Harvester Employee Reviews

Found 385 reviews matching the search See all 436 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
Waiter/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Perth29 August 2018
No longer do I spend time making happy customers just pressure selling to make happy shareholders. Hours are allocated on sales target performance, don't beat your target and you won't get hours on the next rota.
Pros
Staff
Cons
It's a food factory now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A prductive and learning job.
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Riverside, Northampton22 August 2018
I enjoyed working at Harvester for the time I was there, it had fun colleagues and taught me all that things needed to work at the front of the restaurant. Good pay for the hours I could do.
Pros
Discount on food during break, had a worker I knew to work with.
Cons
Far from home, reliant on a lift so if she couldn't go, I couldn't.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bar Supervisor/Host Role at Harvester.
Bar Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Flamstead13 August 2018
Bar supervisory work, waiting and hosting on busy shifts. Learned stock control and ordering, and line cleaning. Large to to work with so can be fun at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training and development
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Kent12 August 2018
Thrown in to the depend with the keys of a restaurant . Had a great team . Great manager and good coach.. Only down side was the hours . Over 100 hours a week .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good progreesive company
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire30 July 2018
absolute dream to work for it is is opportunity you want then these are the people for it always looking to develop their colleagues further and give them opportunity
Pros
development
Cons
unsociable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work in.
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes19 July 2018
This job was fun to work in due to how sociable that it was. The management were tough but fair. It involved a lot of cleaning throughout the day but that is to be expected of a barman and would get very busy at times where other front of house staff would be able to support you if you needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
busgirl (Former Employee) –  Ilford17 July 2018
the company is good , offers wide range of jobs as well as foods If you are a customer. Always have staff that are willing to help you if you need it .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Nene Valley16 July 2018
Gives good experience. Gives you time to reach your potential. It’s a very calm, friendly place to work and you have the chance to satisfy customers and make them happy
Pros
33% off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Star city3 July 2018
Loved working here staff are polite and friendly. Have high standards of work levels. Food is amazing. High level of cleaning and routine of cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking, but poor management
Chef (Former Employee) –  Lancashire27 June 2018
rewarding job for those who like to cook, but not for those who want to avoid stress. a typical day involves alot of cleaning and contant awareness of your environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and a fun workplace
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wales27 June 2018
You always do something different everyday and not the same job and you will learn about the checking of food temperature's and to know how to make dessert. The Management is really good you can ask them anything, the hardest part is that its a quick environment and you have to be on your feet all of the time and its long and irregular hours. The enjoyable part is that you get to learn new skills.
Pros
Discount off food and drink
Cons
Long, Irregular hours and quick Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff well being is not a priority
Guest Service Team Member (Current Employee) –  Cardiff24 June 2018
They only care when you're in work, it doesn't matter if you can or can't get to and from work safely. Even if your bring it up that your struggling to get home after closes they won't even consider a compromise.
Pros
discount at other Mitchells & Butlers sites
Cons
No breaks, Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking place
Chef/Floater- Michelle & butler (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset18 June 2018
A typical day will include for myself doing prep in the morning such as getting salad cart ready, rotisserie chicken and starters.
We were a well organised team always manged to get through the day smoothly and quietly don't get me wrong there was hiccups but always got through it no matter how big the challenge
Pros
Cycle to work scheme
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time employment
Part time Bar Person (Former Employee) –  Mill Hill8 June 2018
An enjoyable experience working with colleagues and the interaction with the customers. I would have preferred full time employment with the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was greeting members of the public and their appreciation of the staffs' efforts.
Pros
Lack of full time employment
Cons
Interaction with customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Freelance Designer (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire23 May 2018
I enjoyed working for this client, I found the work fun and challenging. I would definitely work with them if the opportunity presented itself. I would recommend them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible time here.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Gravesend21 May 2018
I would never set foot in this place again let alone work there. They’re disgusting management wise as well as the kitchen not being up to the correct standards.
Pros
None
Cons
Durt
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no chance of progress
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne3 May 2018
got employed as 'bar staff' then stuck on the pot wash for the whole time i worked there, empty promises of moving to the bar once new staff was hired then shortly after hired new bar staff. i lost two stone working there through stress and for a 18 year old male at the time to weigh 9 stone isnt healthy
Pros
nothing
Cons
working in a hot sweaty kitchen, being spoken to like dirt and having to purchase your own drinks to stay hydrated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good at catering to my needs as a parent with 2 young child
Chef (Current Employee) –  Kent2 May 2018
As a parent of 2 young children and my husband works they are very good at understanding my ability to work certain times of the day. The staff are the reason most people work there
Pros
The staff are lovely
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place
line chef (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne30 April 2018
Treat you like dirt,twelve hour shifts four days out of five .to many young untrained staff that don't have passion for the job.to many kitchen staff thinking they know everything basically too many chiefs and not enough Indians and with that goes the quality of the food.on really busy days you can work 12 hrs without a break finish after midnight and be back in the kitchen at 10 the next morning...keep clear
Pros
can't think of anything
Cons
long hours, for what you have to know and do terrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Bar Staff/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex23 April 2018
Worked at The Hawth Park Inn Crawley for a few months and it was the worst few months of my life. Constantly got messed around with my hours and pay. They do actually owe me money still. Managers are disgusting horrible people that put you down and made more than one member of staff cry at work
Cons
Working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvester. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 436 reviews
5106
4107
3123
252
148

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture