Harvester Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible time here.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Gravesend21 May 2018
I would never set foot in this place again let alone work there. They’re disgusting management wise as well as the kitchen not being up to the correct standards.
Pros
None
Cons
Durt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no chance of progress
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne3 May 2018
got employed as 'bar staff' then stuck on the pot wash for the whole time i worked there, empty promises of moving to the bar once new staff was hired then shortly after hired new bar staff. i lost two stone working there through stress and for a 18 year old male at the time to weigh 9 stone isnt healthy
Pros
nothing
Cons
working in a hot sweaty kitchen, being spoken to like dirt and having to purchase your own drinks to stay hydrated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good at catering to my needs as a parent with 2 young child
Chef (Current Employee) –  Kent2 May 2018
As a parent of 2 young children and my husband works they are very good at understanding my ability to work certain times of the day. The staff are the reason most people work there
Pros
The staff are lovely
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place
line chef (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne30 April 2018
Treat you like dirt,twelve hour shifts four days out of five .to many young untrained staff that don't have passion for the job.to many kitchen staff thinking they know everything basically too many chiefs and not enough Indians and with that goes the quality of the food.on really busy days you can work 12 hrs without a break finish after midnight and be back in the kitchen at 10 the next morning...keep clear
Pros
can't think of anything
Cons
long hours, for what you have to know and do terrible pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Bar Staff/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Crawley, West Sussex23 April 2018
Worked at The Hawth Park Inn Crawley for a few months and it was the worst few months of my life. Constantly got messed around with my hours and pay. They do actually owe me money still. Managers are disgusting horrible people that put you down and made more than one member of staff cry at work
Cons
Working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work,
trainee grill chef in the harvester in old (Former Employee) –  Old Windsor23 April 2018
lovely place to work for, use to have a lot of fun when i was working there, the people are great, you allay get that (one) that is not a team player but overall place to work wicked…...
Pros
not long enough
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Assistant Chef (Former Employee) –  Devon21 April 2018
enjoyable and very nice staff , they made me feel like part of the group very fast, the showed me what to do and were very nice if i had any questions
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Newport21 April 2018
Never enough hours or shifts avalible and was always a problem to swap a shift or to book days off! Staff were not very friendly or polite as well as management, who were not very organised. Managers daughters had special treatment (being sent home early, food during shifts and extra hours).
Pros
Free food
Cons
Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Swindon12 April 2018
This is a very busy restaurant and there is always something to do, whether that be dealing with customers or providing help in the kitchen. The support and help provided from other staff members is greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Waiting Staff (Current Employee) –  Warwick8 April 2018
Taking orders and making recommendations to guests.
Serving quality food and a range of drinks.
Maintaining highest standards of cleanliness and safety in the restaurant.
Working with the team on shift to create a friendly atmosphere our guests will love.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea2 April 2018
Duty plane to work with lack of management. You’ll be sent home with quiet even if you’ve just arrived to start you shift. And called in to work at a moments notice.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Waitress (food & beverages) (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands18 March 2018
It was good working there but as a trainee I felt little let down. Staff are friendly. Breaks was ok need smaller breaks more frequent. he restaurant was a good family based restaurant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trabajo en equipo perfectamente coordinado
Pinche de cocina / Camarero (Former Employee) –  Dorset5 March 2018
Trabajar en un restaurante es duro, pero satisfactorio. Se trata de todo un equipo de camareros, cocineros, auxiliares y limpieza del local que se coordinan en su trabajo bajo una situación de estrés.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester2 March 2018
Friendly colleagues, fun environment and all round good place to work. Good management and enjoyed my years there. Learnt lots of new skills which can be used throughout my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of pleasant regular customers
Bartender and Busser (Former Employee) –  New Addington, Greater London27 February 2018
I learned to multi-task behind the bar and work in a fast paced environment. For a breakfast shift, it's your job to take the customer's order on mobile device that's connected to the chef's in the kitchen, top up all hot drinks, juices and tidy tables after customer's have left. For a daytime shift, I would usually be behind the bar on the till handling cash, taking bar orders for food and serving drinks both from table tickets and face value customers. Busiest times were Friday and Saturday evenings, which meant orders were coming in very quickly and had a hard time to keep afloat with all the drinks. Often drinks in the barrels would run out and need changing but I wasn't able to do that and other drinks would need replenishing but there wasn't always an official barback. Otherwise the staff were pleasant, I just happened to be there at a time when managers were changing so made the job a little more stressful.
Pros
Discounted meals and drinks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked under payed
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Derby27 February 2018
Worked here for over 2 years i can honestly say as waitress i was run ragged managent are lazy and don’t want to help the tips aren’t even worth i worked christmas day once and was forced to give away all my tips to the kitchen staff not good place to work no real cons to working for mitchell’s and butlers and your never guaranteed shifts they just call you when they need you you’ll only be contracted to 14 hours and even if you work 12 hours shift you still have to pay for your dinner
Pros
good staff members
Cons
poor management, bad pay, long hours, forced to work christmas day
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work in with strong company culture.
Gérant (Former Employee) –  Worcestershire, UK12 February 2018
First front of house management position. Received lots of training and support from management.
Team and was very good and customers were good to interact with.
Pros
Great training and staff benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Tamworth12 February 2018
each day was different, working in a different section and with different people. developing new skills each day and improving on skills. communications is key
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Front of House Member (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire8 February 2018
There are opportunities to gain more hours but the work load compared to the wage is appalling. Always expected to do ample amounts and management will always find a way to shorten your pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough advancement opportunities
WAITRESS/BARTENDER (Current Employee) –  Hornchurch, Greater London24 January 2018
been working for company for nearly 6 years. due to changes of managers and them bringing new staff, there is very small opportunity of any advancement in the company. the hours are competitive as well and often get cut after peak times of year such as christmas
Pros
33 percent discounts for all Mitchells and butlers brands
Cons
hours always subject to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvester. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 250 reviews
555
461
384
226
124

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture