Harvey Nichols Employee Reviews

Found 99 reviews matching the search See all 121 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work
Store Detective (Former Employee) –  Leeds19 April 2019
Sat on cameras
Nothing learned
Very poor management team
No culture
Coming to work was the hardest part of this job
Going home was the best part.
Pros
None
Cons
To many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning about retail
Sale's Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 April 2019
was a good experience on what is expected in retail being a sales assistant, learning how to keep shop tidy, greeting customers how to put items on shelfs neat and tidy, also working as a team. I think hardest part is customers who do not speak any English
Pros
learning new skills
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reiss, UK3 April 2019
The company is one you'll be proud to work for, if you like to be around big brands and big spenders you will be at home.
Work hours can be quite late but with the right team the time will fly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environnement
Style Advisor (Former Employee) –  Greater London29 March 2019
Une ambiance aimable et un fort esprit d’équipe. Le service exceptionnel mis en très haut valeur
Pros
Grande equipe
Cons
Mauvaise communication entre les vendeurs/les acheteurs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harvey Nichols Is a fraud company that do illegal activity by money laundry
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  NN4 7AS25 February 2019
Harvey Nichols Is a fraud company that do illegal activity by money laundry

The uk executive Police and region authority's are accomplices

They are involved in illegal sales of bags for the store and belts for £ 1500 is simply disparate amounts of money. Their customers are all thieves, millionaires who buy money and buy their clothes for 10,000 £ thus legalizing these stolen money in the country after that the company makes contracts with these black criminals making bogus purchases that never existed
Pros
slave
Cons
there are animals
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tight-knit Workplace
Accounts Payables Clerk (Former Employee) –  London17 January 2019
It was an enjoyable place to work, the people were very friendly, however me travelling back to New Zealand over the December-January meant I had to resign from my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Fragrance specialist (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge15 January 2019
Harvey nichols was a live and diverse enviroment to work in. with great benifits. great location to work in a highly competitive environment. memo Paris was a good conccesstion to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependent on business
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London6 January 2019
Your day can either fly by or drag here depending on how busy the store is.

Store is always updated in terms of looks which is great as it keeps it interesting and entices customers, however lack of management on the shopfloor makes getting basic tasks completed difficult
Pros
Store discount
Cons
Long hours, lack of managers on shopfloor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New adventure
Pastry Chef (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire3 January 2019
A typical day would either be a straight shift or and early or late start with varying early and late finishes. this benifited me due to home living situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday
Style Advisor (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge, Greater London9 December 2018
Most days can be quiet but if you can make the most of it the people around you are incredible to work with and you wont go a day without laughing. The best bit was always getting to see the new Luxury designer clothing and SHOES
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and excellent work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 November 2018
here again i had a taste of luxury customer experience delivery and organisation loved every minute of it working with excellent managers again who schooled me on luxury service .
here i learned more about clientelling and how to treat VIP customers
i found this place was easy to work in and easy to get along with colleagues are also developed my team player skills here.

checking on stock availability and performing timely call backs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere at work.
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  London27 September 2018
Good place to work overall with great atmosphere. People are very friendly although operationally it is still not a company as ahead as many other retailers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
HEAD WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge10 September 2018
l employees joining Riverside benefit from a comprehensive induction programme. We continue colleague’s development with a personal development programmes using formal and informal learning opportunities. You look after our customers, we look after you. Employees can benefit from our employee wellbeing programme, workplace trust and equality and diversity groups. All employees are automatically enrolled into a workplace pension scheme.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you go to work in a GUCCI t shirt and Balenciaga shoes every day you are isolated.
Makeup counter (Former Employee) –  Liverpool City Centre, Merseyside16 August 2018
Working here suprised me. It surprised me because they reinforce originality and being who you are when the whole time you dont fit in unless your rude and dismissive toward other staff and gossip behind their back. Management like who they like ,usually pretty and a bad attitude stood on their phone? They will watch you like a hawk if they don't like you i have seen it happen. I used to get asked how long my colleague had been to the toilet and how many times ,all staff would be asked about this one girl who also had an illness of some sort. At the end of tge day these people will never accept you unless you can provide them with something, sad really. Everyone is in groups on those makeup counters on their phones laughing with only one or two people stood willing to help,ive been there but i guess thats why my sales were better. Not a nice place to work unless you like this type of hostile environment. It is also ridiculous that for that many employees there are two staff cubicles for the toilet and the smallest staff room. On many occasions i had to sit behind a fire door orr in the corridor or even on a bench in the rain outside to eat. If there were any seats available you would rudely be told **** is sitting here shes coming up now,so again the place is ran like a episode of mean girls which needs to change.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Lack of trust in employees, and senior management, overly friendly to their friends, who work in the same role you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever taken
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol9 June 2018
bad hours , low pay and expect the earth from you. very bad senior management and treat you like slaves. worst employer i have ever worked with, only stayed 3 months and moved on
Pros
no
Cons
eveythings
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They run a tight ship
Silver Service Waitressing (Former Employee) –  Leeds20 May 2018
It was very disappointing coming from a place of experience. I was made to start from the bottom lowest servicing waitress, with little perks and unfriendly hours. I quickly learned it wasn't a friendly place, very mean and nasty however i kept my head down and learnt quickly to just do my time and left without a fuss!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester16 May 2018
Harvey Nichols is a great place to work people and staff are great
Only down side is the security manager who treats staff poorly doesn’t listen to advice and works by his own rules and ruins staff moral
Pros
Good discount
Cons
Security management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Knightsbridge11 May 2018
The customers were either very wealthy or tourists who had heard of the famous store. I also assisted a number of famous celebrities with all sorts of queries.
Pros
environment
Cons
on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place has let itself down in recent years
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh8 April 2018
Harvey Nichols in Edinburgh used to be amazing. Sadly it’s nothing conspired to what it was. Customers are leaving to shop else where. Managers are patronising and generally weak. A regular customer who has spend thousands in this shop recently parted company because a manager refused to issue a refund on a faulty product...totally pointless and there have no doubt been others.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Place is failing
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands23 March 2018
Whilst working at Harvey Nichols, we would start the day off with a team brief, followed by cleaning our concessions and making sure everything on our concession was stocked up (in my case, sunglasses). Throughout the day my jobs included replenishment on my department if any stock was sold, assisting customers with Christmas gifts and also personal shopping.
Breaks were 1 hour long and security was excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvey Nichols. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 121 reviews
539
437
322
26
117

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture