Hartlepool Borough Council Management reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 48 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all Council departments are managed the same way ! Be Warned
Finance Assistant (Current Employee) –  Finance department16 August 2017
This is very much one of those employers where it really depends which department you work in. Working within the Finance bracket there is a history of poor training, non existent personal development and no encouragement whatsoever to advance your learning. There are extremely limited chances of advancements / promotion. It really does depend on who your friends with.
I don`t want this review to sound negative but its pretty hard for it not to be. The flexi time scheme is the one and only positive of working here but you can`t base your enjoyment of a job around that, obviously you need a lot more and that simply does not exist here.
Management are totally geared up to their own jobs and no one else`s, Such are the high levels of workloads placed on staff management do not have any time to carry out personal development for staff whatsoever regardless of the HR section stressing to all Council staff that personal development should be a priority. Its simply not followed up.
However, and this is a big HOWEVER......if you are lucky to work in a non-finance department the difference is huge. Personal development and training are paramount, staff support is excellent.....apparently.
Pros
Flexi time scheme
Cons
Complete lack of personal development or career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Beach Lifeguard Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool, Durham4 June 2017
Great council to work for and great management that are willing to help out when they can. Learnt so many new skills by working for them and always look forward to coming into work. Always provide enough training or extra training if it's needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool6 March 2017
typical working day included stock management, cleaning and preparing working environments for the day, preparation of foods and drinks

Friendly staff and great customers at the college
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cleaner Operative (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool, Durham20 February 2017
I work in a school,while staff and children are in i clean to keep on top of things ie, freshen toilets,keep entrances clean and tidy mop spillages, clean carpets if n when required and scrub floors using a buffer machine, management are always at the other end of the phone if n when needed, courses that they require u to go on are paid by the eployer also dbs checks too.
Pros
working in home town
Cons
not enough contract hours for cleaners
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool, Durham23 January 2017
During my time there a typical day would include your general administrative duties such as data inputting and filing. My team there enabled me too learn/improve my letter writing, how to communicate with the people in a formal manor and too deal with different computer systems.

Management where terrific, whenever i needed any support they where always willing to help and enabled me too grow as a person and develop my skills. Easily approachable and willing to listen to any new ideas.

The hardest part of the job was really the traveling in which i had to do. The most enjoyable was the fact each day was always different and unpredictable.
Pros
Each day is not the same and management and staff where always willing too help
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous place to work
Residential Social Care Officer (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool17 January 2017
Poor weak egotistical management
Unsafe working environment and practices
Bullying,intimidation and haraassment the norm
No work life balance
Shouted at and sworn at in the workplace
No work life balance
No allowances made for family commitments
Constant harassment via phone and email on your rare days off
Shifts go well over 24 hours
No lunch break
No breaks
Lone working leaves you wide open to assault and allegations
Minimal training and support
Pros
None
Cons
Assaults by service users not uncommon
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good to work for
Civil Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  Hartlepool, ENG26 October 2014
I currently work for Hartlepool Borough Council, I have never had any complaints, really good management and very flexible.
Pros
Good Management
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demoralising poor management unfair practices and office politics
Administration Assistant, Car Parking and Fleet (Former Employee) –  Church Street, ENG13 March 2014
Entered Blue badge applications on National Database, deciding whether applications fitted criteria with the help of mobility assessments from our service provider. Answering telephone calls from clients and dealing with Blue Badge and parking fine appeals, auditing parking ticket machine takings, preparing parking permits.
I learned how to approach difficult customers and solve their queries, new database skills, how to use word templates and correspond using e mails. I found the management to have very poor people skills and co-workers were demoralised due to threats of redundancy, office politics and lack of work. The hardest part of the job was trying to fill the time when there was no work available. The best part was being able to help customers with appeals and queries and I enjoyed the administrative functions and reconciliations of ticket monies.
Pros
Flexi-time
Cons
Management attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
council scheme
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool, ENG8 October 2013
looking after parks and hospitals dealing with people drinking in them or taking drugs and making sure there left the place and grounds with out any trouble
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and busy
Licensing Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool18 June 2013
Very busy office, learned a lot over the years, Management fair, co-workers friendly and helpful, I found the job challenging at times but satisfying
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
community support worker ( hard of hearing ) (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool26 March 2013
assessing people with hearing impairment

adaptability patience impartiality quality over quantity

good management in Occupational therapy team

good team and mixed skills

managing workload to maximise assessments and home visits

working to improve peoples quality of life !!!
Pros
flexi-time
Cons
none !!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Hartlepool Borough Council reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hartlepool Borough Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 48 reviews
519
416
39
22
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Hartlepool Borough Council Reviews by Location