Harvester Employee Reviews for Bartender

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 437 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but harsh
Bartender and Waiter (Former Employee) –  Boscombe, Dorset14 August 2019
at the Neptune at Boscombe pier, the training was good, its mostly online and demands a lot of your free time. when i worked there. I faced a lot of slanderous comments, paper under the desk behavior about almost everyone.

workers are two faced and tables are always sticky no matter how much someone is asked to scrub them. a filthy place to work.
if you want to work here you have to learn a lot by yourself, workers are out to save them self and its ranks over moral so expect to do almost everything when you start.

i was going through mental issues facing anxiety and was fired for not "having my head in the business"
i do however hope it is a lot better there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Bartender/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Grays, Essex4 August 2019
Get mucked about with hours, treated poorly, management was terrible.

Was told I was after full time, got hired and was on 11 hrs a week. Asked for more hours and they only offered them either an hour in advance or the night before and if you denied it due to such short notice I got the response of "dont ask for hours then"

You will get messed around and even when its quiet waitresses and waiters will still expect you to run their drinks when that's their job anyway. And will still have the cheek to ask you even when you are rammed yourself. Terrible work environment.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good temporary workplace depending on location and management
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Crawley27 May 2019
The job was not very demanding as I did it part-time as a student.
The simple and standard orders did not present me with difficulties.
Depending on the location, crowding can present a challenge.
The management I was under really made the job go smoothly.
You just need to be as flexible as possible to please customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
BARMAN AND WAITER (Former Employee) –  Windsor27 January 2019
The long time staff are great to work with and the "holiday" staff are a nice change. The hours are long but totally worth it for the satisfaction of the job.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Barmaid/waitress (Current Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea12 December 2018
Everyone works as part of a team. Its like one big happy family with a lot of support from other team members and management when needed. There is always someone there to help if needed.
Pros
Gets on the job discounts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Waiter/Barman (Former Employee) –  Stevenage15 October 2018
Great working environment everyone is very friendly and its was a right laugh, hardest part was learning the menu and remembering where tables were, management was amazing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice placwe to work
Bartender/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Llandarcy17 September 2018
The managment and collegues were a pleasure to work with and they made the shift manageable and also made it enjoyable. The only negative was the long hours and very limited breaks.
Pros
Discounted meals, enjoyable workforce
Cons
Long hours with limited breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
Waiter/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Perth29 August 2018
No longer do I spend time making happy customers just pressure selling to make happy shareholders. Hours are allocated on sales target performance, don't beat your target and you won't get hours on the next rota.
Pros
Staff
Cons
It's a food factory now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work in.
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes19 July 2018
This job was fun to work in due to how sociable that it was. The management were tough but fair. It involved a lot of cleaning throughout the day but that is to be expected of a barman and would get very busy at times where other front of house staff would be able to support you if you needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time employment
Part time Bar Person (Former Employee) –  Mill Hill8 June 2018
An enjoyable experience working with colleagues and the interaction with the customers. I would have preferred full time employment with the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was greeting members of the public and their appreciation of the staffs' efforts.
Pros
Lack of full time employment
Cons
Interaction with customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough advancement opportunities
WAITRESS/BARTENDER (Current Employee) –  Hornchurch, Greater London24 January 2018
been working for company for nearly 6 years. due to changes of managers and them bringing new staff, there is very small opportunity of any advancement in the company. the hours are competitive as well and often get cut after peak times of year such as christmas
Pros
33 percent discounts for all Mitchells and butlers brands
Cons
hours always subject to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Crawley9 December 2017
I enjoyed everything about working here. great fun, good staff, very well organised!!
Everyone here works together and not against each other, its a very nice working environment.

would always go back!

foods delicious too :D
Pros
50% off food on shift
Cons
no free meals other than salad bar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice food and cheap lunches
Barman/Waiter (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire25 August 2017
a typical day was was fun, talking to customers, serving customers and taking out plates and washing up glasses.
i learned to communicate with customers, how to pull pints properly.
management was good but didnt have much time for new employees to learn.
the people i worked with were nice, helped me with knowing what to do helped me if i needed to know things.
the hardest part of the job was learning everything so quickly.
the most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with customers and the locals having nice conversations with them.
Pros
cheap lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with a ton of work to do
Waiter/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Crawley11 July 2017
Like any other food industry related job, my role required a lot of movement and pressure under busy times, i would have to work over my limits in order to satisfy my managers and the customers.
Pros
Free Meals per day.
Cons
Stressful at times and management can be a bit harsh.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Barman (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex26 May 2017
Ended up working in the kitchen .. most days where 16 hour days so became very tiring.The most enjoyable part was the people I worked with, most of them where really nice a professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bartender and Waiter (Former Employee) –  Frimley Green17 February 2017
Brilliant atmosphere within the staff. It was a great place to work part time or full time. I was able to work during the holidays when I was home from University.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
Waiter/Barman (Former Employee) –  Resrurant15 February 2017
Treated staff poorly under paid and over worked. Ended up filing complaints about management for miss treatment. Not really much more to say so just pre
Pros
Rubbish
Cons
Rubbish
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun friendly work place
bartender/waitress (Former Employee) –  Pencoed27 February 2016
i worked for Harvester for a short time,
the staff were lovely, easy to work with,
they made me feel welcome.
it was a shame when i had to leave to look after my son,
i would love to go back there one day.
Pros
free lunch/diner
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace
Bartender (Current Employee) –  St Albans22 February 2016
a typical work day is a very quick and quiet day that consists of as many as only a handful of staff and tables in at one time.
Pros
great colleagues
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staffing levels
Waiter and Bartender (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, ENG5 October 2015
my time at the harvester was always busy which was always down to poor staffing levels and poor judgement.my co-workers were great to work with .
Pros
having to repeatedly show team leaders how to do their job.
Cons
my rota being adjusted when not being aware of the fact, until i went in to do my shift. Then being told i should've been in earlier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvester. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 437 reviews
5106
4108
3123
252
148

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture