is a good nursing home with good management and professional staff. I have attended all the training provided as well as e learnings. Clean place, tasty food polite residents.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Retford14 April 2018
This job was very emotionally and physically time consuming and draining, but has so many pros! Seeing the elderly smile and just to make their day that extra special is amazing
Pros
Chats with the residents
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Darlington, Durham6 April 2018
great location and good staff make this a good place to work. parking slight issue however easy access to local transportation. unsure on guide dog policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs to be closed down
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tameside, Greater Manchester4 April 2018
Filthy place to work. No ppe need to buy your own. No help from seniors or manager sit on their a in the office. Food is awful powder soup low quality
Pros
Going home
Cons
Wage not paid properly.filthy.unhelpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring
Nursery Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Yorkshire3 April 2018
I was working as a carer when I first cane here in England I’m a qualified nurse in Philippines.it was formerly Bupa homes I worked with then new management takeover HC one .Since they started with us I find them helpful and accommodating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dreedful
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Netherton20 March 2018
thrown in at deep end with no support
management were never around to give support and always expect too much i always worked extra shifts with no appreciation
Pros
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff8 March 2018
I have never worked in such a destructive environment. Top management don’t let you book agency when short staffed. No support expected to just get on with it. No consideration for the work load an knock on effective to resident.
Staff morale is low and management including senior management attitude is if you don’t like it leave there are plenty of people looking for your job. Which was said in a staff meeting.
Pros
Residents
Cons
Long hours calls on your days off short staffed low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire3 March 2018
Where do I start . Management well there is none they put on a good show for families but it's all about filling beds .most of the staff are great and are only there for the residents. Pay is poor no encouragement to advance in your roll .shifts change when ever manager feels like it .very unhappy staff in general .short staff constantly
Pros
12 hour shift goes quickly
Cons
The residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont take a job with this company
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  North East21 February 2018
No consideration for staff, eg asking staff do do long hours multiple times a week,as long as paper work is done they dont care about anything else,staff are asked to do too much with disregard to their health and well being
Was this review helpful?Yes 63No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HC One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 274 reviews
549
441
345
228
1111

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.5Culture