Harvester Employee Reviews

Found 396 reviews matching the search See all 449 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy workplace, too stressful and bad management at the time
Waitress/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Warwick19 November 2017
Fun and busy
Good fun team
Working late at night
Need more staff incentives
Good discount
Hours too long
Good customer relationships
Too unorganiseddd
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and inspiring
Busser (Former Employee) –  Lowestoft15 November 2017
In all honesty, i did only clean and lay tables within a little. However, doing this job meant i was quite often in the kitchen. This gave me the will to want to work in the food industry. It is a great place to work, and I really did enjoy myself.
Pros
Short 4 hour shifts
Cons
Not great communication between managers and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Bridgend8 November 2017
This job give me the confidence to communicate with people more comfortably and had many good feedbacks. I worked as a team and on my own. Done some cash handling. Enjoyed meeting new people every day.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Busy times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Essex7 November 2017
have worked for harvester for several years now working my way up, i have enjoyed working for the company, very easy to work your way up as long as your willing to put the hard work in to progress you and the business further.
Pros
33% employee discount
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth6 November 2017
Did not enjoy working with in the company hours are long and sometimes shifts get cancelled after an hour of working if it's not busy shift and winter is dead time not a lot of hours or shifts physical and mentally demanding job
Pros
Working as a team
Cons
Long hours little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Flamstead3 November 2017
Waitressing is perfect as a little earner whilst studying or in between jobs.
Being front of house and speaking to the customers throughout the shift was pleasing and getting to know the regulars was a bonus as they request to have you as their waitress, which in turn proved that you were good at the job.
Pros
Customer focused
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with staff
Kitchen Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset2 November 2017
I enjoyed working with the staff at harvester, but there wasn't much chance to have a social life outside of work. there was room for job advancement but felt it was done purely on whether you where willing to move to do it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Bar Staff/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Morden11 October 2017
excellent staff great managers always made working there fun. wonderful atmoshshere great family vibe would most definetly work there again. great management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hard working workplace
Waitress (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London8 October 2017
A typical day at work consists of meeting the needs of customers and making sure they enjoy their visit to the restaurant, however also working together as a team is very important and the key to success. The hardest part of the job is meeting the needs of all the customers at the same time, to overcome this problem, I make sure I ask if they need anything before they ask me. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers and making sure that they have a fantastic time when I am serving them. Another enjoyable part of the job is making friends.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but a nice place to work.
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Loughton3 October 2017
This was my first job after leaving school so everything was new to me. My days were spent doing a lot of food prep as it's a very busy restaurant.All the staff were nice and made a few good friends.Doing a lot of split shifts was hard at times as you seem to be at work all day. I left to better myself.
Pros
Hot drinks on shift, nice team to work with.
Cons
Could get very busy, long shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Fleet, Hampshire2 October 2017
Great working environment. Lovely people.

Day work can include greeting and seating people. Taking orders and delivering These in a timely manner.

Learn new skills and ability to talk to others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London23 September 2017
I worked at Harvester for work experience and it has taught me a lot about working in restaurants. The hardest part of the job was working in extremely busy hours as it challenged us the most.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Busser (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne, East Sussex22 September 2017
I had fun working there but the hours was to long as i didn't have enough time to spend with family and friends.the staff that i worked with are fun. As i was doing nine hours a night in only had half an hour break and that wasn't enough for me
Pros
I enjoyed the fun atmosphere
Cons
Hardly any time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work for little reward
Chef (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire16 September 2017
I worked for harvester for many years whilst trying to find the job I really wanted in the hospitality industry. You have to work long hours for no thanks or praise. Career progression is almost impossible unless they think you are the right person but with the experience I have 9/10 the person they think is right is wrong and leave you feeling deflated and like your useless. The area managers they employ are useless and will do nothing to help you out even when you have no staff at all except potwashers
Pros
33% at all m&b sites
Cons
Long hours, rubbish pay, no praise, run by idiots
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Waitress (Current Employee) –  havant14 September 2017
fast pace and busy environment with the customers. friendly environment and a great team. I enjoy this job but it dosent work with my family life as I have a young child
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Grill and Starter Chef (Full Time) (Former Employee) –  Neath, UK13 September 2017
Quite possibly the worst job i have had to date, long unsociable hours, no progression and no benefits to working for that particular company. I once was forced to work a 24 hour shift and never paid for it, then expected to come in the following day at 3pm and do another full shift.
Pros
None
Cons
Long unsociable hours, Poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun place to work
Second Chef/Grill Chef (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh13 September 2017
Was a really good place to work, benefits were good and you get free ,meals on duty. Hours and training were good, sent on a few courses and uniform provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive fun place
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Notitngham11 September 2017
I enjoyed working at Harvester the staff were a great team to work along side. I gained a lot of experience by working here and passed health and safety standards with full staff training and enabled me to fulfil my excellent customer service to ensure the customers were happy with their food and drinks.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good to work
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Neath, Neath Port Talbot11 September 2017
really busy learnt a lot about them and it is a very enjoyable place to work
it was really good to work for they are
the management was really good aswell
the culture is really good
Pros
50 percent off the food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes6 September 2017
very good ,very fun ,long days, learn a lot in catering industry,everyone will help you if you nice to them, it can be busy in holiday times ,but the busy it gets the better it is to work there.
Pros
free lunch after 6 hour shift
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvester. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 449 reviews
5109
4110
3125
256
149

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture