Hampshire County Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
SENIOR LUNCHTIME SUPERVISORARY ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  FAREAM6 February 2018
Everyday is different, each child is different
the management work well with each other
working with children can be rewarding and sometimes disappointing
Pros
children are rewarding
Cons
children sometimes disappointing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goop place to work
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire4 January 2018
If you are looking for job flexibility and the facility to work form home sometimes this is he place. They provide you with a tablet and mobile device to work from anywhere securely.
Pros
Working ethic is good, good Management in general.
Cons
Salaries are not competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to provide employment
senior clerk of works (Former Employee) –  various throughout Hampshire2 January 2018
Excellent job satisfaction, working conditions and colleague's to work with. My appointment as senior CoW gave me the opportunity to provide HCC with loyalty and the benefits of my professional knowledge.
Pros
good working conditions
Cons
all external site workv
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good place to work
Steward (Former Employee) –  Gosport, Hampshire20 December 2017
Sitting down all day got quite boring
Money wasn't very good
They was no breaks at all
Have to ask to use the toilet
Management was very lazy just sitting down in the office all day doing nothing
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Sitting down all day doing nothing and mot very good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Home Carer (Former Employee) –  Aldershot, Hampshire5 December 2017
Worked at Hampshire as a home carer for 3 years great working atmosphere and staff.
They prvoided me with my level 2 NVQ training and was always up to date on any courses that needed to be taken.
Holidays and pay was responsible and included overtime.
Pros
Overtime if required
Cons
They changed there hours to non flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hampshire county council
Adult Services Case Worker (Former Employee) –  Hampshire2 December 2017
the company is a good company to work for but there is little opportunity for progression and the salary is good for the work and responsibilities you have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best to avoid
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Hampshire7 November 2017
What a ruthless organisation. Words can not describe how they operate. Far to top heavy with no regard to employees careers or wellbeing. Never seen so many people leave an organisation. The pay may be good but there are NO other beniefts! Discrimination and bullying are an everyday featurein this place! AVOID!!!
Pros
Pay is okay
Cons
No flexibility, discrimination, bullying and stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for a mum
Self employed child minder (Former Employee) –  Fareham1 November 2017
This was a great way for me to work from home with my first child. I also understood about book keeping and thought it was a great way for my child to become sociable and learn from any older children i minded. I really enjoyed this job but being self employed was difficult financially.
Pros
Being at home with my child
Cons
self employed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace
Senior Project Officer (Current Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire31 October 2017
Poor salary/benefits unless you reach grade G or higher (these opportunities are like gold dust). Job opportunities and progression is given to staff that are liked and not necessarily good at their job.

Managers are poor and cannot manage people, they do not care about their staff.

There is no job security, every two years there are job cuts and most contracts are only offered on a fixed term basis until the next round of savings.

No work life balance, no flexi within certain departments and we have to use annual leave for interviews, hospital appointments etc.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hcc
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire6 October 2017
Ok place to work as a first job, just leaving school/college. Would not recommend anyone to stay longer than a couple of years. Management is intense and you are monitored from the second you walk into the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but can be stressful
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Havant, Hampshire2 October 2017
Working as a teacher is a tough job. I wanted to step away from it due to a lack of work life balance. This was the hardest part of the job, the stress caused problems both at home and with health.

The work place is amazing, I loved it. The children were amazing and teachers even better. A real team atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work with great management.
Senior Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gosport30 September 2017
This was a very nice place to work, staff morale was good. Not much option for advancement and at times could be quite quiet. The management and work flexibility here was very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a good team
Retired team leader Blue Badge (Former Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire20 September 2017
Now retired so largely irrelevant as the rate of change at HCC is so rapid.
I enjoyed my time working in Winchester with the Blue Badge team
Not so happy when team transferred to Hantsdirect in Fareham.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would really recommend
Volunteer at Manor Farm (Former Employee) –  Botley16 September 2017
The people were all very friendly and welcoming, no matter who you are you'd fit in. Everyone helped everyone and all staff got along really well, even with volunteers who were only able to do one day a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very boring, but good place to work
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winchester14 September 2017
Good pay, good bonus's lovely people, not my kind of place to work but you can feel very secure in your job! Nice cantine, lovely interior! Right in the town centre
Pros
Lovely people, good location, easy to progress
Cons
Too boring me for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of management support and dreadful organisation
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Totton, Hampshire8 September 2017
HCC lack of support from managers and high caseloads with no work/balance. No planning in advance and keep changing the rules all the time when they need to justify. The worst organisation I have ever worked for!
Pros
Resignation
Cons
Work/balance; support; training; high caseloads; health impact
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School catering (part-time).
Catering Assistant (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Winchester29 August 2017
Job consisted of food preparation, basic cooking, serving children, clearing away and cleaning.

I learned teamwork in a catering environment and food hygiene, also baking biscuits and pastries.

I enjoyed serving the children as demanding, if small, customers.
Pros
Meeting people.
Cons
Hard work in limited time, low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work , rewarding
Special Needs Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hampshire7 August 2017
8 am to 4pm Mon to Fri . No two days same .You have to think and act quickly and adjust your ideas on the hoof! Flexibility. Rewarding.
Good team work and adaptability needed. The work is never over!
Pros
friendly working environment.
Cons
many hours unpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a steep learning curve with no induction or support
Duty Officer (Current Employee) –  swanwick lodge3 August 2017
prefer to remain silent about the treatment of staff and lack of support offered when required
made to feel guilty when you have plans that mean you cannot staff the unit when it is short , expectation of work load verses hour in the day unrealistic , no support from management even when asked for directly . staffing ratio to low for the types of young people that ate resident at swanwick lodge so unable to do activities or keep young people entertained throughout the day .
Pros
good staff team
Cons
long hours expected to cover rota when really short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facilidad de promoción
Trabajadora Social con menores (Former Employee) –  Totton, Southampton (Hampshire)28 July 2017
Facilidad de promoción en el puesto de trabajo. Compañerismo y ambiente de trabajo positivo.
Elevado número de casos por trabajador que dificulta la elaboración del trabajo. Se excede el número de horas trabajadas por semana lo que implica una sobrecarga emocional y cansancio físico.
En pocas ocasiones se sale a la hora fijada puesto que hay emergencias que cubrir y falta de personal.
Pros
La gasolina está incluida en salario
Cons
Nunca sabes cuándo vas a tener una emergencia o a qué hora regresarás a casa, El almuerzo suele ser delante del ordenador, Descontento entre el personal laboral
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hampshire County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 131 reviews
544
441
332
23
111

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture