Harvester Employee Reviews for Chef

Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 437 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good avoid will make you unhappy
Chef (Former Employee) –  Ole castle26 July 2019
I started here as a chef worked on the line for about a week was told I was on 9.50 an hour then I get told to move to the back there I was doin salad and being a grease monkey basically anyway my first pay was 720 not even Anough to pay my rent and not worth the money for the work I was doin u only get an hour break and it’s none stop when your in there I’ve ended up working a Sunday night not getting home until 2:30am in the morning it’s not good to work In
Pros
No u have to pay for what u have
Cons
Too long hours not good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good teamwork
Chef (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham25 June 2019
..the hours were very long up to 14 hours...the management was changed to frequently..cleaning up at the end of the night sometimes till 1 am was too much after all the heavy shifts
Pros
good enviroment
Cons
very long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is not for all
Chef (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth7 June 2019
hard-working environment is not for all having to do 3 or more people's job each day, long hours every day and that it is very stressful. if you dont mined being called in to work on your days off and hollidays due to harvester not have enough staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Chef (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 June 2019
My First job at Harvester, I worked as kitchen assistant. My role is helping chef and also cooking a swell. Really helpful management and its very hard working
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
No Free Food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen work
SALAD CHEF (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes12 May 2019
The job itself was rewarding but you had to work every weekend which does not suit if you have children and want to have a decent kind of life. Good easy to get to location though.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Chef (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire6 May 2019
Good place to work.
very hands on you learn as you go, meal discounts for when your on break are handy, split shifts where a killer and kill your social life.
Pros
on shift discounts for meals.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of work!
Chef (Former Employee) –  Sevenoaks16 April 2019
The workplace itself was very good, I thoroughly enjoyed it! The staff were friendly and the managers were very understanding and sympathetic and empathetic.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Chef (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham31 January 2019
Not happy with the company worked all the hours under the son and still didn’t make enough at the end of the month! No car parking either wouldn’t come back.
Pros
Free salad bar
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, basic pay and no advancement in career
Chef (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire2 December 2018
Normal shifts are about 12 hours in length, starting at 8 am and finishing at 11 pm, with a one hour break. when working in the kitchen, you expect pot washers and chefs to have a difference in pay as a chef will have more pressure and more work to do. But not here, you will get paid minimum wage and get laughed at if you ask for a raise.
Pros
There are no pros for this job!
Cons
Long hours, minimum wage, no social life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work
Trainee Chef (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury18 October 2018
The pay was the best i was on at the time but it was very hard work, the managers weren't overly helpful and everyone kept to themselves but it was worth the extra money compared to my previous jobs at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking, but poor management
Chef (Former Employee) –  Lancashire27 June 2018
rewarding job for those who like to cook, but not for those who want to avoid stress. a typical day involves alot of cleaning and contant awareness of your environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking place
Chef/Floater- Michelle & butler (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset18 June 2018
A typical day will include for myself doing prep in the morning such as getting salad cart ready, rotisserie chicken and starters.
We were a well organised team always manged to get through the day smoothly and quietly don't get me wrong there was hiccups but always got through it no matter how big the challenge
Pros
Cycle to work scheme
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good at catering to my needs as a parent with 2 young child
Chef (Current Employee) –  Kent2 May 2018
As a parent of 2 young children and my husband works they are very good at understanding my ability to work certain times of the day. The staff are the reason most people work there
Pros
The staff are lovely
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team dynamic but long hours.
Chef (Former Employee) –  Cwmbran21 December 2017
Days can be long and busy. Team dynamic is good. Expect early starts and late finishes. Hardest part of the job was Fridays and Saturdays covering Salad bar and/or wash up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work for little reward
Chef (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire16 September 2017
I worked for harvester for many years whilst trying to find the job I really wanted in the hospitality industry. You have to work long hours for no thanks or praise. Career progression is almost impossible unless they think you are the right person but with the experience I have 9/10 the person they think is right is wrong and leave you feeling deflated and like your useless. The area managers they employ are useless and will do nothing to help you out even when you have no staff at all except potwashers
Pros
33% at all m&b sites
Cons
Long hours, rubbish pay, no praise, run by idiots
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily work routines
Chef (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside10 August 2017
typical routine for me at work would generally to check my fridges are stocked and ready for service due diligence do my shift briefs to allow my staff to know what sections and prep is needed for the day on the section. one of the biggest rewards it the feed back from the customers that that enjoyed there meal and had a great experience.
Pros
rewarding work
Cons
long days and long nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place
Chef (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex11 July 2017
I was doing first line food preparation in very busy environment, working long shifts 5 days a week, great experience for a chef and good team work.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace.
Salad Chef (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth30 June 2017
preparing salads for the salad area on a daily basis, i also prepared pudding and general kitchen cleaning. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with the guests.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Salad Chef (Former Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex12 June 2017
I used to work in a busy kitchen . I met nice people but I was not happy with my hours (30 per week ) and with my wage. The kitchen manager used to give me 3 days off but long days as well .
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Not enough hours, sometimes long shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harvester
Chef (Former Employee) –  Aldershot11 June 2017
It was very busy and fast pasting environment, you had to learn different menus and different skills to cook each food. The team you worked with was good but they could make it hard if they wasn't doing what they were suppose to do. A chefs job is hard to do in general not the most enjoyable job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvester. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 437 reviews
5106
4108
3123
252
148

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Harvester Reviews by Location